We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Location, Gorgeous View!”
Review of Tenuta Mormoraia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tenuta Mormoraia
Ranked #8 of 66 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Location, Gorgeous View!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

this place is stunning!! picture perfect postcard!! something out of a movie set! we loved every minute of our 2 night stay and would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone looking for peace, rest, relaxation, romance and stellar views. Its a little hard to find as GPS doesnt locate it easy so u have to be savvy but its totally worth it once u find it. The road leading up to the place can get tricky and dark at night so be careful. Once you get the coordinates into your gps you will be fine to explore the nearby towns and find the hotel again easily. The service was wonderful, the front desk girl spoke english which was great. FREE wifi and parking. Wifi worked well everywhere. Only downfall would be the lack of menu choices, i know they are not a "restaurant" but alot of people love it so much there they dont want to leave to go and eat. We did have nice food & wine while there but would have loved more options. The sunsets are stunning!! and the olive oil is fantastic we took some home. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: they look like they all have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    62
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
165
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you want a place to forget about the modern days stress this is one such place.
Hidden by the Tuscan vineyards there is a classical summer house.

A bit difficult to find even with the GPS but worth the trouble.
Reccomand at least 5 days to completely forget all your troubles.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARHQUIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and i stayed at this hotel for 5 nights from 8th September.
The location is beautiful with a very relaxing atmosphere

Nothing was to much trouble for Francessca and other members of the staff
A restaurant would have made this hotel perfect.
San Gimignano is the nearest spot to find a restaurant, and that does mean somebody has to drive.
Would I stay here again?? Definitely

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinjwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We (a family of four) stayed at Mormoria for 6 nights in late June. Mormoria is an agriturismo style accommodation. We stayed in the Olivo apartment which was huge, two bedrooms each with its own bathroom, living room, dining room, and a small kitchen. The building is very old and is made of stone and brick with very thick walls and cathedral styled ceilings. Outside the area is very green , clean and well maintain. The swimming pool was definitely our favorite place; it was a good size, had very clean water, and plenty of umbrellas and sunbeds. Because Mormoria has only 12 (I think) apartments the place is not crowded but you can meet very nice people from every part of the globe. On top of providing accommodation Mormoria also offers breakfasts (very tasty), they make their own wine (still have one left), and olive of oil. Our (Olivo) apartment was located on main floor with the magnificent view of San Gimignano (which is located about 6 km away). If you are looking for a real Tuscan country feel you cannot find a better place. The only one thing that can be improved upon is because our apartment had very thick walls which were made out of stone and brick it was nice and cool inside without air conditioner but those walls hold also lot of moisture so it is quite damp inside that I think could be eliminated with a de-humidifier.
Giuseppina and her staff were working very hard to make our stay pleasant and they succeed one hundred percent.
If we are ever in the area we will most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arekVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently spent four nights here as part of a group of eight with ages ranging between 20 and 50ish. The location of Mormoraia is beautiful; you can see San Gimignano on the horizon and there are lots of places around the property where you can admire the view. The younger members of the party had one of the non-airconditioned apartments which were comparatively spacious and equipped with a small kitchen/living area. This suited them very well as they were able to make a little noise and be independent if desired. The rest of us had rooms in a building up the hill, above the swimming pool. The rooms were not particularly big and furnished in traditional Tuscan style; the bathrooms were a good size. A negative point was that we could clearly hear people in the neighbouring rooms. Air conditioning was very welcome in the August heat. Breakfast was excellent; the best we had on our trip, with a range of fresh pastries, cakes (a delicious cheese cake one morning!), fruit, cheese, cold meat, frittata, cooked tomatoes with mozarella or herbs - no two days were exactly the same. Coffee/tea etc was excellent and you could have as much as you wanted and it was all freshly made. The staff accommodated the gluten-intolerant members of our party very well with a dedicated gluten free table. The swimming pool area was nicely done and included a jacuzzi corner, which was very popular. There were plenty of loungers that you could set up but unfortunately, not enough umbrellas for the intense sunshine at this time of year. Irritatingly, there were a number of guests who felt it was OK to claim a lounger and umbrella for the day by marking territory with the traditional towel and a few books and who then proceeded to absent themselves for hours at a time. We enjoyed the wine tasting and were lucky enough to have the meal option afterwards - this was a highlight of our stay as the food was excellent, washed down by a few of the bottles from the estate! Staff were always very helpful and were very relaxed about us making ourselves at home; we had a meal outside another night that we had prepared in the kitchenette area of the apartment and then brought down. It was also clear that you could take the loungers/chairs from the pool area and put them almost anywhere around the property, so you never felt overcrowded. Mormoraia isn't cheap but it does make a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gallileofigaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband, 15 year old daughter and I visited this charming agriturismo as part of a two week break in Italy. Having spent the first week exploring the sights of Venice and Florence we hired a car as part of the package booked with Citalia and drove down to the beautiful countryside of Tuscany. Tenuta Mormoraia is situated on a slight hill surrounded by rolling vineyards and when we arrived we could see straightaway that we had arrived in holiday heaven! The farm was beautifully kept and had a relaxed, friendly feel to it. The staff welcomed us and showed us to our first floor room overlooking the back of the main building. Our daughter's room was situated up another flight of stairs in the attic. The rooms were modern and clean and bathroom spacious with a large shower cubicle.
We immediately changed and lay by the gorgeous pool for the rest of the afternoon soaking up the chilled atmosphere and enjoying the views across the fields to the nearest town San Gimignano. There were plenty of sunbeds and parasols and the area surrounding the pool was quiet and again spotlessly clean.
After spending a boiling week in the city we were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the heat was in Tuscany. There was no air-con in our room but we didn't need it as we left the shutters closed during the day and the windows open to let the air circulate. We had no safe but felt perfectly happy that our belongings were secure. There were no cooking facilities in the room but we had a fridge so could keep drinks, snacks and bread. The nearest supermarket was in San Gimignano about 15 mins drive away. The tourist car parks were through the town and at the other end - €1 for the evening if you arrived after 8pm. The Co-op supermarket was near car park one.
In the evenings we usually drove to San Gimignano where there was an excellent choice of restaurants. The best for a view was Le Vecchie Mura but you need to book. Surprisingly for such a fabulous panoramic view the food was of a similar price to other restaurants. One evening we just sat on the patio at the farmhouse with a bottle of wine and watched the sun go down. Perfect!
The breakfasts must be mentioned. The delightful Francesca and Gilberto provided home cooked pizza, bruschetta, cake and tarts each day in addition to cereal, toast, croissants and fruit all washed down with a fresh coffee. We were stuffed!
I would recommend this accommodation for all age groups if you are looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful part of Italy. If you are more active then there is plenty to do in the area in terms of sight seeing - we visited Siena, Pisa and Volterra. Driving is easy as the roads, even in August, are not busy.
Hopefully we will return in the not too distant future. Thanks to everyone at Mormoraia for making our holiday so memorable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Swansea-Suzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I chose this hotel purely based on the reviews from TA. How wrong I was to use this as my only guide. As regular visitors to the area, the hotel we normally stay at Il Casale del Cotone but this was booked out. So we were very interested to try this well rated hotel. Disappointed and Disgusted are about the nicest things I can say here - we only stayed 1 night out of the 3 we had booked.

I will attempt to be objective here - so I will list the points.

1/ Booking - the room kinds that they list are VERY misleading here. Superior room does not mean you get a better room. You are just paying for access to the sauna and steam room (NOT needed in summer and they were dirty anyhow) They claim (we found this out upon check in) that they only have 3 rooms with a view to SG. In actual fact when you walk around there’s really only 2 rooms with an actual view of SG.
I had booked over 2 months in advance and requested a room with a nice view - apparently they figure that all rooms have a view. I would have thought that a room with a view to the car parking is not really a view at all. But they tried to advise me that I was actually wrong and we had a nice view of the garden. Well sorry, 2 olive trees some grass and then the car parking is not my idea of a nice view!

2/ Rooms - I can only comment on the Superior Rooms, but 3 of the rooms have ZERO privacy, with a view toward the car parking. We had a corner room and could not open our curtains as all other guests had to walk past our room on the path to get the pool and main house area for breakfast. The rooms are somewhat smaller than I expected and the size claimed (25sqm) obviously includes the bathroom. We hardly had enough room to open our suitcase on the floor, I found the rooms very cave like - dark and not really welcoming.
There is one nice room off the back of the Superior Section that has a nice somewhat private terrace and view to SG. There is one room off the drive side - again not much privacy and one room that the door opens directly to where the entry to the sauna area is. All rooms have a small table - but again, there is no privacy at all. The tables are squished onto the narrow pathway and if you have a room to the back - you have to content with a lovely view of the car parking and other guests walking right by.
The bathroom was OK - ours was not so clean and had quite a bad musty smell. It looked nothing like what was pictured on the website.

3/ Location - this is about a 10 minute drive into SG. The location is nice with rolling hills and yes they do have a nice view to SG - but again this is from the pool, breakfast area and limited views from the other rooms. I would not say that the location is ideal, having stayed around SG many times. It is perhaps not the best area to be in - a car is a MUST. I am not sure how easy it would be to get a taxi there if you wanted to enjoy dinner in SG with a bottle of wine.

4/ Service - whilst the staff are friendly, the actual service is sketchy at best. No one wants to accept responsibility for anything and don't expect them to answer any emails. I sent 2 emails prior to our arrival and both went unanswered.

5/ Breakfast - the breakfast looked nice - but being so angry at the poor standard and the room we were given we checked out the next morning and chose to eat breakfast in SG.

6/ Overall – this place left a very bad taste in my mouth. I spoke with both other couples that had rooms on our side (carpark view) and they were also disappointed. We checked out early and the hotel agreed to refund the additional night we had to pay for cancellation – this made my blood boil as I did not get what I booked and should not have been charged the additional night, but I just wanted to get out of that place. So I paid the extra night and they agreed to refund me if the room was booked that night. We placed a call at 6pm that night to ask if they had rooms available, ‘no sorry we are fully booked’ .. but no refund to my credit card.
There are many, many other places around SG that are better than this. I honestly would not recommend Mormoraia to anyone. My best guess is that all the good reviews are from first time visitors who don’t know that there is better on offer and those who are disappointed just want to forget their experience and choose to not review it.

Room Tip: You MUST request room with a view. They only really have 1 room that is private with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherie1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mormoraia, Proprietario at Tenuta Mormoraia, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are very sad for Ms. Linz because instead of enjoying her holiday she spent the few hours she stayed at Mormoraia collecting obsessively bit & pieces of info aimed at discrediting Mormoraia. In fact, ironically, all her statements result untrue and meaningless.
As owners and lovers of Mormoraia please allow us to clarify the following:
The breathtaking view of San Gimignano can be admired from many points, not only from the breakfast area. One of these many privileged locations is the very one in front of the room assigned to Ms. Linz. I confirm that the superior rooms with direct view of San Gimignano are 3, not 2 as mistakenly pointed out by Ms. Linz.
Moreover there are so many other rooms that allow our guests the wonderful view of the towers if not directly from the room, surely as soon as they step out of it. One of these is the room Ms. Linz had.
By the way, the difference between classic and superior rooms is only 25 € which corresponds to the cost for air condition and access to the sauna and steam bath. If Ms. Linz does think that these services are of no interest, most likely this could be valid for herself. In fact someone, just before her, evidently had liked it which clearly explains the need of cleaning.....
As per the "room with a parking view" let us say that in front of that room there is a large garden with many olive trees hiding the parking. Also on the other side you can enjoy the view of the swimming pool and of San Gimignano towers. On our opinion no further words are necessary, we have realized that they can be false just as those Ms. Linz reports as comments from her neighbours. The guests who were there on July 11th were quite satisfied as anybody can see from the reports on booking.com.
When Ms. Linz called enquiring for availability, we surely didn’t reply fully booked, in such case she would have asked for her reimbursement as kindly promised! Anybody would have asked for it!
Mormoraia is a Farmhouse, not a multi floor hotel. The friendly atmosphere and the vicinity promote socializing which has always been appreciated among our guests. This is the true spirit of the Farmhouse, even though there are also many occasions to relax in complete privacy and enjoy the pleasure of countryside.
We scrupulously check our mail box and confirm that the 2 emails Ms. Linz mentions have never reached our address.
We are sorry that our customers have been judged and underestimated by Ms. Linz. Mormoraia has been greatly successful for over 20 years and the wonderful compliments we receive from our guests every day and also Trip Advisor Certification of Excellence Winner 2013 prove it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,285 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,203 reviews
2.9 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
739 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Collegiata
Hotel La Collegiata
#14 of 29 in San Gimignano
179 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#13 of 29 in San Gimignano
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Mormoraia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Mormoraia

Property: Tenuta Mormoraia
Address: Localita Sant'Andrea, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MORMORAIA in San Gimignano, set on the Chianti hills, was in ancient times a convent; nowadays it is an elegant Bed and Breakfast in a panoramic position of rare beauty in front of San Gimignano’s medieval towers. Holidays in Tuscany can be spent on Mormoraia’s farmhouse, the ideal place for a delightful and relaxing stay in one of the most charming and interesting settings as far as history and art concerns.Mormoraia gives hospitality in nice apartments and double rooms with private bathroom on a B&B basis.The vineyards and olive groves surrounding the farmhouse produce high quality wines and extra-virgin olive oil, which are among the most valued and appreciated worldwide.The farmhouse in San Gimignano is equipped with a large swimming-pool with Jacuzzi corner, which lies next to the portico with a panoramic view over San Gimignano’ medieval towers, a special place for an aperitif with the excellent wines produced by Mormoraia at disposal of guests staying in the apartments and rooms. The barbecue and wood oven in the huge garden are perfect for lunches and dinners in the sign of nature.The tasting of Vernaccia of San Gimignano wine, of the other wines and extra-virgin olive oil, accompained by Tuscan culinary specialities, take place in the wine shop, where products are also on sale, or on the lovely terrace which offers a superb view of San Gimignano’s medieval towers.Guests can enjoy unforgettable walks, mountain biking or horseback riding through the woods and trails to reach the lake, where you can fish. Within walking distance are stables for horse riding, tennis courts and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Tenuta Mormoraia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Mormoraia San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing