We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bel Soggiorno

Bel Soggiorno
Ranked #8 of 127 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Locale storico, situato sulla via principale di San Gimignano. L'ambiente e ricercato ed elegante con una terrazza panoramica che si affaccia sulla vallata. Cucina tipica toscana ricca di varieta e scelta.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Lovely restaurant . Good views . Food , wine etc great.
However, we arrived without a reservation at 7.30 pm to an empty restaurant to be offered a table at the very back where there are only two tables ( some view). Restaurant " booked out" . Several other people came in and we offered remaining one table at rear and declined. Still no other patrons.
By the time we left at 9 pm there were still at least 2- 3 tables at front with view with no one on them . I find this very annoying and upsetting that restaurant of this "class " would do this and cater for ? Locals and not tourists .
Otherwise food and service were very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DYR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    337
    46
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
306 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“What a View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We recently had our wedding in San Gimignano and decided to book-out Bel Soggiorno for the thirty-odd guests that we'd invited to our reception dinner. Everyone was captivated by the stunning views, charmed by the friendly service and highly complimentary about the quality of the various dishes; in fact, many of our guests chose to return on their own on subsequent nights to enjoy the place a second time. Thanks to the crew at Bel Soggiorno for making our "special day" that little bit extra special!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, great al fresco lunch at reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

On arrival in San Gimignano, our 4 year old started complaining about feeling hungry. Luckily for us within 100 meters of entering the city walls on the right hand side we came across this place. The service was super, friendly and informative and the view was absolutely incredible overlooking the valley and beyond. The food was first class and incredibly reasonably priced considered that it's slap bang in the middle of the tourist route of San Gimignano. Absolutely worth a visit and we will definitely base our future visits on including a stop off at this place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Detken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous View and good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The town of San Gimignano's entrance street has so many shops and doors to restaurants. This one, just about 1/4 of the way up from the entrance features a full wall of windows overlooking the beautiful Tuscan countryside, the valley of San Gemingnano. The coolness of the air conditioning, accompanied, in our case by glass of super chilled beer gave us respite from the 40C degree heat outside. We had the Tuna salad which also had lovely cheese along with the crisp lettuce base. We enjoyed our lunch, the view, the beer and the service. Since the doorway is small, the address is Via San Goivanni 91.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“better end of the market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

so often you get used to eating overpriced food in such a busy tourist spot but here the story is very different. the panoramic window in the restaurant is stunning and if you want front row seats, be there for opening time as it soon fills up. Once inside the atmosphere is very grown up, relaxed and suits the views. The waiters are all very friendly, helpful and polite and the food is a cut above the norm without being too pricey, with a good selection of wines to match, they are as happy for you to eat a one course lunch as they are a four course dinner. This place is worth spending the extra few euros if you want a quiet retreat with good food and service. We normally enjoy trying different restaurants when in Tuscany and never eat at the same place twice, but on this occasion we returned 3 times in a week.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank reviewm0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Soggiorno also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Bel Soggiorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing