We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Close to airport” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galilei

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Galilei
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Close to airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The proximity of the hotel to the airport is it's only saving grace. Big impersonal hotel but given that our flight arrived after 10pm and we were setting off to the south of Italy the following morning we chose to stay there. Under the same circumstances would probably stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    185
    159
    52
    33
See reviews for
89
140
30
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is only a 2 minute drive from the airport, and 10 minute drive from the train station. However, there is nothing else surrounding the hotel. If you arrive at the hotel late and want to get a bite to eat, the only restaurant available is the hotel restaurant which is extremely overpriced for terrible food - my salad had lettuce that was brown. We did not find the staff at the front desk to be very friendly or welcoming. The room is pretty small, with well equipped bathroom but tiny shower. The bedding was very uncomfortable, and the wifi is terrible. If I had paid less for this hotel room, these things wouldn't have bothered me. But for the price, I'd expect more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace19920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pisa hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kent
Level Contributor
211 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I was in a party of three viewing this hotel as a potential venue for a large conference (would bring 30,000+ euros in revenue to the hotel in Winter 2015) and we decided to try a night at this hotel.

Results

A lukewarm tour of the conference facilities - no real enthusiasm. (facilities were OK)
Three bedrooms that had three beds crammed into a small ulitarian furnished room so there was no room to sit and relax. Ants appeared in the bedroom from the strange balcony area???? which was joined on to a building next to it (another part of the hotel?)
A shower that ran hot and cold every few minutes.
General service was lukewarm

Food was good 100 Euros for three persons in the restaurant.

One would expect the hotel to create a good impression so as to impress the potential client. but alas not the case.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentEnglander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica b, Direttore vendite at Hotel Galilei, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear KentEngla,
i recollect all info about your stay. Nobody was advised about a potential overview as congress venue due your reservation was made by web. However the event manager when you asked for a visit of the hotel, show you immediately the meeting center and all facilities involved in congress.
I am sorry if you do not have a good impression as the reception staff is one of our points of strength in reviews.
About rooms, I would like to give some info about buildings. The Hotel Galilei is built restoring an old factor of glass and crystal, the hotel is mainly composed by two parts: the restaurant built on the old restored factory and the big new building with rooms and congress center.
I really appreciate if you would reconsider the position of our Hotel for your business.
Kind regards
Monica Barsottini
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel overall is covered with art pieces. Our room view was a roof of a building and the wifi was practically useless as you cant really get a strong signal. Breakfast was fine had lots of choices, although very strict with water. Bath amenities are nice at this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

The first thing I would like to share about this hotel is the food Since we came for few days for a convention we didn't have time to travel around and ate at the hotel most of the time. I am not big on eating at the hotel it's usually very pricy and unjustified but let me tell you the food here is FANTASTIC and at completely reasonable prices! everything is fresh and made to order so perfectly seasoned it's so wonderful and refreshing. The staff is very nice and helpful as much as possible one very important thing to keep in mind they barely speak English and that could be challenging while on the roads trying to get help so take our advise and bring an English-Italian dictionary you will need it. The rooms are good size hardwood floors, mini bar, WIFI that got slow at times but all in all worked fine, very modern bright orange bathroom beds had a very hard mattress take some getting used to if you like the softer once but no back pains reported so no complaints. The room is clean the view is great overseeing the mountains and trees very relaxing, the lobby area is great, very tastefully decorated, 3 elevators, quiet, pretty secluded not many food places nearby, Continental breakfast is included with great coffee options for good coffee lovers :),free parking.The walls are a bit thin, on our first night we had a family with a baby in the room above us and we got an unexpected wake up call at 5am from a crying baby and it was quite loud! other then that the hotel is great a very positive experience highly recommended :)

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor on the front side if possible the view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonytweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica b, Direttore vendite at Hotel Galilei, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear sharonytweety,

thanks. I really appreciate to meet you if yould like to visit us again.
Regards

Monica
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed for one night at the start and end of our Tuscany adventure. A hotel close to the airport that was extremely friendly,helpful and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and provided all information needed. The breakfast of course was continental, and was good. Coffee was perfect. Bar man was passionate about his red wine. If I ever have to stay in Pisa again this would be my first choice.

Room Tip: No pool but this is an overnight stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkiandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica b, Direttore vendite at Hotel Galilei, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Nikkiandpaul ,

i would like to thank you for the kindness about our staff!

See you next time.

Monica
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I picked this hotel because it says it is 1km from airport and a shuttle bus available. When I checked in I asked for shuttle bus for following morning and was told that there was no bus but I could book a taxi. Taxi ride took more than 10 minutes and cost 12.50 euros. I had the feeling I was being taken the long way round to airport!

No complaints about hotel....clean, friendly staff and reasonable restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica b, Direttore vendite at Hotel Galilei, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Jacqueline C,

i am sorry about the inconvenient with transfer maybe you ask it for the early morning. Even if we suggest everybody to book the transfer in advance as to be sure about avialability and time.

I hope to welcome again in your next stay in Pisa!

Regards

Monica
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#6 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Abitalia Tower Plaza
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
1.8 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galilei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galilei

Property: Hotel Galilei
Address: Via Darsena 1, 56121, Pisa, Italy (Formerly Golden Tulip Galilei - Pisa)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galilei 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galilei, modern 4* hotel with 153 rooms with all comforts within 2 Junior Suite. Strategic position to visit Pisa and surroundings. 6 Meeting rooms well equipped. Bar and Restaurant opened from the morning till late evening. Transfer service fro/to Airport or city center, on payment, to booking in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Galilei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Galilei - Pisa Hotel Pisa
My Onehotel Galilei Pisa
My Onehotel Galilei Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing