We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our Saviour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cecile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cecile
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Saviour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We found Hotel Cecile after it was recommended to us by a local. We had planned on staying at a different hotel (Relais Under the Tower) but on arrival there we left straight away!! Hotel Cecile fortunately had a room spare for us and the lady on the front desk spoke a small amount of English and was very helpful. The rooms were simple but very clean and the shared bathroom was very clean also. Free WiFi is available, however it does not reach to the rooms on the second floor where we were so we had to go downstairs to use it. The owners provide an additional key to get in if you are out until after midnight and were happy to recommend somewhere nice to eat locally. Check out is at 11am, however they are happy to look after your bags if you want to go off and sight-see before leaving Pisa. Would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a short stay in Pisa. PS...the famous leaning tower is a 2minute walk from the hotel and for only 50 euros a night per room I would definitely recommend stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachWolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    41
    32
    16
See reviews for
21
57
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Got caught on a late flight into Pisa that was delayed and had to scrounge for a local hotel on arrival. The first hotel with en-suite facilities available from the airport self-help map interfaced-thing was Hotel Cecile, in the “Old Part” of Pisa.

This facility is located on the corner of Via Roma and Via Alesandro Volta (43°43'6.46"N; 10°23'43.60"E) and not as wrongly indicated on Googlemaps/Earth.

Not much to say about this ‘joint’. It is truly in the old part of town, about two blocks south of The Tower. It is also located on a very, very noisy road - Via Roma - that just does not go to sleep on a Friday night. It seemed as if all the clubbers parked their cars just below my room window.

The hotel is probably as old as the Old Part of Town itself. A wide steep staircase takes you up to a seedy passage from where you enter your room – most of them onto Via Roma.

The rooms are small. A small ceiling fan just-just get some air to circulate in the stifling heat of an Italian Summer. Not much of an audio-difference between an open or closed single pane glass window – except that the smells also get to you, with the noise, when open.

No water in the room, no mini-bar. There is a TV but no remote and no way of switching it on without a remote.

The two single beds with lumpy mattresses and really worn-out pillows have clean sheets and threadbare covers. I managed to find an old blanket in a cupboard drawer. This helped later at night when it eventually cooled down a bit.

The bathroom with a shower, a basin, toilet and bidet is small but functional. The amenities in little plastic sachets served its purpose.

The staff was helpful. Breakfast was not included but with so many options just around the corner it didn’t bother.

This is probably a good choice as a quick stay-over for a person traveling on a budget. Or as a backpacker’s camping site. The fee I had to fork out however made for a grudge payment.

It is really well located and if you know what you are in for, not expecting too much, have a sense of humour and love to stay up really late this can just work.

Will I stay there again – not if I can help it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the "back" of the hotel, away from Via Roma. Also, try to get some h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sybievds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pisa hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We read the reviews before we went and our expectations weren't high! We stayed here for one night on a weekend break in may 2012.
The hotel is easy to find, and there is loads of on street parking right outside. The parking costs are €1.25 an hour, and you can buy as many hours as you need on a day by day basis. As we arrived on Saturday, we only had to pay up until Saturday 8pm, and Sundays are free, so we only had to buy one ticket. There is a very small car park owned by the hotel, but no idea how you go about reserving a spot, or what the costs are, as the only person who seems to speak Italian on the staff is the lady owner, and if she's not around, it is a bit tricky asking the other guys on reception any questions, especially if like us, you are in the sorry situation of not being able to speak Italian!
Pisa is about a 4 minute walk, and there are cafes and restaurants around there, as you would expect.
We were given a key for the front door, so if you get home after midnight you can let yourself in.
Our room was basic, but clean, we requested an en-suite, which came with fluffy towels and the usual complementary soaps, shampoo etc. Our double bed was huge and comfy.
Sadly for us we got a glimpse of a room opposite ours, and realised that we could have had a balcony adorned with flowers had we only asked in advance, ah well, we'll know for next time.
All in all it was a great hotel, basic and old fashioned but clean and safe. Free wifi helped with the sight seeing, and patient staff helped wi the language barrier.
Our pug also stayed at the hotel with us, and the staff and owners didn't bat an eyelid, other than to give him a stroke on the way past.
All in all, a good little hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to a quiet room, with a balcony, on one of the lower floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayLover L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of May 2012. Having read reviews on trip advisor, I wasn't expecting a lot. We arrived and an oldish guy greeted us on reception with little English but it wasn't a problem as we bumbled along and got there in the end. We stayed on the second floor, paid extra to have a private bathroom. The room was clean and the bathroom a decent size. The room had air con, a balcony, a tv and even a bug plug. None of which were expected given the rating. The hotel was in the quiet part of Pisa, only 10 minutes walk from the train station and a short walk from the sights. All in all a a decent hotel for the amount we paid. No complaints at all. The hotel is small and how people expect there to be a lift is quite funny when there are only a few rooms and its probably an old building.

Room Tip: Room 26. Had a bathroom, balcony, tv and aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RebeccaK2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

On arival staff shouts at you - you are expected to pay on the evening of arrival - city tax in cash
Room was clean but furnished like a student dormatory and it smelled badly
Location close to the main attractions but at a very busy road - so very loud in the morning
On departure only willing to produce a receipt after insisting on it and staff again shouting at us
Luggage could not be left in a safe place but only the main corridor accessible for everybody
Not even a bargain compared to other hotels

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatever4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night in Nov 2010.
Rooms are reminiscent of Soviet style hostel/hospital.
But on the upside it was good value and was in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaun Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel is 200 meters from the leaning tower and shopping streets, that's the biggest + for this hotel.
We ordered a non-smoking room, and the first room we got was smelling of cigarette smoke.... Clearly someone had been smoking there less than an hour ago :(
But we got a new room.... The bathroom was so small that the sink was placed in the actual hotelroom, not the bathroom....
A lot of noice from the city at night, and the beds were extremely hard :(
The people working there could not speak a word english, and that was a bit difficult...
The owner was a bit grumpy, but the rest of the staff were smiling and helpful :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monicaj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.0 mi away
Cecile Hotel
Cecile Hotel
#55 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#43 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#40 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#11 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfitana
Hotel Amalfitana
#27 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#50 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cecile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecile

Property: Hotel Cecile
Address: Via Alessandro Volta 17, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Cecile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cecile Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing