We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant La Stella

Restaurant La Stella
Ranked #59 of 126 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Price range: $16 - $76
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Il Ristorante La Stella è un tipico e grazioso ristorante situato nel centro della splendida San Gimignano, in provincia di Siena. Il paese è immerso nella suggestiva campagna toscana, posizionato su un colle dal quale si può ammirare tutta la Val d’Elsa.Il locale offre ai propri clienti un ambiente rustico e familiare, con ampie sale dove poter gustare con tranquillità le migliori prelibatezze della cucina toscana. Primi piatti con pasta fatta in casa e sughi di carne o di funghi, secondi piatti a base di arrosti e carni alla brace, e una lista dei vini davvero ampia (tra cui spicca l’ottima Vernaccia), sono le specialità che propone a turisti e residenti.Aperto a pranzo e a cena e chiuso il mercoledì, il ristorante offre menu turistici e stagionali.The Restaurant La Stella is a typical and charming restaurant located in the heart of beautiful San Gimignano, near Siena. The village is nestled in the picturesque Tuscan countryside, situated on a hill from which you can admire the Val d'Elsa.The restaurant offers its guests a rustic family atmosphere, with spacious rooms where you can enjoy peace of mind with the best of Tuscan cuisine delicacies. Pasta with homemade pasta and meat sauce or mushrooms, main dishes of roast and grilled meats, and a very large list of wines (most notably the excellent Vernaccia), are the specialty that offers to tourists and residents.Open for lunch and dinner and closed on Wednesdays, the restaurant offers seasonal and holiday menus.
Florida
Level Contributor
248 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Rude”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our hotel made a reservation for us at 7:30 at this restaurant, the sign says they open at 7, and when we arrived about 10 minutes early for our reservation, the door was locked and we could see staff inside eating, we even knocked on the door and they would not come. It was raining outside and we were uncomfortable but they did not open the door until 7:30, dinner was fine but it is hard to enjoy when you are treated that way. Food alone can not creat a successful place, Service is King!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bradyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pieroarzilli, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Restaurant La Stella, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Good morning!
We are truly sorry for what she wrote about our restaurant but we really believe that there has been a big misunderstanding.
We write this as from 18:00 on the door of the restaurant is opened and remains open until the end of the service, and this because they are the same owners to open it, which along with some staff members are already hyper perform or complete some necessary preparations for the evening service, or to be available to customers in relation to any reservations.
Also at 19:00 the restaurant is open to the public, and outside lights are turned on all the lights inside and from that time any customer is free and welcome to join.
In addition we would like to clarify that, being a restaurant, it is normal for us to see people stop and linger several minutes in front of the bulletin board to see our menu but obviously can neither imagine nor going to ask people if they are the same customers which were made reservations, because as already stated our restaurant is made accessible to the public from 19:00 then turning on all the lights outside and all the lights inside.
Most likely what we think happened was a difficulty in opening the door as it is an automatic door locks a bit 'heavy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    153
    88
    45
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will eat on every visit to san Gimignano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

this was our second visit to La Stella. The food was fantastic, I had the house ravioli which was the best ravioli I have had in Italy. The service was attentive and the entire family enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were very surprised when we had lunch here....being on the main entrance into this small town we expected a over priced tourist trap....boy were we surprised...yum yum yum...hubby had wild pig n he luved it n I had a great pasta....great service great food n price was great too....I will recommend to all my friends in there up coming travels....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lodding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect pasta in a perfect city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

After one week traveling along the Tuscany, this was the best pasta with truffles I have tried in my life. My wife ordered a spaghetti ao ragu that was also tasty and perfectly cooked. This is a not to be missed place, in a not to be missed city.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Stella, we love you!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We keep returning to La Stella, in San Gimignano, because we love the food, for one thing, and also the young people who operate the restaurant. The food is typical, hearty Tuscan fare, cooked in the traditional Tuscan way, simple, tasty and healthy. We spend time in San Gimignano every year, and we eat at La Stella at least once a day!
La Stella feels like home away from home!!!
Oh!, and the wine list is extensive and excellent!
And the location, in the heart of this magical medieval town, is perfect.

Isabella Lewis, Santa Fe, New Mexico

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabella581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Stella also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
Castel San Gimignano, San Gimignano
 

Been to Restaurant La Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing