We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Ranieri
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very modern hotel, a little cold at times which is not helped by there not being any carpets on the floors. Room was modern and bright with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good with all the usual foods you would expect to see. The city centre was a ten minute bus ride away, the buses were regular and only a short stroll to the bus stop. Clean and comfortable with a luxurious feel in some areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessNDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    850
    184
    70
    32
See reviews for
643
825
152
434
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We read the reviews and were looking forward to trying a hotel that was clearly modern and a bit quirky. The room was very cold; we were upgraded and moved to another room but this was very cold too. We slept with our clothes on! The reception centrally control the heating and could not get the room warm. The food was ok, as was the wine, but expensive. The lighting in the corridors was gloomy and quite weird. In summary we were very disappointed and will not go back.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I like modern, but in my opinion this hotel was a little too futuristic. The room was too 'cold' for my liking, I found the lighting particularly unpleasant and harsh. The bathroom was practical rather than attractive. The outside space was pleasant and the hotel was well maintained. During my visit I relied on public transport and once you've worked out the buses they can work fairly effectively to get you into and out of the centre of town. I found the bus stop near to the hospital was the best for getting transport into Pisa.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofarsogood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel had an interesting look to the rooms. It's a very futuristic hotel from look of the hotel to the room doors to the room. When we checked in we had the staff show us to our room and give us information on the room, such as the lights turn on automatically when you walk down the hallway and into the bathroom, how to turn on the t.v., and how to access the Internet. I really appreciated the personalized service. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was very good and there were a lot of choices. My only complaint, we were told the restaurant was closed for the evening, but we weren't told that a holiday party was going to take place. Our room was on the first floor, overlooking the courtyard and from 9:00 p.m. to about midnight we heard music from the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 25LoveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed there for christmas eve because of the restaurant. When we arrived, it was closed. No chrismas eve dinner for us. No apologies.

Internet did not work in the room. When we complained they said "it is not possible". Ok, i´m a moron, can connect my laptop and cell phone only in the reception, not inside the room. Did not fix it till the end of our stay.

Bad neighborhood, works if you have a car.

Staff, in the other hand, were great and really helpful (except for the one that said that it was impossible, and it was my fault that i could not connect to the internet inside the room), and the room really confort.

Breakfast just ok, not so good. 7 o´clock a.m. and eggs were gone, and no more were put there.

In the end, we left one day earlier than we had planned. Disappointed.

So, it´s a confortable 3 star, in my opinion, good for the price if you are on a budget and have a car to explore the region.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel has a very interesting quality/price ratio and is located at 100 meters from Cisanello Hospital. The room was elegant and functional at the same time. It was possible to have a self service breakfast from 5:00 a.m. The personnel was very helpful. Free wifi (not so common in Italy).
The hotel has a very good restaurant, we got a buffet lunch at 13:00 that was impressive in quality at a good price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gelaslean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Quirky hotel, quite difficult to find but no missing it when you get close. Looks like and feels like a 1970 futuristic film set but sort of it works (well you'll either love it of loathe it). Bedrooms comfortable with good bathrooms although corridors very dark and doors heavy with baggage in tow. Had adjoining rooms so kids were able to chill out more than normal. Restaurant for evening meals was very pricey for the quality but was just about OK, especially if you take advantage of the menu offer.Breakfast was much better. Free WiFI brilliant.

I'd go back to hotel but Pisa is a once off trip because aside from leaning tower and park around it, there's nothing to recommend the place at all!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dirkoflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
2.0 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,411 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.9 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
3.1 mi away
Abitalia Tower Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Property: Hotel San Ranieri
Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing