We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A little too modern for me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Ranieri
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little too modern for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel staff were helpful, and the rooms were clean. It was a very modern hotel, so it didn't feel very warm or welcoming. The rooms have terrible lighting, and there wasn't an outlet in the bathroom. It is also far away from the leaning tower.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    849
    183
    70
    32
See reviews for
642
824
152
434
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel many times for its proximity to the Cisanello hospital but If you need to visit the city or to be close to the center this is not the best place...If you can stand its weird appearances, it's a comfortable hotel with a good (but expensive) restaurant. It's a bit strange, the architectures reminds me of "Space Odyssey" or what was considered futuristic and Science Fiction-looking in the 70s.

PROS: Good breakfast, lovely lunch buffet, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, clean bathroom with amenities, friendly staff.

CONS: Few times I had issues with the AC (extremely hot or cold), wifi is dreadful, during the first visits I struggled finding the light switches but it's part of the charm. Mosquitos!!!!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccione, Italy
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I spent one night here during a conference.

I chose the surprise room deal, which gives you the option of paying 49 € and getting one room from their selection, which they decide on the very latest for you. I got a classic double room on the first floor (UK: ground floor).

The corridor to the room seemed to be a discotheque. The room was vintage, loads of lighted mirrors, TV incorporated into the mirror, dominance of red and black color. The buttons to switch off the light on the side of the bed also reminded me on the 80's...real tall buttons, no switch.

The bed was very comfortable, impeccably made. The shower was a beauty, due the open showering place it seems also quite large. Courtesy shampoo and shower gel, enough towels.

I missed a bottle of water, even if to buy, haven't controlled though, if there was a mini-bar.

The breakfast is very good, you have a chef, who prepares hot dishes, while there is a wide selection of muesli, cornflakes, croissants, fresh fruit, bread, salami and other cold cuts.
Coffee/tea is served by the waiter (who is not very polite in English, just asks: what do you want).

One pretty big downside is the lack of any public transportation downtown according to the receptionists. On my way back I saw several busses, so it might be just a misinformation from them.
Also the ladies at the reception should be a little bit more attentive. I went to the reception desk, to let print my VAT receipt to be ready at my check out - 10 mins later - gave every detail, but when I actually got back with my luggage, she still hasn't printed the receipt for me...I might think, it was because of the 2 € "tourist tax", which I haven't paid by card and had to give her in cash when I got to the desk with my luggage.

Nevertheless, a very pleasant stay, would come back anytime!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kishajnalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice modern room, interesting hidden lighting behind loads of mirrors. Bed was comfortable, the aircon worked a treat. There is a tanning area with loungers on the first floor roof, as well as a outdoor bar area downstairs.

The free breakfast was included and I found the rate VERY reasonable for a 4 star hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisMikeEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Suited our needs for a short stay as part of our Italy tour. Hotel is modern, rooms large and clean. Quiet area of Pisa although a good way out from the center. Public transport available outside the hotel (about 15mins to center) or E10 taxi to and from. Easy to find form the airport as we hired a car and although hotel has secure parking (additional charge) easy to park on the road. Breakfast very good and the restaurant/bar area also good. Not much in the local area but there is a local restaurant on the corner of main road which was very busy/local but food was good and value for money.Staff very friendly and helpful. Enjoyable 2 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon in Italy. The hotel itself is modern and beautifully decorated. The staff are excellent. Very efficient and welcoming reception. The relaxation areas in this hotel are great. The weather was so hot when we were there. The gardens to sunbathe and beds in the gardens to relax in the shade were perfect. The outside bar was great. One particular bar man was very helpful and made the best cocktails. I particularly enjoyed the kiwi and the watermelon cocktails which were delicious and were filled with vodka and fresh fruit. Delicious! We had a wonderful stay. Only thing was the room we stayed in was lovely (it was a superior room) but the air con was not good enough for how hot it was. It was on and was working but it just wasnt strong enough. We used the hotels shuttle bus to a local public swimming pool which was lovely. The shuttle was free and the pool entrance was about 10euros each and was so relaxing and good fun, it was a great relief from the sun. We took a taxi to the leaning tower of Pisa and it cost about 12 euros each way. We had a lovely dinner in a restaurant called cafe Pisa right by the tower, it was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglandLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I needed to be near to Cisanello Hospital and this was less than 5 mins walk away. Not needing taxis etc to hospital was a great help. My room was available well ahead of check in time and was was spotlessly clean with a great bed. not a huge amount of atmosphere when I was there but was not a party trip. The staff were faultless, with very good English and very helpful. I am not sure this is the best location to be in heart of pisa but for hospital or proximity to airport it is excellent. Didn't make breakfast which is a testament to the quietness and comfort of the room. Great shower and other room facilities. I would recommend tho hotel, especially if you are there to visit a loved one in the hospital and need the rest of arrangements to be smooth and stress-free.

Room Tip: I chose standard double and it was fine for my needs for this trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiecate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
2.0 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,408 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.9 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
3.1 mi away
Abitalia Tower Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Property: Hotel San Ranieri
Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing