We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Italy, Pisa - Hotel San Ranieri” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Ranieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Ranieri
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
California, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Italy, Pisa - Hotel San Ranieri”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Beautiful hotel at a great price when our family of five went. Rooms were new, clean and spacious and we had a connecting room with the kids and a shower in each room. Only down sides to this hotel were: 1) the TV (couldn't get it to work no matter how hard we tried or read the manual...appears you may need to pay for TV...someone else or the hotel can confirm this) and, 2) the grouchy young lady who worked the desk. She asked who would be staying in each room...at first suggesting the girls stay with me and our son with mom. I jokingly said, in my so-so italian, kids could sleep on the floor, she didn't appreciate the joke one bit asking my wife and I to pick names. We look at each other wondering why it even mattered and the young lady snapped at us and literally tore the room key cards from my wife's hand. Her male co-worker, a very nice young man, saw how rudely she was behaving and stepped in to help a bit. My wife and I remained calm the entire time, but talked about it after and couldn't believe this young girl thru a little tantrum (worse than what we deal with..with or own kids who are a bit younger than her). Additionally, nobody mentioned anything about the complimentary breakfast nor about how to work the TV. We would have given them a 1 for service had it not been for the nice gentleman co-worker of hers. Please note, we're not whiny, needy, complaining types - on the contrary, very easy to please us. But we definitely recognize bad service when we get it. Not sure if we'd come back here or not, specifically because of the bad service, but it is a beautiful hotel with very nice rooms. Also, have lots of parking just outside the hotel for free.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    904
    198
    71
    32
See reviews for
701
886
155
456
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Perfectly good smart modern hotel. Great for late arrival at airport Design a bit strange. More form over function I would say. Hidden or unlabelled switches etc. doors look like fire escapes!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orthomark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed for a week at San Ranieri in Pisa and the Hotel and staff are excellent. It is very clean and the restaurant is great although a bit expensive when compared to close by restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcob444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

i stayed with my wife in this hotel just for a night and we found this hotel to be excellent with amazing rooms , we booked a double room at first but when we arrived they said that they have request for a twin by mistake and they dont have a double available for that category so they upgrade us without any charge... the hotel is bit far from the city and the leaning tower of Pisa, but again its very peaceful. the hotel has a excellent breakfast arrangement and also the free shuttle was very helpful going to the airport the next morning ... overall a pleasant stay !!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gauravbatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Hotel San Ranieri is at 5 minutes from Pisa, (direct bus) It is a supermodern building, with a lot of light, a very nice garden, in summer you can have your meals otside, a nice breakfast and the restaurant is what I woud call "local fusion". The personnel is very nice an not invadent. I you go ther to have an operation or medical care in the Cisanello Hospital ( 3 min walking) you'll have also special ratings an can have special meals

Room Tip: I had always different rooms and they where always ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Spent one night at the hotel during the Christmas holidays and was very happy with my choice. The hotel staff is very friendly and dynamic, I had not booked the hotel shuttle and when I called to ask how to get to the hotel they immediatly arranged for a pick-up and the service is even free! The design is extraordinary, something not very common in Italian hotels. Rooms are quite spacious, clean, and everything worked well. There is a flat screen embedded in the mirror which has the Sky channels, so if you have spare time to spend in the room you can watch nice movies or football at no charge. Breakfast was nice, with a large selection of sweets and salty items, although juices were not fresh. I did not have dinner at the hotel restaurant as food was way overpriced, especially for Italian standards, and the open kitchen emanated all the smells throughout the reception and the main lobby. The only negative is its location a bit outside of the city centre, but the taxi ride is not that expensive and if you don't minde getting by by bus you will not be disappointed (we came back after dinner from the centre on a night bus and it went very smoothly).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarloBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Spent 1 night here with the family for sightseeing.
It's not a bad place, interesting decor, but not really anything special. Shower had some plastic from a previously still used soap bar on the floor. Rooms rather small and you were able to hear conversations or TV from the rooms nearby in the bathroom at least....
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, as most places closed nearby for Christmas. The food was average for the money we paid. One dish was wrong and the next morning for breakfast for our daughter's highchair, we got the same chair we had the evening before - including the bread crumbs still on the chair!
So not a bad place, but if you can, do yourself a favour and stay in the centre.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doistujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexPisa, Direttore vendite at Hotel San Ranieri, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Responding to the ad we want to emphasize that the value we derive from the hotel guests, including international flows of large amounts.
Just as the recipes of our restaurant meet interest and a generous consent.
Sorry you did not find a recipe to his liking as well as the chair of her daughter in perfect order.
Of this we are sorry as we are so saddened by the fact that some of the televisions nearby rooms had as unfit for civil society.
We understand that a stay at the center may be more interesting as well as we are often reminded that the convenience of Saint Ranieri is that the widespread availability of parking, services provided at all times.
We care about the care of these suggestions that help us to continuously improve our quality
Thanks for your suggestions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
1.8 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
2.0 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#6 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ranieri

Property: Hotel San Ranieri
Address: Via Filippo Mazzei, 2 | Cisanello, 56124, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pisa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Family Hotel in Pisa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Ranieri 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Ranieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ranieri Hotel
San Ranieri Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing