We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the airport but not so good connectivity” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galilei

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galilei
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Close to the airport but not so good connectivity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Located outside Pisa it's hard to get to town from it unless you're driving or take a taxi. The closest bus stop is 1km away right in front of the huge supermarket but in order to get to the hotel you have to do dangerous crossing so I don't recommend it.
Then again if you're young and adventorous you can try.
Now , the hotel is renovating, so you see it's a little bit outdated. It's convenient for the airport although a bit pricey. They have a shuttle bus for 5euro max (price that gets lowered if there is more people driving there).
About the installations, nice bathroom and decent enough rooms with fridge and tv. If you depart really early you get an early breakfast (basic but convenient, you won't expect hot stuff at 5am).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noimporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    154
    138
    47
    29
See reviews for
79
127
22
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I only stayed here one night after landing late at the airport. 5 minute taxi ride and I was there, just what was needed. Very welcoming staff were quick and efficient at check in, so I could relax as soon as possible.
The next day I only had a few hours to see the sights before moving on and the reception staff gave me great advice on how to see the best bits in a short time!
Maybe not the most scenic of locations, but the room was clean and well appointed, Id be happy to stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed one night as it was close to Pisa airport and we had an early flight. Rooms are not very clean, both bathrooms had showers that leaked and spilled water all over the floor, could tell by smell that it was a common problem for most of the property. Very limited food services, but there was helpful staff at the bar so I was able to have them make a couple of sandwiches for my kids as we did not arrive until late at night. Chose this hotel due to proximity to airport, but found that Pisa is rather small and we could have stayed 'downtown' and still been fine in terms of Hotel-to-Airport transport time.

Room Tip: Lower rooms are better, the elevators are very slow...if you are leaving in the morning and there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BienVago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pisa hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Sometime around 1970 somebody had a dream. They would create a tourist resort in the middle of the industrial zone near Pisa International airport. They would name it after Galileo and people would flock from all over the world to wonder at what had been created in his name. Well perhaps. The hotel does feel as if it should be part of a larger complex that was never built. But it is fine for a night if you are getting off the late Ryanair flight from Stansted (or meeting people who are). There was actually a distant view of the Duomo from my room if you peered over the industrial wasteland at a very specific angle, the breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. The hotel was cheerful and felt safe, But the area is very unprepossessing to say the least, there is a truck stop nearby and there appeared to be sex workers on the corner as we turned off the main road. You may want to bear this in mind if you are travelling with a young family or a maiden aunt.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room With A View (my favourite literary gag in Tuscany anyway) and see what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mewero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
163 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just checked in and the place smells awful, like it was doused with some harsh cleaning agent to cover up/clean but the odors linger. Just learned Internet is only free in the lobby (hot, sticky vinyl chairs). For what we are paying, and the bad food reviews, free Internet in the rooms would be a nice perk! Flying out of Pisa tomorrow so it's just a matter of sleeping, (room is next to elevator so that may be an issue) and leaving. Not expecting much from the "free" breakfast based on past reviews. This is the end of a 10 day hot summer vacation and a nicer finale would have been appreciated. VIVETE E IMPARARTE! - LIVE AND LEARN.

Room Tip: Don't expect much on the way of comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ideal for a stop over or to use as a budget visit to Pisa. It's 40 min walk from the centre. However a taxi is only €7 so isn't a problem. I've read some of the other reviews about this hotel and find them a little unfair. Having stayed in 17 other hotels and hostels this month. This hotel does what it says on the box. The staff were pleasant and could do enough. The food was of a good standard too. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 257IanW257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica b, Direttore vendite at Hotel Galilei, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Ian,

i appreciate you decide to stay at Hotel Galilei even after reading reviews! I am very happy you enjoy our accommodation.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Galilei for 1 night after arriving on a late evening flight from the UK. Although less than 1 mile from the airport it is a bit tricky to get to in a car. In this respect, please be aware that you have to take a free bus from outside the airport to the car hire depots! The hotel is located in an industrial zone, it is a modern and smart looking hotei on the outside but not so smart on the inside. Staff are a bit impersonal but for a short stay it is OK and handy for the airport, has free car parking, it is close to the motorways North and South or for a visit into Pisa town to see the leaning tower. Rooms are spacious, albeit a bit dated and in need of a refurbishment, however rooms are adequate for short stays and won't cost you a fortune. Moreover, the breakfast is very good. All in all, good for a stopover.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diolchynfawriawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,329 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,407 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
2.3 mi away
AC Hotel Pisa
AC Hotel Pisa
#18 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galilei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galilei

Property: Hotel Galilei
Address: Via Darsena 1, 56121, Pisa, Italy (Formerly Golden Tulip Galilei - Pisa)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galilei 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galilei, modern 4* hotel with 153 rooms with all comforts within 2 Junior Suite. Strategic position to visit Pisa and surroundings. 6 Meeting rooms well equipped. Bar and Restaurant opened from the morning till late evening. Transfer service fro/to Airport or city center, on payment, to booking in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galilei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Galilei - Pisa Hotel Pisa
My Onehotel Galilei Pisa
My Onehotel Galilei Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing