We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very stylish etruscian and italian resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poggio all'Agnello Country & Beach Residential Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Piombino
Certificate of Excellence
Wiesbaden
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very stylish etruscian and italian resort”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

olympic size pool, good restaurant, resort style as expected (tuscany style), apartments for rent, very nice surroundings ( piombino and san vincenzo nearby) - visit beaches in san vincenzo, supermarkets in san vincenzo, self breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christoph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    290
    57
    24
    12
See reviews for
341
148
3
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This resort opened in 2011 and has yet to mature. It caters when full for around 900 people it was about two thirds full when we, my wife, two teenaged children and I, were present. We stayed for seven nights having traveled from Rome some 230 kilometres away. It is not as the name might convey a beach resort. There is no beach, the nearest one is a 15 minute journey away and is not very appealing or private to the resort, grubby water and poor quality sand , bring your own loungers and shades.

The resort has an Olympic sized swimming pool around which shades an
loungers are located, not always available due to being full, cheek by ghoul Italian style. Swim hats are obligatory. There is a pool side bar and pizzeria open all day and into the evening and a Resturant only open at night. Both serve good quality food and drinks but are expensive. Cheeper better variety of restaurants in Piombino the nearest town.

The shop where most things required for your stay groceries, ice creme, swim gear- towels, hats etc.- can be purchased, although opening times are irregular and stock runs out, like bread quickly, so get in as soon as it opens. Cars have to be parked in the car park at the entrance which means a trek if you are on the far side of the complex. There is a gym, with free weights, running machine etc but it was never open whilst we were there.

The complex boasts wifi but it is only accessible in the pool area and is very, very, slow making it virtually useless, down loading books from Amazon for instance takes ages and surfing the net for local information and details impossible. In deed wifi we found very lacking generally in hotels and restaurants.

Our apartment consisted of a living room/ kitchen area a bedroom and a bedroom platform above the living room accessed by open stairs from the leaving room, one bathroom off the main bedroom so everyone has to pass though it use the facility not very convenient or private. It had air conditioning throughout which worked well.. By using the sofa bed the total sleeping capacity was six. However, if this were utilised as a facility then there would no comfortable seating for max three people. Only other seating was on dining table chairs around the dining table for six. We spent much time relaxing on beds! With only one bathroom even for four of us this was not ideal with six who knows, a rota?. The kitchen lacked an oven and kettle, the filter coffee machine is made for two people rather than six and anything to wash cloths with, although there is a tacitly somewhere in the complex we did not use. Some apartments have outside facilities to eat or relax ours did not being on the first floor. Generally the apartment was just adequate but basic if you are looking for smoking special this is not it. No character at all.

The nearest town is Piombino about a 15/20 minute drive away. It has a port where ferries go to and frow to the island of Elba, well worth doing we thought. Nice seaside villages and generally less frantic than the mainland.Piombino has a nice old centre and pleasant restaurants and a promenade. Both Pisa and Luca are about a 90 minute drive away and are well worth a trip. Florence about 45 minutes further on from Luca would be a push to do as well in one day and we did not go but agin perfectly doable in a day if you set off early.

Overall we were disappointed in the resort. It's okay if you want to do nothing but lie in the sun all day and don't mind basic, there were mainly families with young children who spent most of the day round the Kids pools next to the main pool.The apartment facilities are basic and utilitarian. There is little to do near by and a car/shuttle bus journey is essential to get to the beach and then it's not very attractive. Perhaps in a few years when it settles down and matures it will get better. But there needs to be much more thought put into how to run the place and information provided to guests which is not comprehensive enough. Would we recommend it no, would we come back no.


Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Yelneh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were on a family trip for 2 weeks at the site. It is a very clean and calm site. Good sports facilities - tennis, football field and excelent 50 m pool and nice, well equipped appartment. Good frindly service. Good food in the restaurant. In total an exceptionel expirence.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JensLudvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Good location, nice pool facilities, however be prepared to supply everything you need. They give you two bath towels for a week stay, one roll of toilet paper, no dish soap or dishwasher detergent. Wouldn't say they were friendly or even try to make international guests feel welcome or give any extra information....would I return....probably not....would I recommend....not sure! Also being that you are in Tuscany....wine country you would think the units would have wine glasses....not. We had to beg at the bar for 2 and promise to return them....disappointing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4harly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Recently;

My husband and I stayed here, this was an aweful experience. We arrived in the evening due to being sent to Bologna by mistake from Rome. Their website states they have a shuttle service, well no they don't, they have a taxi service that charges you 20euros per trip to the Campigglia Maritime train station. Their restaurant is overpriced, decent food. Incredibly slow service and very little English so know your Italian. The next day, we ate their buffet, we were told that we would have to eat somewhere else as the European swim team would be there and they would not have room for us. The swim team was there for a week. On our 6th night we tried to have a pizza in the mini bar area above the pool, we ordered a pizza and were sent away in the pouring rain back to our room. The swim team is present, although there were 3 seats available. The lined is dirty and smelled like vinegar and is very rough. The room has a horrible odor and made us nautious the entire time. The door fell off the hinges. There is no lighting in the kitchen, so bring your own. The stove is a challenge, although they gave us directions via the pamphlet, in italian. We are not fluent in italian. We asked to see the manager she never came nor did she even call. We felt they were overpriced as well as disrepectful. We had no access to the so called amenities that we even paid for. We left as we couldn't take it anymore. You need to pay for everything, So plan on that. This hotel is far away from everything, you can get to the beach on foot but will take you about 30minutes to get there. The laundry is a joke. It takes 3euros for a very small wash, and 3 to dry, but it will take 6 euros to dry even just simple items. The best is hang it out and don't waste your money. Or simply stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This resort is located off the beaten path just outside of the Populonia train station. We were truly amazed at our studio apartment which was wonderfully furnished and the most comfortable stay of our entire month long trip through Europe. We traveled in September and were literally the only two people staying at the resort, which was quite a treat. The staff was very considerate to our needs even though the resort was empty which is commendable. This resort has all the amenities from tennis, soccer, a huge swimming area, and great restaurants. We absolutely enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Poggio all'Agnello is a gated community resort in the small town of Populonia Stazione. It was originally a large farm which had become run down and abandoned. The buildings have been beautifully remodeled maintaining their original structure, and the park has been landscaped with lawns, trees, and recreation areas. The apartments are distributed in several buildings with parking areas near to each one. The work was completed just last year, so while it looks great, there are still a few rough edges... nothing to complain about, though - it's a huge property.... lots of work for remodeling and upkeep.

We had a ground floor apartment with a living/dining/kitchen, bath, walk-in closet, and bedroom. There was an area outside with a table and chairs. The kitchen was complete with everything you might need, including a drip coffee maker. Very comfortable bed. Large bathroom. Attention: you get only 1 roll of toilet paper for your entire stay! If you need more, you need to buy it!

The grounds are lovely - they are doing a great job. The trees are still young, but soon they will grow and provide much needed shade. There are three swimming pools, one of which is a 50 meter, 6 lane pool with lane lines and starting blocks. The other two are smaller. One has jets, and is listed as "heated" but I found the water to be as cold as the other pools. Great pool deck with lots of deck chairs and shade umbrellas.

The town of Populonia Stazione is within walking distance, and there you can find two small grocery shops, a bar/pizzeria, newspapers. Also a post office and, of course, the train station, which is small, but it is possible to arrive there by train!

The beach is 2 kilometers from the resort. We drove to Baratti so we didn't see the local beach.

The restaurant had very good food at reasonable prices.

The people at the reception were very polite and helpful.

This is a pretty quiet, family oriented resort. There are quiet times during the afternoon and at night. No night life or entertainment at all. Very nice!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swimviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piombino
5.2 mi away
Riva degli Etruschi
Riva degli Etruschi
#3 of 25 in San Vincenzo
762 reviews
7.4 mi away
Residence Borgo degli Olivi
5.0 mi away
Hotel Est
Hotel Est
#3 of 12 in Piombino
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Residenza Santa Cecilia
Residenza Santa Cecilia
#1 of 25 in San Vincenzo
293 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#11 of 25 in San Vincenzo
170 reviews
10.6 mi away
Paradu Tuscany EcoResort
Paradu Tuscany EcoResort
#1 of 2 in Donoratico
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poggio all'Agnello Country & Beach Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio all'Agnello Country & Beach Residential Resort

Property: Poggio all'Agnello Country & Beach Residential Resort
Address: Loc. Poggio all'Agnello, 57025, Piombino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Piombino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Piombino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poggio all'Agnello Country & Beach Residential Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poggio all'Agnello Country & Beach Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing