We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Very Convenient Position”
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Moderno
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Bournemouth, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Very Convenient Position”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We have used this Hotel many times as we fly to Pisa and then onward to Rome or Tuscany, if the return flight is early morning then we need to stay somewhere near to the Airport. The great convenience of its situation is that the station is only a 5 minute walk away and the Airport about 20 minutes.
The Hotel itself is clean with a good sized en-suite to some bedrooms and very efficient double-glazing (important due to the proximity of the railway lines!) The breakfast is adequate and the staff are welcoming and friendly with very good English spoken.
Our only complaint is the lack of a lift, carrying heavy suitcases up two or three flights isn't very good! (We have suggested that a small lift might be installed just for the luggage.)
To sum up: Excellent for the overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    143
    91
    24
    24
See reviews for
78
147
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2009

The staff here were very friendly and their english was great, and they were very helpful when we needed something so I can't fault them for that. However, the shared bathroom was quite dirty: there were small hairs all over the floor, even by the toilet (??) which were not cleaned on either of the days when we were there. Its conveniently located for the train station but the tower and duomo are a good 20-30minutes walk away. Breakfast was basic but enough to see you through to the afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellathediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pisa hotels

Belgrade,Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Stayed just for one night,before catching a plane to Copenhagen the next day.
Location was good,both from train station and the airport.Paid 58 euro for a twin room,on the ground floor,with shared bathroom.Room was quite small,but beds were comfortable.
Was reasonably quiet,having in mind that railway lines run just across the road.
Breakfast was typical Italian and I liked it,the old lady was really nice and welcoming.
Would definitely recommend as a stopover stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JU050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gozo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Hotel Moderno is located just about 5 minutes away from the train station. When we arrived at the hotel only one of our two rooms were ready. There are no lifts and since our rooms were in the second floor we had to carry our luggage through the narrow staircase.

Our four bedroom consisted of three single beds adjacent to each other, and the other (folding) bed perpendicular to them. The power button of the tv wasn't working so had to unplug the tv in order to turn it off.

Breakfast was ok for a 2 star hotel, even though would prefer paying a little more for a better service... bread wasn't fresh and most other items were pre-wrapped.

The area near the hotel does not seem too safe at night. Leaning tower of Pisa is about 1.5km (30 minutes) walk away.

Overall, if I were to go to Pisa again, I would defenitely not go to this hotel again.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — Noise from train station, especially at night
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank karlvell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

This was a pleasant surprise. The room was spacious and the air-conditioner was working well. The room was tidy and even the hallway bathroom was clean and accessible. The location is good, very close to the train station and midway between the airport and the historical centre. The best nights we spent in Italy were in this hotel. We even returned after 4 nights in Florence and loved it even more (after a bad experience in hotel Boboli). Most of all, we really liked the staff, which looked to be part of a family where everyone was very polite and helpful. At the price range, we really recommend it.

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — Too few power sockets
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jalexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We paid 97 euro for a room with private bathroom, 3 persons.

Hotel is 200 meters walking from railstation, and 1 km from airport. In 20 mitutes walking you can cross the city center. The centre of Pisa is small, I booked this hotel because of its location close to the airport, but another hotel on the other side of the Arno would not be a problem to get easy and fast on the airport.

Not unimportant: good bed with good matras.

Service was correct & room was clean (with airco, which was not necessary anymore at the end of september); isolation of the room not that good (we could hear TV playing on other room); If you sleep bad, be aware that trains pass 100 meters at the backside of the hotel, which causes some additional traffic noise.

People at reception were friendly; the older woman in the dining room for breakfast was also helpfull, but Iitwould be nicer not to smoke during the working hours, even at the door outside.
Breakfast was OK; no fresh bread which I always regret, croissant etc in package;

So in my opinion, this hotel is OK for a short pitstop at Pisa for on night your way through Toscane, but not to stay a longer time.

  • Liked — price/quality
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BaronT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Stayed here in Aug '08. Room was basic but clean. Looked out onto street so there was a little bit of noise. Air con unit on roof was exposed and in no way disguised, which lowered the standard of the room. Short walk from the train station, although no trouble, area is not particularly well lit and does not give off the best impression. Breakfast was basic, toast and plastic wrapped pastries. Price compared to other places in Pisa was very reasonable. Staff were friendly and helpful. No reflection on the hotel itself, but unless you have to stay in Pisa, I would day-trip it from Florence or elsewhere in Tuscany.

  • Liked — Value, Location, Friendliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Billhillee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.0 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#10 of 68 in Pisa
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#11 of 68 in Pisa
1,559 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#8 of 68 in Pisa
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,702 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
2.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Pisa
B&B Hotel Pisa
#15 of 68 in Pisa
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Property: Hotel Moderno
Address: Via Filippo Corridoni 103, 56125, Pisa, Italy (Formerly "Albergo Moderno")
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Moderno 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to downtown and Business. 110 meters from the train station and terminal bus . 400 m from the convention building , 1 km from the "G.Galilei" Airport. Reception open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing