We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Osteria dei Cavalieri
Ranked #32 of 946 Restaurants in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The " Osteria dei Cavalieri " (The knight’s tavern) is situated in the historical heart of Pisa, a few steps away from the homonymous square and from the famous Piazza dei Miracoli, in a setting full of alleys where time seems to have stood still.In the Osteria it is still possible to leave the table with a festive feeling, captured not only through a meal but also through the enjoyed experience. A place that unites, in a relaxing and warm atmosphere,the most sincere tuscan dishes and refined, always creatively interpreted gastronomical suggestions.A working meal where you talk and in the meantime taste typical dishes while trying creative and inventive combinations made according to the strongest cooking tradition of Tuscany. A pleasant dinner in which you’ll be captured step by step by flavors and solutions offered by the chef and staff of the Osteria dei Cavalieri.All of this is possible in the historical heart of the city of Pisa, a few steps away from the marvellous Piazza dei Cavalieri, the famous tower and Piazza dei Miracoli. The entrance hall of the restaurant is the base of a tower house of 1200.The tables are framed by a characteristic stone ledge: light is shadowing, becomes misty and intimate, thus favouring conversation. In such an environment it is not difficult to lose oneself in unique wine and gastronomic experience. For sure this will grant the occasional visitor a memory, as is the case with the locals, who return time after time in the certainty of being surprised once again.The dishes and menus of the Osteria are born in a climate of perfect balance between innovation and tradition combined with a remarkable choice from a winecellar rich in discoveries and grand classics.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Really enjoyed our meal at Osteria dei Cavalieri. I managed to book a table two weeks prior but we like to eat quite early so the restaurant was a little quiet, but, from the amount of people they had to turn away Im guessing they were still fully booked.

The rabbit pasta was amazing.

Great meal but decided to leave the desert in favour of an icecream parlour not far from our hotel.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodLoverStead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    331
    100
    31
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

An afternoon aperitivo in Prato lead to a spontaneous evening visit to Pisa - which I had seemed to miss on previous visits to Italy. We arrived in the evening and wandered down from the station to the Leaning Tower by about 7-8pm - a perfect time to avoid the summer tourist crowds. We asked locals for a dinner recommendation for a plate of pasta and received two recommendations for this restaurant which did not disappoint. A booking is necessary (we made one on the way to the tower) and stopped for a quick dinner on the way out. The pasta all a norma was sensational (all the pasta here is handmade) and the grilled cheese antipasto was delicious. We shared a bottle of a local red, the waiter's recommendation - very light and easy to drink. The service was exceptional - compliments to our waiter who had us seated and served in time to catch our train back to Florence then Prato.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canberra2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kihei
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheese Pudding? was I dreaming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Don't go to Pisa for that tower. Go for Osteria dei Cavalieri!
[There was scaffolding (July 2012) out front as the building is being rehabbed.]
What a wonderful, quiet, lovely lunch spot.
We had Cheese pudding (I'm tortured writing this on my post Italy diet), pasta with rabbit and asparagus sauce, and a seabass type fish the name escapes me. Very high quality preparation and flavors. If I were going to complain it would be that I wanted more asparagus and shredded rabbit in the sauce. The rabbit was ground causing it to be a bit chewy. Not a big deal. In fact, I may even reorder it knowing that. It was that good.
The service is attentive, friendly, well paced arrivals of courses, just nice overall. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snorkelworkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our hostess in the BB recommended this place and we did not regret to go there. We were lucky to find a table without booking as the place became full after we arrived. The food was really delicious and the price for the 4-dish menu was quite good (30/32 EUR for the terra / seaside menu). Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Istok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our meal here.

This place is located down a small back street away from the "tourist" restaurants. You could easily walk past if you didn't know it was there. The service was attentive but not overpowering and the quality of the cooking was excellent.

We went on a Saturday night and booked about an hour before it opened. Soon after we arrived it was full!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnalyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria dei Cavalieri also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Osteria dei Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing