We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view, great al fresco lunch at reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bel Soggiorno

Bel Soggiorno
Ranked #8 of 126 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Locale storico, situato sulla via principale di San Gimignano. L'ambiente e ricercato ed elegante con una terrazza panoramica che si affaccia sulla vallata. Cucina tipica toscana ricca di varieta e scelta.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, great al fresco lunch at reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

On arrival in San Gimignano, our 4 year old started complaining about feeling hungry. Luckily for us within 100 meters of entering the city walls on the right hand side we came across this place. The service was super, friendly and informative and the view was absolutely incredible overlooking the valley and beyond. The food was first class and incredibly reasonably priced considered that it's slap bang in the middle of the tourist route of San Gimignano. Absolutely worth a visit and we will definitely base our future visits on including a stop off at this place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Detken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    820
    338
    47
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous View and good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The town of San Gimignano's entrance street has so many shops and doors to restaurants. This one, just about 1/4 of the way up from the entrance features a full wall of windows overlooking the beautiful Tuscan countryside, the valley of San Gemingnano. The coolness of the air conditioning, accompanied, in our case by glass of super chilled beer gave us respite from the 40C degree heat outside. We had the Tuna salad which also had lovely cheese along with the crisp lettuce base. We enjoyed our lunch, the view, the beer and the service. Since the doorway is small, the address is Via San Goivanni 91.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“better end of the market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

so often you get used to eating overpriced food in such a busy tourist spot but here the story is very different. the panoramic window in the restaurant is stunning and if you want front row seats, be there for opening time as it soon fills up. Once inside the atmosphere is very grown up, relaxed and suits the views. The waiters are all very friendly, helpful and polite and the food is a cut above the norm without being too pricey, with a good selection of wines to match, they are as happy for you to eat a one course lunch as they are a four course dinner. This place is worth spending the extra few euros if you want a quiet retreat with good food and service. We normally enjoy trying different restaurants when in Tuscany and never eat at the same place twice, but on this occasion we returned 3 times in a week.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank reviewm0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great vista”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Good dinner with nice wine selection. Fabulous view of the valley beyond San Gemingnano. Good staff, very accommodating.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wheresmynexttrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Happy to come back after 3 years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We returned to this restaurant after it won our 'best dish of the trip' award 3 years ago on our honeymoon. This time, we also stayed at the hotel for the night! The service and food was as good as we remembered and we especially love the view. We got to enjoy the view for breakfast in the morning this time as well! This time the service really was fabulous, I had ordered a moscato with dessert and loved it so much I asked to see the bottle: a confusing moment with a waiter whose English was about as good as my Italian and thought I disliked it and poured me a different one and nearly took the original glass away! Luckily I could make clear that I LOVED it and wanted to see the bottle so I could buy one for myself, and they offered me a bottle to buy from their stock for only 15 euros, which was handed to me chilled after our meal! Awesome. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceNulens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Soggiorno also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Bel Soggiorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing