We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very convenient stopover, close to the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Ranieri
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very convenient stopover, close to the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked Hotel San Ranieri for 1 night as we arrived in Pisa very late in the evening and did not want to spent to much time on the road after landing. Our primary criteria to select our hotel was therefore the location (airport proximity).
When we got there (after approx. 15 min drive), we were positively impressed by the hotel: it is rather smart and offers a great service, considering the price. Plenty of choice for breakfast (even I found something I fancied eating, that's saying something ;) Clean and comfortable room, larger than the average european hotel room. Restaurant menu was appetising and moderately priced, though we did not get a chance to give it a try. The next morning, we walked at a leisurely pace from the hotel to the centre of Pisa (about 40min), so not long at all if you go by car.
For stopovers in Pisa, I would definitely recommend Hotel San Ranieri. If you are looking for a room with a view, then this won't be it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    832
    179
    69
    32
See reviews for
618
806
152
433
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean special design
Very nice design like Star Trek ...
Place far from center but close to bus stop you can get direct to center city
Nice restaurant
Service good especially the reception
Good breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idoshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a very modern hotel 10 minutes from the airport by taxi (c20Euros) although the hotel runs a free shuttle bus on the hour (let them know your flight no). The room was very modern with a very firm, very large bed. There is plenty of lighting choice in the room although it's a little complex to work at first. I didn't like the motion sensor light in the lovely bathroom as I don't like to be woken fully in the night. To go to Pisa train station by bus, turn left out of the hotel, left along S. Biagio and walk to the newspaper kiosk (you can buy tickets here) on the corner. Cross over and take the LAN BLUE. Cost 1.10 direct to the station. Bus drivers will take fares on the bus but only if you have the right money. If you're late back from town, the No 22 from the station is a night bus. It takes a little longer but stops outside the hotel. The other buses seem to stop running about 8.30pm. To get to the Tower, go to the station, cross over to the bus stop outside the hotel and take the LAN RED. BTW The pizzeria just along from the hotel is owned by the same people as own the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is very modern and very nice. Rooms are standard L-shaped with en suite bathroom. Beds in standard double rooms are massive! The bar stocks a tasty local craft beer and good local wine. We didn't dine at the hotel but had some very tasty bar snacks with our drinks. The bar had a piano player in when we were there. The hotel has plenty of terraces to sun yourself on and the garden is lovely.

The hotel is not in the centre of Pisa nor very close to the train station or airport. This isn't a problem for getting into town as the hotel can get you a cab very quickly, but make sure you get a phone number for booking one on the way back as they are very hard to pick up on the street. We had a very long walk back from town!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a hotel near the airport, following a late flight. San Ranieri fitted the bill. I paid £85 including breakfast.

The hotel is quirky - unusual and almost futuristic! This was a refreshing change to UK premier inns at airports :) The room was clean and comfortable and the reception was extremely welcoming and friendly.

There is an hourly hotel shuttle to the airport which was useful for picking up the hire car the next day. Wish I had known about that on arrival as the taxi cost 17euro (with no tip). They also guarantee your room until midnight - something alot of guest houses in Pisa seemed unable to offer.

We ate in the restaurant which was nice & the breakfast offered a lot of choice.

San Ranieri was value for money, especially when you throw in the airport shuttle

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent, clean and modern hotel. Good service and excellent reception staff. Set price menu was not a success but chef did make amends after a complaint. Signposts to this hotel are few and far between. Advise you get clear directions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chic1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

All i can say is “New Bench Mark!!!” The hotel is fresh and totally new to me in concept in deco and layout (beds in the beer garden!) But the food was just as fantastic, as was the attention to detail on everything. Well placed to visit Florence Lucca Sienna and of course Pisa and special thanks to the barman (where the beds in the beer garden are) for not only waiting on us but advising us on best parking in the towns and all my daft questions like why all padlocks on the Ponte Vecchio! Would me and my Wife go again? You bet just look at the photos

Room Tip: All are good but are different colours! but we stayed close to main reception and were never disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winwinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 67 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
2.0 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 67 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.9 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
8.6 mi away
Hotel Riviera Blu
Hotel Riviera Blu
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Property: Hotel San Ranieri
Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing