We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for the leaning tower and also for the train station”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Hotel Roma was the perfect base for my recent trip to Pisa and the surrounding area.

You cross the road, walk for 1 minute and the famous Piazza, cathedral and its leabing bell tower are all their for you to see.

Breakfast was typically continental. The spread wasn't bad but could do with opening up on the choice just a little more.

The staff in the hotel are excellent and you could not ask for more. Everyone of them that I talked to were pleasant and made you feel welcome at all times.

In the morning, the lady serving the drinks was very nice and also remembered what I liked to have which is also a bonus and the service feels all the more personal.

When it comes to the rooms i can only comment on the single I had. It was very spacious and the bathroom was also a very decent size.

If you're planning on discovering a little more of the surrounding area (but seriously don't just go to the famous Piazza otherwise you'll never get a feel for the real Pisa) then the train station at Pisa Santa Rossore is about 10 minutes walk away.

From here, you go off to other places such as Lucca, Livorno, Genoa and Cinque Terre.

If you arrive at the airport the bus drops you right outside the hotel. Price paid for this was only 1,20€! Do ask the hotel though before arriving which bus service it is that stops there. I only got it on my return journey so didn't take note of the number.

I would have no hesitation in going back to the Hotel Roma. Perfect location. Perfect staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 590 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed for one night and arrived quite late but we found the desk staff very willing to help with directions and recommendations for dinner. You can't get much closer to the leaning tower and the rest of town is a short walk away.

The hotel was clean with good wi-if and a good breakfast. The lift was an added bonus. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Looby5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed 1 night here at the end of our Tuscan trip. The objective was to see the leaning tower and surrounding area, before our early flight home.
The location of this hotel is perfect, it is literally 1 minute walk from the tower area.

The hotel itself is small, staff were very friendly and helpful, I found it unusual to have a hotel right next to an iconic attraction like the LTofP and not be seriously expensive and pretentious.
The Roma is neither.
The room was clean, reasonable in size, with its own air conditioner, TV. Bed was clean and comfortable, bathroom was plenty big enough with clean towels and a lovely shower. The down side is possibly that the room was quite simple in its furniture decor, there was no safe, no fridge and no kettle. This is a no fuss clean hotel in a perfect location.

Breakfast was adequate, continental style with helpful staff. This was relaxing and so not 'in your face'

Room Tip: I would imagine road side rooms could be noisier, but we were at the back which although had no real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel is so close to the Field of Miracles you can almost touch it! Good hotel, good breakfast, not too expensive, Not noisy despite its location. Our room had no view and no facilities to make a cup of coffee or tea. Water pressure seemed a bit on the low side too. But otherwise OK and the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park and garden are quiet. Don't know about those facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobscott72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

When planning a visit to Pisa, obviously the main focus of your visit is the Leaning Tower - we wanted a hotel that was centrally located to the tower, but wasn't too expensive, and the Hotel Roma fit exactly this criteria. It was probably less than a five minute walk from the front of the hotel to the Piazza del Duomo and the Leaning Tower, and you could basically see them both from the hotel - there is also a lovely little market with goods made in Florence across from the hotel that you have to pass on your way to the tower. Also, we arrived in Pisa by train and it was really easy to get to the hotel from Pisa Centrale station by bus.

I'd definitely agree with some of the other reviews that describe it as a 'bare bones' kind of place, but it was clean and you really couldn't complain. Of course, it could definitely do with a refurb, as it is clearly outdated. The beds weren't particularly comfortable, but the towels were lovely and big and fluffy which is always nice in a hotel. The A/C was really welcome because it was super hot when we were there, but it would have been nice to have had a safe in the room for our valuables.

Breakfast was included in the price, and although it served its purpose, it was nothing special - just a small table with croissants, fruit and a bit of cheese and bread. One of the best things about this hotel was one of the staff on the reception desk - I cannot remember his name, but he was so helpful! He gave us a map, and highlighted areas for us to go (restaurants, gelato, sights etc), he marked out the main street, and even helped us plan a day trip to the beach in Viareggio. Also, he recommended us a really nice (non-tourist!) restaurant which was lovely and really welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

So much better than we expected for the price we paid. Bedding and towels as good as the best, which is never a given at these prices.
Could hardly be nearer the Tower of Pisa, on the bus route to the airport and a lovely lounge and outdoor area to take a break from the city in.
Our room was over the main road so not quiet with the balcony door open but doors shut and aircon on it was perfectly fine.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mike551979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel is not fancy --- I'd describe it as bare bones --- but you can't beat the location, and it is well kept-up, and the staff are incredibly welcoming and friendly. Even after we checked out they were happy to keep our bags for us, and to give us recommendations for where to go for lunch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erbonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#6 of 68 in Pisa
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
817 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,943 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Address: Via Bonanno Pisano 111, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range: $67 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing