We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Ranieri
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,861)
Filter reviews
2,861 results
Traveler rating
1,472
1,036
238
81
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,472
1,036
238
81
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern hotelthe buslam bluhotel restaurantpisa airportadjoining roomsbuy ticketsleaning towerclose to the airportexcellent breakfastbooked this hotelquiet locationresidential areareception staffvisit pisapastriesthe air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 2,861 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2014

As others have stated it is a bit away from Pisa, but that along with no swimming pool are the only downsides to this hotel.

We stayed in a junior suite and loved it, very modern, spacious with lots of gadgets like electric windows and curtains. Air conditioning was excellent as was the wifi.

Breakfast was very nice with plenty to choose from. All in all a very nice hotel and wouldn't hesitate in booking again.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite !
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

It is a bit far from Pisa center, but it is the only downside. However, it was only 15 euro from the center and only 15 euro from the airport by taxi. Bus service is also available.

The ratio quality-price is excellent! Really, it is a steal! The rooms are big (by European standards) and very confortable. The hotel is modern and clean. Close to the hotel, there were a mini-market and a restaurant/fast-food/convenience store (all in one). It is a nice option to the hotel restaurant that is a bit pricey.

We missed the breakfast, because we were leaving too early. However, there was an early breakfast (coffee, pastries) prepared in that case.

I would strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jojobiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights & loved the modern feel to the hotel. We arrived late in the evening so we checked in then ate in the hotel restaurant, food was a little expensive but well worth it. Lovely air conditioned room with wifi connection & lovely good sized clean bathroom. Turning out the lights at night was a game trying to find the right switch for the right light!

It's a good distance from pisa itself but buses were frequent, cheap & only took around 15 minutes. An excellent place for exploring we spent two days exploring Pisa & a day trip to florence was lovely coming back to a freshly cleAned room & cosy supplied slippers!

Breakfast was included & was a very very good selection you could have anything you wanted. I would definitely stay here again, we used it as a base to explore tuscany & it's location is ideal!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Cassie2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just spent 1 night there but everything was so clean and comfortable, good breakfast (my Irish boyfriend didn't like the scrambled eggs though :) ), lovely bar in the gardens.

Only downside is that it is a bit far from the Pisa City Centre. It's only 10 mins by bus. On the way back we got a taxi and it was 15 euro from the Train Station.

Staff extremely friendly and helpful. We got the Executive Room and it was very comfortable and modern, with air conditioning, free wi-fi and usual hotel extras.

Room Tip: Executive suite looks bigger on the website. I was still very happy with it. When you get in, ask for a wi-fi password of each device you have if you use them all to surf. The hotel is a bit far, quite close to a big hospital. To get there, you can take the blue line from Pisa Central train station (when you get out of it turn right). You can buy the ticket at any newsagent's for 1.20 (July 2014). Ask the bus driver or the passengers. Everybody was very helpful. Get out at the hospital and turn right at the newsagent's. The big road to the hospital looks a bit rough, but it is actually a very quiet area as the hotel is on a side street.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GiudittaPuddu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Sorry seems to be the hardest word!

This is my second stay at San Ranieri hotel. As all the reviews stated, even it can be seen as a sometimes too modern experience (certainly not the kind of hotel for my mother that like more romantic things), such an hotel is refreshing with its nice architectural and trendy feelings (especially regarding the garden or the outside lighting system). Nevertheless, since my last visit, as in all this kind of "design hotel", it seems that some maintenance problems can now be clearly seen (bad smells in the bathrooms, dirty carpet on the corridors, dusty fake flowers...).

But to be honest, that is not a big issue due to the price of the rooms here (we had a fantastic deal on the hotel website: 59€ per night for 2 with a nice breakfast – and wifi, lol - included!).

The main point that leads to this review is the arrogant attitude of the reception staff. Let me explain!

First of all, please notice that the hotel rate now includes free wifi for all the guests (before it was paying) but... beware that it is not working in most of the room!! After unpacking our stuff, we tried to connect the wifi and it was just impossible due to a too low signal. Why ? Because the system is not enough performant (only one box per floor), so only the rooms near the elevators can get a good signal. It is also the case "when there are too much clients in the hotel" (in other words when it is fully booked). This is just unacceptable and unprofessional. The reception proposed us to get another room with a better signal but due to the fact we already unpacked everything, we declined their offer. It was a great problem for me due to the fact that I had bring my laptop to be connected with my office, so I had to work in the space near the elevators during 3 evenings, you can imagine that was not a good things in terms of privacy !!! But that's life ! So we said nothing and accepted it.

4 days ago, we were reading in our room (it was approx 23:00) and suddenly the lights went off (there is a very modern and weird lighting system linked to the room entry card by the way). It happened more than 5 time - every 10/15 min - and each time we had to open the room entry door and remove the entry card from the system and slide it again. At the end we were a little bit angry with this issue and finally go to the reception. The guy there come to our room, telling that it was certainly our fault and, after we argued, finally fixed the problem by opening the fuse box. Cool... But next night, same player shoot again ! (It seems that this electrical problem only happens during the night). The receptionist came again and told us that they will change our room next morning.

So finally, the next day they decided to change our room, going from the 222 to the 216. And, miracle ! The wifi worked in this room (not very fast but at least it worked !) So it solved two problems in the meantime ! Needless to say that each time, we seemed to annoy the reception girls when we go to have the swap (“just wait, we do not know which room are ready”). No apologize, nothing. That's life !

But yesterday night, when we come back at 2:00 from Firenze, imagine our surprise when we discovered that our room hasn't been cleaned at all !!! We go to the reception and get apologizes from the guy there that proposed to give us a cleaned room for the night (nice proposal that we declined).

Going to the reception this morning, we found the arrogant receptionist girl (manager ?) that just told us to tell her when we will leave our room in order to be able to clean it. But what was funny was that without apologizing, she just argued that the problem was probably due to the fact that the housekeeping doesn't work after 15:00 or the sign "do not disturb" that we left at our door. In other words, what happened was OUR fault, not theirs. Regrettably for her, we left our room at 13:30 and did not let the "do not disturb sign" outside. When I just told her that better trying to find excuses, she'd better only say us "we are sorry" and that would have been perfect, she arrogantly and disrespectfully laughed at us and come back to her chair.

What a good customer service example! I just told her that I will make this tripadvisor review to share this experience and that's what I am just doing now! It is not usually my kind of way of acting but for me respect and above all customer respect is a key issue. This does not seem to be the case for the managers of this hotel.

What a pity because otherwise it could really be a perfect place (of course with a really working wifi network).

A smile and a little “sorry” are nothing, but here in San Ranieri hotel, it seems to be “the hardest word” ;)

Room Tip: Near the elevators to manage to have a good wifi signal !
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexPisa, Direttore vendite at Hotel San Ranieri, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Good evening Dear Guest ,

thanks for expressing his thoughts and sharing it with TripAdvisor travelers.
We accept the criticism and confrontation, we are always sorry for this and regardless of his opinion not really positive.
Below we would like to clarify the steps:

WI-FI: is it possible that the wi-fi antenna had problems during this week in the corridor of the room he was staying; we have tried to remedy the problem for customers who like her have to work on a daily basis in the web, and found an alternative room where the signal was acceptable in terms of navigability. Once the technician arrived at the hotel has restored everything explaining that the Wi-Fi antenna was out of order.

LIGHTS PROBLEM: Unfortunately, the problem of character "electric" could not be resolved immediately saw the time 23:30 ;but the very next day we adapted to solve it immediately, in fact, our reception staff apologize the incident and inability to solve the immediate problem, proposed a change room just to facilitate your stay.
We assure you that the next morning you have resolved the problem with our maintainer, in fact, customers who stayed in the room during the following days did not experience any other type of electrical problem. We apologize if this fact has caused discomfort but unfortunately we could not do otherwise.

CLEANING ROOM: the room has not been cleaned since as reported several times during the day was hanging on the door “do not disturb” the communication and in these cases, as good practice in all the hotel staff is trained to not enter the room unless otherwise specified by the customer.
The front desk staff has adapted in the afternoon to contact you to ask if it was possible to cleaning the room but not having had the opportunity to get in touch with you we had to do the communication exposed outside his room.

We thank you for his claims that his hope next stay at the San Ranieri are the fruit of his inner conviction and not just as a last choice.

We remain at your disposal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews