We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent cheap stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agriturismo Il Castagnolino
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent cheap stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is an excellent agriturismo provided you appreciate that you will not be staying at a hotel. Very pleasant friendly and helpful couple who run it. I t could do with some tidying up of the grounds with a lick of paint. The meal was excellent and the wine good value. Comfortable basic room but beware no soap provided and the towels were inadequate. Lovely setting and pool make up for these deficiencies.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikebozYorks_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    49
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
102
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

We spent 2 very relaxing days here out of a hectic 10 day Italy tour. This was the highlight of our trip. Very warm and friendly hosts. The dinner and breakfast was out of this world! Dinner was an authentic Tuscan 4 course meal and breakfast included a number of home made and home grown stuff like bell pepper and fig preserves. Very serene with a lovely pool. We loved the whole experience of staying at a farmhouse with stunning views of the rolling hills. Layla the hostess even did our laundry for us at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gowri p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skanor, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Very friendly couple runs this lovely Agriturismo. To enjoy the food, that is very rich in fantasy and flavour, is simply divine and so are the landscape and surrounding garden. Tranquility and lovely view over the Tuscany landscape.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thagbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed here in october and enjoyed it. Splendid views over the Elsa valley and well reachable by car. Without a car it is not recommended. The owners are very friendly, flexible and helpful hosts who cook a lovely meal if you don't like to go out. The room was good though sparsely furnished and the shower took some time to warm up and is a little low for large people ... . Nice pool with a view, although it was too cold to use when we were there in october.
In all a place to recommend for a nice stay near San Gimignano.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enemdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

Il Castagnolino is a pleasant little farm in the proximity of San Gimignano. The hosts are very polite and have useful information about trips to the hinterland.
The food really needs to be pointed out - It is simply delicious. The usual antipasti, primi and secondi plati (starter, first and second course) are based on tuscany recipes and taste delightfully.
The rooms are clean and furnished with the basics, don't expect any top edge luxury - they are rather rustic.

Overall a very nice place to rest, with a great view, clean and tidy rooms and the best home made food you can imagine.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank c0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
5.7 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucciano
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucci...
#12 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.4 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casolare
Agriturismo Antico Casolare
#25 of 111 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.4 mi away
Agriturismo Cesani
Agriturismo Cesani
#14 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo La Piazzetta
Agriturismo La Piazzetta
#15 of 111 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Castagnolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Castagnolino

Property: Agriturismo Il Castagnolino
Address: Loc Pancole 34, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 111 Specialty Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Il Castagnolino 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your holiday in Tuscany, Il Castagnolino farmhouse offers you an unforgettable stay: rooms with fine furniture, outside swimming pool, wellness treatments (shiatsu, plantar reflexology, restoring your energetic balance with Reiki), breakfast &aromatic & medicinal dinner with natural and bio-food from our vegetable garden and Tuscany specialities.Il Castagnolino biological farmhouse is located in the heart of Tuscany, only two km far from San Gimignano, from there you can easily reach the most beautiful cities of art: Florence, Siena, Pisa, Lucca and Volterra. "Il Castagnolino" is also a bio-farm where we produce extra-virgin olive oil and organic saffron from San Gimignano Protected Destination of Origin, we grow aromatic & medicinal plants and the Certaldo Onion, a Slow Food Presidium. We produce Jams and marmalades with our fruits and vegetables ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Agriturismo Il Castagnolino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Castagnolino San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing