We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff and excellent cuisine”

Ristorante Il Colonnino
Ranked #76 of 957 Restaurants in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Attentive staff and excellent cuisine”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I am a vegetarian, my wife a carnivore. We both found this restaurant excellent. The pasta with porcine mushrooms (not easy to get right) was cooked to perfection and when my wife found the meat just a little to rare it was taken to the kitchen and carefully browned. We also tried the fixed price menu which provided excellent food at a very reasonable price. Although the waiter speaks almost no English and we almost no Italian he was able to recommend very good local wine. The menu is in Italian, English and French. The restaurant is small but has a good traditional ambiance. It is rare to be able to give as good a report as this one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HughLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    89
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit for the set menu”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We visited during the Festival of Lights on Sunday 16th June. The restaurant was busy but the service was excellent. We don't speak Italian but the waiter was great, suggesting the red wine etc. the food was excellent and as the wife is vegetarian, she was delighted to find loads of veggie - fish options. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laleham, Middlesex
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Modern Italian cooking worth seeking out.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

In two visits we tried both the fixed price menu and the a la Carte, and found good value food in both. The wine list is very good. However, no English is spoken here, so make sure you have your phrase book/dictionary with you.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very quiet, good food and ambience”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Would have been more inspired if there were more customers, off the beaten track may be a little. We were recommend by our hotel, if was not disappointment

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wife loved it”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Wife thought it 5 star, I thought 3 star which makes it 5 star. excellent value for money though slightly tricky to find.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bedspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Colonnino also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Ristorante Il Colonnino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing