We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Cecile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cecile
Ranked #55 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night in Nov 2010.
Rooms are reminiscent of Soviet style hostel/hospital.
But on the upside it was good value and was in a good location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 142 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel is 200 meters from the leaning tower and shopping streets, that's the biggest + for this hotel.
We ordered a non-smoking room, and the first room we got was smelling of cigarette smoke.... Clearly someone had been smoking there less than an hour ago :(
But we got a new room.... The bathroom was so small that the sink was placed in the actual hotelroom, not the bathroom....
A lot of noice from the city at night, and the beds were extremely hard :(
The people working there could not speak a word english, and that was a bit difficult...
The owner was a bit grumpy, but the rest of the staff were smiling and helpful :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monicaj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Is hotel is perfectly acceptable for the price and location. If you are looking for a destination hotel, skip it. If you are looking for clean and comfortable accomidations to sleep in while you explore Pisa and the surrounding area, this hotel is great. It is only about two or three blocks from the tower and duomo.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eljusto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed here only for one night, as we wanted to make the most of Pisa before we flew back the next day. The location of the hotel, 5 mins walk from the leaning tower, is brilliant but this is its only good feature.

We turned up to be met by the hotel owners who were having a huge argument, this argument lasted for over 5 minutes and despite several "excuse me's" and "can we check in" they took no notice of us. When we finally managed to get their attention, the lady went out for a cigarette and the man carried on filling in some document, and we we're left waiting for another 5mins. Please do not let this man hang on to your passport, we witnessed him putting peoples passports randomly in his desk they are not in a safe location.

On entering the room, we had air con, a private bathroom and a small balcony. But the room had not been cleaned properly, we had a dead fly on the floor and clothes tags left by previous guests, which had not been noticed by the cleaner.

No breakfast is included, which is fine, but surprising considering the cost of the room.

There is a curfew also, you must be back at the hotel by 12am otherwise you will be locked out. Which is a shame as there are some lovely bars near to the hotel.

If you MUST stay at this hotel and I do not recommend it, it is a 15 min walk from the main train station. If you're carrying bags i recommend you catch a bus from outside the train station, which goes to Via Santa Maria or to the Leaning Tower and its a 5 min walk from there. To get to the airport, catch a bus from the road that runs along the river (so the river is on your right) LAM Rossa or Bus 21 goes to the airport and is only 1.50EUR each.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiFruit31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Room didn't have air conditioning, but did have a ceiling fan and with windows open was cool enough. No private bathroom but did have a sink in the room and the communal bathroom seemed clean enough and functional though there was a dank smell. Room was clean and comfortable.

Too many steps with heavy bags for there to be no lift. Some of the staff spoke English, which was helpful, but on arrival our receptionist spoke none and with our limited Italian we were not sure if we were missing some valuable information from him.

Close to the tower and Duomo but some distance from train / bus station, though the area was quiet and seemed safe.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheffnexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

For what we paid, Hotel Cecile was absolutely fine but it is very basic. The location is great, we could see the cathedral (the impressive Cathedral of Our Lady situated right next to the tower) from our window and the tower was all of 5 minutes’ walk! There is parking outside the hotel but we arrived at 7 in the morning and the space wasn’t available until noon which meant we had to pay to park on the street and then come back and move the car (although this is probably my fault for not checking in advance!).

I have to say that we spent one day and one night in Pisa and that was more than enough. Once you’ve seen the tower (which costs about 30 Euros to go into) and the cathedral, there isn’t much else to do. There are some botanical gardens around the corner from the hotel which are supposedly quite old but as much as it was nice to walk around in the sun, we weren’t all that impressed. You can do day trips from various surrounding tourist destinations and this might be a better bet than staying there.

In summary, if you’re looking for somewhere clean and basic to sleep then Hotel Cecile is adequate but don’t expect luxury!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesjhhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

A short bus ride from the airport E1.50. Get off at Femi and short walk down Via Romeo. The Hotel Cecile is within a 5 min walk of the Leaning Tower. Staff friendly, rooms basic but very clean and perfectly adequate for a short stay. You have to stipulate whether you want an en-suite at time of booking as not all rooms have bathrooms, and most rooms have fans but no air conditioning. We checked in at 11:00am and had to be out by the same time the next day but hotel looked after our bags for the day. There are no breakfast facilities but just up the road is a lovely little coffee bar serving coffee and pastries at student prices. Would definitely use it again for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms face onto main st which can be a bit .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chuzelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#41 of 68 in Pisa
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfitana
Hotel Amalfitana
#36 of 68 in Pisa
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#49 of 68 in Pisa
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Pisa
B&B Hotel Pisa
#16 of 68 in Pisa
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#10 of 68 in Pisa
434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cecile Hotel
Cecile Hotel
#57 of 68 in Pisa
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cecile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecile

Address: Via Alessandro Volta 17, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range: $47 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cecile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cecile Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing