We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscany at it's best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agriturismo Il Castagnolino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Il Castagnolino is the perfect place if you want peace and quit with a beautiful view of the Tuscan hills. It is a cute little olive farm 5 min. from San Gimiagno and the hosts are very welcoming. The hostess speaks good english and can help with trip suggestions.

Also have at least one dinner there, cause every night they serve 3 og 4 courses of traditional Tuscan reciepes using their own vegetables when possible - everything we had was amazing and again with the gorgeous view from the terrace.

From Il Castagnolino we went on trips to Florence, Sienna, Volterra and the Chianti wine district.

Room Tip: We had a room in a building, where there is only one guest room which meant no noise from other gues...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelaIvan, Proprietario at Agriturismo Il Castagnolino, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

dear nadia, we remember well your stay with us with sympathy. Thanks for the appreciation of our work that we do with passion. Our gift is to have guests like you! Thanks again by Ivan and me

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Agriturismo Il Castagnolino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 192 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We did not stay here, but we ate lunch here. It was only our family at the farm and I felt like we were just going to a friend's house for lunch. We ate outside with an incredible view. We had wonderful meals throughout our 2 week stay in Italy, but this was my favorite. The saffron tortellini, the onion pie, the bread salad, pear and cheese pastry, fried sage leaf, and more were all so unique with such wonderful flavor. The chef taught us about how saffron is grown and harvested. Wonderful meal, beautiful view, gracious hosts. Eat here even if you don't stay here!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelaIvan, Proprietario at Agriturismo Il Castagnolino, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear, I have to thank you and your family for the fun time spent together. Ivan is very proud of his saffron and gladly tells the story about saffron
If you come back in Italy we wait for you at The Castagnolino!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for one night during an eight night trip in Tuscany. It was beautiful you relax the moment you drive through the gates and down the drive to this beautiful farmhouse. We were there in late October but had fantastic weather. We had a very nice room, the bathroom was small but perfectly adequate. We had breakfast on the terrace and Carmella had made yoghurt, cakes, jams and marmalades. On the morning we left we had a walk around the grounds there were the most fantastic views of San Gimignano and the Tuscan countryside.
They were just starting to pick the olives from their 600 trees. A memorable stay we would love to go back maybe in the summer to enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was there with my family and we all loved it! Giovanni and her husband are so sweet and friendly, we loved their food. She also help us book a visit and vine tasting at Cesani vineyard. The rooms are beautiful and cosy and the view over Chianti district is stunning.
We also bought their own Oliveoil and Saffron, it tastes wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Views over the Tuscan hills around San Gimingano and the pool make this place excellent value. We initially found the room a bit dark (note: not all of them have air-con, though we were there in early July and the ceiling fan was sufficient), though Carmella was kind enough to switch our room after one night. The hosts were so welcoming, and you MUST eat there for dinner.

Room Tip: Specify that you want air-con if it is essential.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenaHercules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We just came back from a week's stay in Il Castagnolino. It was hard to leave such a wonderful place. Marcela and Ivan are very kind hosts and did everything possible to make our stay agreeable. We immediately felt at home. The agriturismo is very restful (the noise is mostly from crickets and bees). The views are beautiful and the food is delicious.The rooms offer all you need (no TV but then who needs one).
San Gimignano is about 3 to 4 km away. You do need a car to get around preferably with GPS. Our favourite restaurant in S.G. was "Le Vecchie Mura". San Gimignano itself is a little treasure. Nearby Certaldo and Colle di Val d'Elsa are certainly worth a visit.
Thank you Carmela and Ivan for giving us a taste of the real Tuscany.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at Castagnolino for 3 nights and absolutely loved it (80e per night for 2persons)! It already starts when you enter the place through a prestigeous gate and you slowly drive down to the agriturosmo between the high Toscan 'cipresses'. It is located just outside san gimignano (5 minute drive) on a hill so you have a wonderful view over the toscany landscape. They have a nice terrace with tables where, with good weather, you can have the wonderfull breakfast they serve. You can choose between cereals, bread, toast, jam, yoghurt, tea, coffee, cappuccino and always two kinds of cakes (sweet and 'salty'). A good delight! The rooms are spacious, clean, nice bathrooms and two windows for enough light and fresh air. You can easily relax for a half or full day along the small swimmingpool in the relaxing chairs or at the table, either in the shadow or in the sun!
The hosts are very kind and helpfull and they also serve a home made 4-courses-dinner when you let them know in the morning (in high speed tempo ;-)) for 25E pp excl wine.
When you are in for wine tasting, place are closeby in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HR1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo La Piazzetta
Agriturismo La Piazzetta
#23 of 107 in San Gimignano
73 reviews
2.4 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
2.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucciano
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucci...
#11 of 107 in San Gimignano
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Ducci
Villa Ducci
#16 of 107 in San Gimignano
229 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fattoria San Donato
Fattoria San Donato
#13 of 107 in San Gimignano
438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo
Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo
#35 of 107 in San Gimignano
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Castagnolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Castagnolino

Address: Loc Pancole 34, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 107 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: $103 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Il Castagnolino 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your holiday in Tuscany, Il Castagnolino farmhouse offers you an unforgettable stay: rooms with fine furniture, outside swimming pool, wellness treatments (shiatsu, plantar reflexology, restoring your energetic balance with Reiki), breakfast &aromatic & medicinal dinner with natural and bio-food from our vegetable garden and Tuscany specialities.Il Castagnolino biological farmhouse is located in the heart of Tuscany, only two km far from San Gimignano, from there you can easily reach the most beautiful cities of art: Florence, Siena, Pisa, Lucca and Volterra. "Il Castagnolino" is also a bio-farm where we produce extra-virgin olive oil and organic saffron from San Gimignano Protected Destination of Origin, we grow aromatic & medicinal plants and the Certaldo Onion, a Slow Food Presidium. We produce Jams and marmalades with our fruits and vegetables ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agriturismo Il Castagnolino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Castagnolino San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing