We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice place with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Ranieri
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very nice place with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our trip to Italy and wanted somewhere away from the city so we could have a relaxing end to the trip. I paid a little extra for a suite and I have to say it was worth every penny/EURO. What a gorgeous room! The staff at the San Ranieri are also very good: friendly without being overbearing or obtrusive, and willing to go the extra mile/km. This goes for both reception and waiting-on/bar staff... there are some real characters there, which I always like. My only very minor criticisms would be that the restaurant needs to be a little more restauranty-y (I mean it needs to be a little cosier.. the food itself is great!) and that you can, on occasion, hear other guests in other rooms even in the suite. But I am seriously nit-picking here, as we absolutely loved the place. We love Italy full stop, but when you stay at places like this you realise that the UK just doesn't fully understand how to run hotels. A particular mention to the utterly charming reception staff and the Irish chap who works in the restaurant. We will be back!! Steve & Nerine, Nantwich, UK

Room Tip: Book a suite! It's lush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therouxtwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    940
    207
    77
    34
See reviews for
737
918
157
472
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
basingstoke
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Staff were very courteous, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and healthy. Nearness to the shopping malls, restaurants and some of the many tourist attractions are very close-by which is a big advantage to any traveller.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NVS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
216 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Modern hotel, AWAY from the city center and middle of no where. You would be lost without a car. The rooms are modern and a funky design and so is the entire hotel. I don't like hotels which are dark with strong colours, service was good and breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budsy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
768 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We enjoyed our one stay in this modern hotel. Some of the design features are funky, but hte overall experience was very good. The restaurant was good and the set course menu provided good value dining. After a 10 days walking through various parts of Tuscany, this was a good place to unwind.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel prides itself on its modern style. OK if you like being very hot in a greenhouse style room. We were upgraded so I hate to think what smaller rooms are like. Decorated in black so very dark in the day, but the ridiculous double or triple curtains failed to keep out the light at night, so had to spend ages blocking up the holes with cushions. We arrived to be told there would be live music that evening in the restaurant. Came home early from the city expecting to be entertained in the garden room. Turned out to be a private function with a terrible singer, from which we were excluded. We and all hotel guests were confined to an alcove, suffered dreadful supercilious slow service, and ate ridiculously small portions at fairly high cost. A rip off in fact. I have never before seen anyone actually laugh at their food when it arrived at table, as other guests did here. And it wasn't even good food. And of course, too late to drive back into the city. Overall, the hotel was too pretentious with too much spent on sculptures and not enough on guest comfort.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 350david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hootel does take its cue from some of the more funky designs of European hotels. The corridors leading to the rooms left me feeling like I was walking through the route of a ghost train. Some will like it, others may think, whats the point. I personally liked it a great deal.

I was however disappointed with the restaurant. Arriving with my colleagues the first thing we asked for was a beer. We asked for something local and the maitre'd (a very pleasant Irish chap)offered us each a large bottle of something akin to Hooegaarden. We accepted gratefully. Jolly good stuff.

We next ordered a seafood main course at E16. This took about 30 seconds to eat and left us feeling still hungry. We then enquired about the price of the beer as we enjoyed it and fancied another. E15!!! For a bottle of beer. As we were still hungry we were offered a sweet. We ordered an eton mess and what appeared was a selection of ice creams. No meringue, no eton and a bit of a mess.

Breakfast was what you might have expected and was plesant enough.

In summary, a very nice hotel let down by its restaurant. My suggestion - eat out.

Room Tip: Have a torch handy to see your room number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boab64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the reviews from Tripadvisor and mainly due to the fact that a garage was available, as finding a parking place can be difficult in Pisa. We stayed for 3 days and had opted for an interconnecting room.
The hotel was easy to find, close to one of the exits from the highway. The rooms and toilets were clean and well maintained. Covered parking can be reserved for a cost of 5€/day.
While the website states shuttle service, it's only for picking up from the airport/railway station - they do not offer it as a 'regular' service incase you want to hop on it for a ride to the station. Public transport is very close by and tickets can be purchased at a book-shop near the bus-stop- it costs around 1.10€ and is valid for 70mins from the time of stamping the ticket. Other possibilities are also available (day ticket, two-way, etc). The shop closes early, so incase a late evening trip is planned the ticket needs to be purchased earlier.
There is also a restaurant near the bus-stop, which seems to be run by the same hotel.

Negatives:
- Sound from the neighbouring room.
- Food was a let down. We ordered the same dish on two occassions and both preparations were different.
- Breakfast selection was limited and quantity wasn't planned in advance, especially on crowded weekends. They started preparing scrambled eggs only after bringing it to the notice of the hotel staff that it was over. So, if in a rush go early for breakfast.
- For a four start hotel, a heating kettle with selection of coffee/tea in the room could have been provided
- No possibility to to connect my iPad or portable dvd system to the TV (helpful while travelling with kids, especially if we plan to relax for a day at the hotel)
- The reception area and passage surrounding the elevator and smelled of fish (maybe due to the kitchen close by). But the corridors near the location of the rooms were fine.

Overall it's still a good hotel and would easily fit into a 3-star category, however in comparision to some of the 4-star hotels, more facilities could've been included.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linu73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.0 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
1.8 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Property: Hotel San Ranieri
Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel San Ranieri in Pisa we transform common places into extraordinary ones. We offer our guests gallant terraces facing up to the sky, wall partitioning that absorbs solar energy and shines nocturnal rainbows, and design rooms that might be mistaken for spaceships. Our architect Simone Micheli, one of the most noted contemporary designers, has created a wondrous metropolitan oasis. The rooms of the Hotel San Ranieri in Pisa are a concentrated eclecticism of contemporary and sophisticated vintage patterns. They offer all that you will need and even additional services that you will not want to be lacking. You will be amazed at our fiber optical Internet connection that will enable you to navigate at the speed of light. With our complimentary TV Mediaset Premium, you can enjoy hours of television entertainment with your family and friends. The Squisitia restaurant in the San Ranieri Hotel is well-known for always offering its clients truly superlative recipes using local ingredients, such as seasonal truffles, mushrooms and produce in its flavorful Pisan & Tuscan cuisine. The Squisitia restaurant is distinguished by the excellence of its homemade items, such as pasta, bread and pastries, served with care and kindness by our skilled and attentive staff. If you wish to visit the center of Pisa: Piazza dei Miracoli is found 4 kms (10 minutes) from the hotel. You can get to the center by car, or take the LAM BLU bus. The bus stop is located just a few hundred meters from the hotel. If you are going to Cisanello: The hospital is directly in front of us. We offer visitors to Cisanello—patients, family members, teachers, doctors and nurses—the perfect position to easily walk to the hospital. If you are just stopping by: The SGC Fi-Pi-Li is only 5 minutes away, while the Galileo Galilei airport is 8 minutes distance by car. If you are going to Palazzo dei Congressi: you can reach the convention center in only 5 minutes by car. The Palazzo dei Congressi is 3 kms from the hotel. You can also reach it by LAM BLU bus. The bus stop is not far from the hotel's entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing