We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to airport, that's all.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galilei

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Galilei
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Close to airport, that's all.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed one night as it was close to Pisa airport and we had an early flight. Rooms are not very clean, both bathrooms had showers that leaked and spilled water all over the floor, could tell by smell that it was a common problem for most of the property. Very limited food services, but there was helpful staff at the bar so I was able to have them make a couple of sandwiches for my kids as we did not arrive until late at night. Chose this hotel due to proximity to airport, but found that Pisa is rather small and we could have stayed 'downtown' and still been fine in terms of Hotel-to-Airport transport time.

Room Tip: Lower rooms are better, the elevators are very slow...if you are leaving in the morning and there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BienVago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    188
    168
    55
    34
See reviews for
94
143
31
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Sometime around 1970 somebody had a dream. They would create a tourist resort in the middle of the industrial zone near Pisa International airport. They would name it after Galileo and people would flock from all over the world to wonder at what had been created in his name. Well perhaps. The hotel does feel as if it should be part of a larger complex that was never built. But it is fine for a night if you are getting off the late Ryanair flight from Stansted (or meeting people who are). There was actually a distant view of the Duomo from my room if you peered over the industrial wasteland at a very specific angle, the breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. The hotel was cheerful and felt safe, But the area is very unprepossessing to say the least, there is a truck stop nearby and there appeared to be sex workers on the corner as we turned off the main road. You may want to bear this in mind if you are travelling with a young family or a maiden aunt.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room With A View (my favourite literary gag in Tuscany anyway) and see what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mewero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
203 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just checked in and the place smells awful, like it was doused with some harsh cleaning agent to cover up/clean but the odors linger. Just learned Internet is only free in the lobby (hot, sticky vinyl chairs). For what we are paying, and the bad food reviews, free Internet in the rooms would be a nice perk! Flying out of Pisa tomorrow so it's just a matter of sleeping, (room is next to elevator so that may be an issue) and leaving. Not expecting much from the "free" breakfast based on past reviews. This is the end of a 10 day hot summer vacation and a nicer finale would have been appreciated. VIVETE E IMPARARTE! - LIVE AND LEARN.

Room Tip: Don't expect much on the way of comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pisa hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ideal for a stop over or to use as a budget visit to Pisa. It's 40 min walk from the centre. However a taxi is only €7 so isn't a problem. I've read some of the other reviews about this hotel and find them a little unfair. Having stayed in 17 other hotels and hostels this month. This hotel does what it says on the box. The staff were pleasant and could do enough. The food was of a good standard too. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 257IanW257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica b, Direttore vendite at Hotel Galilei, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Ian,

i appreciate you decide to stay at Hotel Galilei even after reading reviews! I am very happy you enjoy our accommodation.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Galilei for 1 night after arriving on a late evening flight from the UK. Although less than 1 mile from the airport it is a bit tricky to get to in a car. In this respect, please be aware that you have to take a free bus from outside the airport to the car hire depots! The hotel is located in an industrial zone, it is a modern and smart looking hotei on the outside but not so smart on the inside. Staff are a bit impersonal but for a short stay it is OK and handy for the airport, has free car parking, it is close to the motorways North and South or for a visit into Pisa town to see the leaning tower. Rooms are spacious, albeit a bit dated and in need of a refurbishment, however rooms are adequate for short stays and won't cost you a fortune. Moreover, the breakfast is very good. All in all, good for a stopover.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diolchynfawriawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed this past weekend for a conference, there was also a dog show in town, so apparently they all stayed at this hotel. The floor I was on, smelled like wet dog, the dogs barked ALL NIGHT LONG! and even managed to roam the halls without their owners. When we brought this to the hotel staff's attention, they acted like we were bothering them and that the dogs were no big deal. (For the record, I love dogs, BUT mine does not bark and keep me awake all night, when I need to work the next morning).
Some of the staff members were very friendly, while others were incredibly rude! At the end of my stay, I went to check out, and they tried to charge me an additional 30 euros, saying I had charges in the bar, which I did not. There were several others in my group who were also told they had this 30 euro charge, but also did not.
My overall experience in this hotel was awful. The conference rooms were the only nice thing about the stay. It was not worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msker02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica b, Direttore vendite at Hotel Galilei, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear msker02,

i remeber very well the situation you mentionned. The staff did everything possible calling several times to a more polite and respectful behavior towards other guests the owners of the dogs' most rebellious. "I remind you to behave in a polite manner is only a civil rule therefore we can only point out disrespectful behavior but we can not do more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The room was filthy, it was still dirty from the previous visitors. The room smelt terrible, of urine. It was dark and depressing room. The breakfast was outrageously bad. The location was horrible. I arrived late to the hotel from Milan, and all they had to offer as food was one sandwich left. There was no form of room service or food facility for 24-hours. I was disgusted with this hotel and would never stay there again, nor recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: No room service whatsoever
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
1.5 mi away
Abitalia Tower Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galilei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galilei

Property: Hotel Galilei
Address: Via Darsena 1, 56121, Pisa, Italy (Formerly Golden Tulip Galilei - Pisa)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galilei 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galilei, modern 4* hotel with 153 rooms with all comforts within 2 Junior Suite. Strategic position to visit Pisa and surroundings. 6 Meeting rooms well equipped. Bar and Restaurant opened from the morning till late evening. Transfer service fro/to Airport or city center, on payment, to booking in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Galilei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Galilei - Pisa Hotel Pisa
My Onehotel Galilei Pisa
My Onehotel Galilei Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing