We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at La Contessa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fabio Apartments San Gimignano
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent the last week end at La Contessa and really enjoyed it. The apartment is perfectly located,quiet , well equipped and very clean. There is not air conditioning but old walls, roof windows and a couple of fan worked well in the hottest Sunday of the year! Fabio and Daniela are excellent hosts, they welcomed us and were really kind, providing us with great tips.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosalitaRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Fabio Apartments San Gimignano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 312 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Friendly, we were greeted in San Ginginamo by Fabio and Danielle. They brought us to the apartment. The koffiers were nicely brought up. Fortunately for these were 4 flights of stairs. For people with mobility problems, this is not recommended. We got good information about the area and attractions.

Too bad there around 22:00 in the evening a moped invasion was noisily. Furthermore, there is no air conditioning. This would be in the summer with 38 degrees or be recommended.

But otherwise we had a wonderful week and we were happy again off by Fabio and Danielle far we departed.

It is unfortunate that Fabio does not speak English. He told very enthusiastic about the land and the environment and this word translated by Danielle. Maybe a tip for Fabio, English lessons!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneke d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I had originally hoped to stay in Il Duca for 2 months as part of our honeymoon, but because of the heat in Tuscany this summer, we had to seek other accommodations with air conditioning. We're in our early thirties and travel a lot... these are our summaries-

Pros:
The apartment is quaint with nice views.
Fabio was very helpful, but could do nothing to help the heat other than offer fans.
Ample dishes and glassware.
Beds were comfortable
Washing machine
Authentic Tuscan building
Not suitable for Americans in the summer used to air conditioning


Cons:
It got loud with motorbikes below at night.
Birds WILL wake you up at 5:00 a.m.
Top floor walk up with slick steps.
Wifi was not unlimited, only worked about 40% of the time and only in the dining room in one spot.
Scratchy sheets and towels
Short showers; tiny hot water heater.
No dishwaher

The location in town was great, but in terms of traveling elsewhere in Tuscany it was quite inconvenient. I would recommend staying in Siena and taking a day trip to San Gimignano or staying at the local Hotel Leon Bianco for a night or two instead.

Room Tip: We stayed in Il Duca, the larger of the two rooms. I believe La Contessa would be quieter and also h...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LalasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My Mum, sons and I stayed in Fabio's apartment, The Contessa, for a full month from the 14th of June to the 13th of July. From arrival to departure, Fabio and Sara could not have made our stay easier. Their welcome, knowledge of the area, recommendations and 24 hour on-call service is exemplary to say the least. This is not common in travel and in terms of service and availability, they far exceeded what was expected.

For four glorious, (hot), weeks, we "lived" in San Gimignano and Fabio's apartment could not have been more central as well as a wonderful refuge when coming "home" after trips around Tuscany. In fact, after some long days out, all four of us would sigh a huge sigh of relief when we would see the walls of San Gimignano and even more so once we were back in "our" apartment. Our favourite moments were when we just stayed put - starting the day with buying breakfast goodies at the wonderful bakery Boboli, (on Sara's recommendation), walking back "home" after stopping along the way to get gorgeous wild boar prosciutto and salami, (amongst other things), to accompany our breakfast. We would then have long lazy breakfasts on the little balcony of "our" apartment. We would buy groceries from the local little deli's, the Co-Op and the Thursday market and we would mostly eat at "home". We are all foodies and a few meals out had us unanimously agree that the restaurants were very one dimensional, over-priced for what they served and geared towards tourists. We tried quite a few of the recommended restaurants on TripAdvisor and in my opinion, they were mostly disappointing. Exceptions would be the very good takeaway pizzas just up from the apartment on Via San Matteo called Pizzeria Torre del Diavolo. Locanda Di Sant'Agostino served an excellent Margarita Pizza which had us going back for more.

We spent endless hours sitting on the steps of the Duomo eating gelato and sorbetto from Dondoli Gelateria di Piazza. After a month of each having these once a day, I can confirm that it is exceptional gelato and sorbetto!

The most special part of the holiday was as many of these reviews have mentioned, when the tourists leave at the end of the day. Balmy evenings were spent sitting at cafes with a carafe of Chianti or Vernaccia, soaking life around us in. We got to know who the locals were as well as their routines and we left with the enormous privilege of having peeked into what life might be like in San Gimignano.

Thank you Fabio and Sara for welcoming us so beautifully and also farewelling us so graciously. You went far beyond what we would have expected in service and our memories of you will remain very special. Each time we mention both Fabio and Sara, our boys, without exception, say, "what lovely people".

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller298184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic week in Fabios apartment. All the contact we had with Fabio before our arrival was answered quickly answering all of our questions. On arrival at the town walls a quick call to Sara's mobile and she appeared a few minutes later to guide us to the apartment, after helping to get the luggage into the apartment she showed me to the private garage (Top Tip if you are travelling in the summer take advantage of the garage 49 euros for the week, but trying to find a parking place can be difficult at best and impossible when it is busy).

We had stayed in San Gimignano previously but Sara and Fabio still came up with a number of other places to visit, all of which were much appreciated.

The apartment was spotless, spacious and well appointed with everything that you will need, apart from consumables which can be picked up at the Co-Op store about 10 minutes or so walk from the apartment (several bars and cafes on route!).

Fabio & Sara are like having family living nearby and nothing is too much trouble for them, he even gave us his mobile number in case we needed help with anything at all, not just the apartment, and told us to ring anytime day or night.

In short, the apartment is perfectly located right in the center of the town and is perfect for your holiday, Fabio and Sara are excellent hosts providing any help and advice that you may need, if you can book it do it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you wish to experience the taste of true Italian hospitality you must stay in Apartment Fabio i.e. if you are fortunate to secure a booking. The apartment is ideally situated in the very centre of San Gimignano a matter of yards from Piazza Del Duomo. From the moment we arrived to our departure Fabio and his daughter Sara could not have been any more accommodating. They both made everything so stress free-showing us where to park and assisting us with our luggage both on arrival and departure. Parking around San Gimignano can be a nightmare so we availed of the garage which can be hired for approximately 45 euros per week-well worth it.

The apartment was spotless and provided us with all the facilities we needed for our week's stay. Sara [who speaks excellent English] took time to recommend restaurants we should try, day trips we should make and outlying villages we should visit. All her recommendations were spot on.

Thankyou Fabio and Sara for making our stay in San Gimignano so memorable. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanw186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayd in the middle of june one week in fabios apartment"la Contessa".
It was a great experience for us. After a lot of -no name apartments- this apartment is something very special.
The apartment is in the middle of san Gimignano, near everything. Well equipted and well furnished. The private parking-garage is nearby. The best of all is Fabio himself. He cares about eveything and let you really feel at home. He also gaves you a lot of good informations about the environment and tips for excursions. The aparment is, although in the centre, very quiet. It is an isle of silence. Two steps out of the apartment, you can meet the hole world.
We've liked our stay very much an would recommend it to everybody. We already miss our "italian apartment".
Thank you to Sarah an Fabio

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ignaz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.0 mi away
Al Pozzo dei Desideri
Al Pozzo dei Desideri
#26 of 67 in San Gimignano
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de' Potenti
Casa de' Potenti
#57 of 107 in San Gimignano
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Appartementi Casa la Torre - Nomipesciolini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duccio Nacci Rooms
Duccio Nacci Rooms
#49 of 67 in San Gimignano
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#2 of 67 in San Gimignano
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Nido di Anna
Il Nido di Anna
#14 of 67 in San Gimignano
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabio Apartments San Gimignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabio Apartments San Gimignano

Address: Piazza del Duomo, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: $111 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fabio Apartments San Gimignano 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a central position, but also surrounded by a rare and precious silence, our apartments offer the unique feeling of an ancient building with all the comfort of modern amenities. Car parking is not a problem. On your arrival you will be given a special access permit to reach our apartments. For every apartment a private garage is available few metres far. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fabio Apartments San Gimignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabio Apartments San Gimignano Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing