We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agriturismo Il Castagnolino
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unforgetable days”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

If you look for something QUIET - here you are absolutely at the right place. No any kind of noise. Very familiar with few rooms only. Eat also there, everything is cooked by Carmela, the owner - no words could express how delicious the food is.
Defenitely a place to return.
Thanks to Carmela and Ivan

Room Tip: Room with view to the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    52
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
109
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The property is quaint and offers a rustic glimpse back in time. Carmela is very helpful and wants to make you comfortable. I concur that having one of the evening meals is highly recommended. She is an outstanding cook and sets a romantic ambience for you to enjoy it in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curious005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were greeted with a very warm hospitality from Carmela and Ivan.
We enjoyed a couple of delicious diners, home cooked by Carmela and accompanied by some excellent selection of wines made by her husband. All of this sitting quietly on the hill side overlooking a whole valley!
You wake up with a smile, not just because of the sun, but because again you can enjoy a lovely homemade breakfast on the first row outside with an incredible view! Not far from Sienna, ideal area for scooter trip and Carmela to advice on how to make this happen as smooth as possible. Thank you both for your care!

Room Tip: no advice necessary, you feel welcome, eat lovely and ... we did not miss anything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Il Castagnolino is the perfect place if you want peace and quit with a beautiful view of the Tuscan hills. It is a cute little olive farm 5 min. from San Gimiagno and the hosts are very welcoming. The hostess speaks good english and can help with trip suggestions.

Also have at least one dinner there, cause every night they serve 3 og 4 courses of traditional Tuscan reciepes using their own vegetables when possible - everything we had was amazing and again with the gorgeous view from the terrace.

From Il Castagnolino we went on trips to Florence, Sienna, Volterra and the Chianti wine district.

Room Tip: We had a room in a building, where there is only one guest room which meant no noise from other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelaIvan, Proprietario at Agriturismo Il Castagnolino, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
dear nadia, we remember well your stay with us with sympathy. Thanks for the appreciation of our work that we do with passion. Our gift is to have guests like you! Thanks again by Ivan and me
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We did not stay here, but we ate lunch here. It was only our family at the farm and I felt like we were just going to a friend's house for lunch. We ate outside with an incredible view. We had wonderful meals throughout our 2 week stay in Italy, but this was my favorite. The saffron tortellini, the onion pie, the bread salad, pear and cheese pastry, fried sage leaf, and more were all so unique with such wonderful flavor. The chef taught us about how saffron is grown and harvested. Wonderful meal, beautiful view, gracious hosts. Eat here even if you don't stay here!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelaIvan, Proprietario at Agriturismo Il Castagnolino, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear, I have to thank you and your family for the fun time spent together. Ivan is very proud of his saffron and gladly tells the story about saffron
If you come back in Italy we wait for you at The Castagnolino!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for one night during an eight night trip in Tuscany. It was beautiful you relax the moment you drive through the gates and down the drive to this beautiful farmhouse. We were there in late October but had fantastic weather. We had a very nice room, the bathroom was small but perfectly adequate. We had breakfast on the terrace and Carmella had made yoghurt, cakes, jams and marmalades. On the morning we left we had a walk around the grounds there were the most fantastic views of San Gimignano and the Tuscan countryside.
They were just starting to pick the olives from their 600 trees. A memorable stay we would love to go back maybe in the summer to enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was there with my family and we all loved it! Giovanni and her husband are so sweet and friendly, we loved their food. She also help us book a visit and vine tasting at Cesani vineyard. The rooms are beautiful and cosy and the view over Chianti district is stunning.
We also bought their own Oliveoil and Saffron, it tastes wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.0 mi away
Le Colline
Le Colline
#10 of 30 in San Gimignano
141 reviews
2.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucciano
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucci...
#13 of 107 in San Gimignano
210 reviews
2.4 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casolare
Agriturismo Antico Casolare
#21 of 107 in San Gimignano
56 reviews
3.2 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#3 of 107 in San Gimignano
416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo
Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo
#36 of 107 in San Gimignano
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Castagnolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Castagnolino

Property: Agriturismo Il Castagnolino
Address: Loc Pancole 34, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Il Castagnolino 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your holiday in Tuscany, Il Castagnolino farmhouse offers you an unforgettable stay: rooms with fine furniture, outside swimming pool, wellness treatments (shiatsu, plantar reflexology, restoring your energetic balance with Reiki), breakfast &aromatic & medicinal dinner with natural and bio-food from our vegetable garden and Tuscany specialities.Il Castagnolino biological farmhouse is located in the heart of Tuscany, only two km far from San Gimignano, from there you can easily reach the most beautiful cities of art: Florence, Siena, Pisa, Lucca and Volterra. "Il Castagnolino" is also a bio-farm where we produce extra-virgin olive oil and organic saffron from San Gimignano Protected Destination of Origin, we grow aromatic & medicinal plants and the Certaldo Onion, a Slow Food Presidium. We produce Jams and marmalades with our fruits and vegetables ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Agriturismo Il Castagnolino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Castagnolino San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing