We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern decor, peaceful location”
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Ranieri
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Room was clean, with a comfortable bed and good-sized shower-room. The decor was very modern, absolutely fine if you like that sort of thing. We had drinks from the bar in the garden, which was very peaceful, and there was a good selection (of the usual continental sort) for breakfast. The dinner menu didn't look exciting and seemed expensive so we ate at the restaurant /pizzeria just along the road (on the corner near the hospital) and it was delicious. The hotel is well outside the city centre but a cab was quick and cost around EUR15. Reception was a little frosty on the first evening but the same woman was friendly and helpful next day. There is no pool or fitness centre on site.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate24_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 2,746 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel staff were helpful, and the rooms were clean. It was a very modern hotel, so it didn't feel very warm or welcoming. The rooms have terrible lighting, and there wasn't an outlet in the bathroom. It is also far away from the leaning tower.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel many times for its proximity to the Cisanello hospital but If you need to visit the city or to be close to the center this is not the best place...If you can stand its weird appearances, it's a comfortable hotel with a good (but expensive) restaurant. It's a bit strange, the architectures reminds me of "Space Odyssey" or what was considered futuristic and Science Fiction-looking in the 70s.

PROS: Good breakfast, lovely lunch buffet, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, clean bathroom with amenities, friendly staff.

CONS: Few times I had issues with the AC (extremely hot or cold), wifi is dreadful, during the first visits I struggled finding the light switches but it's part of the charm. Mosquitos!!!!!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Maura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I spent one night here during a conference.

I chose the surprise room deal, which gives you the option of paying 49 € and getting one room from their selection, which they decide on the very latest for you. I got a classic double room on the first floor (UK: ground floor).

The corridor to the room seemed to be a discotheque. The room was vintage, loads of lighted mirrors, TV incorporated into the mirror, dominance of red and black color. The buttons to switch off the light on the side of the bed also reminded me on the 80's...real tall buttons, no switch.

The bed was very comfortable, impeccably made. The shower was a beauty, due the open showering place it seems also quite large. Courtesy shampoo and shower gel, enough towels.

I missed a bottle of water, even if to buy, haven't controlled though, if there was a mini-bar.

The breakfast is very good, you have a chef, who prepares hot dishes, while there is a wide selection of muesli, cornflakes, croissants, fresh fruit, bread, salami and other cold cuts.
Coffee/tea is served by the waiter (who is not very polite in English, just asks: what do you want).

One pretty big downside is the lack of any public transportation downtown according to the receptionists. On my way back I saw several busses, so it might be just a misinformation from them.
Also the ladies at the reception should be a little bit more attentive. I went to the reception desk, to let print my VAT receipt to be ready at my check out - 10 mins later - gave every detail, but when I actually got back with my luggage, she still hasn't printed the receipt for me...I might think, it was because of the 2 € "tourist tax", which I haven't paid by card and had to give her in cash when I got to the desk with my luggage.

Nevertheless, a very pleasant stay, would come back anytime!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kishajnalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice modern room, interesting hidden lighting behind loads of mirrors. Bed was comfortable, the aircon worked a treat. There is a tanning area with loungers on the first floor roof, as well as a outdoor bar area downstairs.

The free breakfast was included and I found the rate VERY reasonable for a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank ChrisMikeEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Suited our needs for a short stay as part of our Italy tour. Hotel is modern, rooms large and clean. Quiet area of Pisa although a good way out from the center. Public transport available outside the hotel (about 15mins to center) or E10 taxi to and from. Easy to find form the airport as we hired a car and although hotel has secure parking (additional charge) easy to park on the road. Breakfast very good and the restaurant/bar area also good. Not much in the local area but there is a local restaurant on the corner of main road which was very busy/local but food was good and value for money.Staff very friendly and helpful. Enjoyable 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon in Italy. The hotel itself is modern and beautifully decorated. The staff are excellent. Very efficient and welcoming reception. The relaxation areas in this hotel are great. The weather was so hot when we were there. The gardens to sunbathe and beds in the gardens to relax in the shade were perfect. The outside bar was great. One particular bar man was very helpful and made the best cocktails. I particularly enjoyed the kiwi and the watermelon cocktails which were delicious and were filled with vodka and fresh fruit. Delicious! We had a wonderful stay. Only thing was the room we stayed in was lovely (it was a superior room) but the air con was not good enough for how hot it was. It was on and was working but it just wasnt strong enough. We used the hotels shuttle bus to a local public swimming pool which was lovely. The shuttle was free and the pool entrance was about 10euros each and was so relaxing and good fun, it was a great relief from the sun. We took a taxi to the leaning tower of Pisa and it cost about 12 euros each way. We had a lovely dinner in a restaurant called cafe Pisa right by the tower, it was delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EnglandLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
795 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,905 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#6 of 68 in Pisa
428 reviews
3.2 mi away
Allegroitalia Pisa Tower Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: $77 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel San Ranieri in Pisa we transform common places into extraordinary ones. We offer our guests gallant terraces facing up to the sky, wall partitioning that absorbs solar energy and shines nocturnal rainbows, and design rooms that might be mistaken for spaceships. Our architect Simone Micheli, one of the most noted contemporary designers, has created a wondrous metropolitan oasis. The rooms of the Hotel San Ranieri in Pisa are a concentrated eclecticism of contemporary and sophisticated vintage patterns. They offer all that you will need and even additional services that you will not want to be lacking. You will be amazed at our fiber optical Internet connection that will enable you to navigate at the speed of light. With our complimentary TV Mediaset Premium, you can enjoy hours of television entertainment with your family and friends. The Squisitia restaurant in the San Ranieri Hotel is well-known for always offering its clients truly superlative recipes using local ingredients, such as seasonal truffles, mushrooms and produce in its flavorful Pisan & Tuscan cuisine. The Squisitia restaurant is distinguished by the excellence of its homemade items, such as pasta, bread and pastries, served with care and kindness by our skilled and attentive staff. If you wish to visit the center of Pisa: Piazza dei Miracoli is found 4 kms (10 minutes) from the hotel. You can get to the center by car, or take the LAM BLU bus. The bus stop is located just a few hundred meters from the hotel. If you are going to Cisanello: The hospital is directly in front of us. We offer visitors to Cisanello—patients, family members, teachers, doctors and nurses—the perfect position to easily walk to the hospital. If you are just stopping by: The SGC Fi-Pi-Li is only 5 minutes away, while the Galileo Galilei airport is 8 minutes distance by car. If you are going to Palazzo dei Congressi: you can reach the convention center in only 5 minutes by car. The Palazzo dei Congressi is 3 kms from the hotel. You can also reach it by LAM BLU bus. The bus stop is not far from the hotel's entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing