We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful view, wonderful hosts -- great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Podere Montese

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere Montese
Ranked #26 of 64 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, wonderful hosts -- great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Italy for the first time, along with a friend, and our stay in Tuscan at Podere Montese was one of the best stays we had during our more than three week trip. Annalisa and Davide were very friendly and accommodating. The morning it didn't rain, we woke to breakfast on the patio overlooking the beautiful countryside and the only warmed brioche we had the entire trip. What a treat! Our hosts were also very helpful to get us reservations at a restaurant during this busy Easter season. I felt like we left friends behind after just three days there. And, yes, we would return to this very spot if ever in Tuscany again! What a beautiful spot in the world they have!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveinnlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    23
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

We only managed to stay for two days, but they were two of the best in a 3 week trip through Spain and Italy. The view from the property is gorgeous; rolling hills and vineyards. David and Annalisa are warm and wonderful hosts who made some of the best breakfasts we enjoyed on the whole trip, featuring tomatoes from their own garden. Also loved the wine made right from their own grapes.

We'd love to come back for a longer stay in the future, but if relaxing in the Tuscan countryside is desired, this should definitely be on your list.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inanimate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

The view over San Gimignano was absolutely great, even at night time when towers were lit up in the distance on the hill. If you have a car, the distance to town will take you only 2-3 minutes to drive.The swimming pool looked really nice, even though we had no time to try it out. Breakfast was delicate, extensive and served by the owners themselves. Our room was very clean, but a bit small and had a so-so decoration.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedestravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

When you step out your car at the podere, the scent of pines and lavender greets you together with a beautifull view of San Gimignano, and you know your in a unique place.
Davide and Annalisa make you feel at home right away as they show you your room in their beautifull Tuscan farmhouse. Davide will give you two wine glasses to enjoy his wines, he makes a great Vernaccia (a powerfull white wine, tipical of San Gimignano), that is best enjoyed on the beautifull terrace overlooking the medieval town. He makes his wines with the same passion he attends to his guests, together with Annalisa. They realy make you feel part of the family, also the contact with the other guest is pleasant. Most of them are frequent visitors, and that says something.
The rooms are nice and the breakfast is good, but it's the personal touch wich makes it stand out from other places we've been. We've visted for the second time now and we will be back again. Feels like home a bit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkfromHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

We have been visiting San Gimignano for 20 years and more. We were recommended Podere Montese by a friend in the town and have been visiting at least one a year ever since. That was 14 years ago. Why? Because 'it' fits like a glove; friendly and informal; clean and uncluttered yet traditional in its' styling and 'lovingly' managed by the owners who are informative and helpful and never too visible unless needed. Across time they too have become valued friends.
Across time we have visited as a couple, with my children (as children and as adults with partners), with friends with their young family and with my father. We have met and remain in touch with Italians, Germans, Danes and French. Montese just would not be Montese without those 'European Evenings' of informal chat.
As for the area: wonderful landscape; close to Florence, Siena and other centers of interest, an abundance of restaurants, good food and wine, relatively cheap compared to Venice or Rome, then there are the porcupine, wild boar and deer .... what more could one want?!
Who knows, perhaps we will see you there one time?

Mike Burton UK . April 09
www.anothervenice.co.uk

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickyb291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.0 mi away
Podere Bellavista
Podere Bellavista
#17 of 64 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.1 mi away
Il Vicario
Il Vicario
#7 of 64 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Buonaccorsi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#2 of 64 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.9 mi away
B&B Ponte a Nappo
B&B Ponte a Nappo
#23 of 64 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Locanda La Mandragola
Locanda La Mandragola
#12 of 64 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Montese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Montese

Property: Podere Montese
Address: Via di Fugnano 57 | Siena, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Podere Montese you will feel like you are at home! Podere Montese is a typical Tuscan stone house converted into a lovely, family-run B&B where guests feel at home. At the Podere, the day starts with a rich breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the valley opposite San Gimignano, situated only 2 km away. Do not miss the cappucino prepared by Davide: many of our guests consider it a real legend! The place is run personally by the owners, Davide and Annalisa; on request, they will provide you with the products of the farming estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Podere Montese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Montese San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing