We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Location, Good Rooms, Good Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Bonanno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Pisa
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Location, Good Rooms, Good Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Grand Hotel Bonanno is good, not great. The room prices are fair, parking is free (rental car drivers take heed!) and the restaurant is good.

The rooms are clean and reasonably well appointed if in need of a refresh. Then again, every single hotel room in every single hotel in every city can't be newly renovated.

The front desk staff are helpful, well organized and professional. The restaurant staff are well trained, mature and professional. The breakfast buffet is quite thorough, with none of the staples left out, and plenty of selection.

Even if you're just strolling slowly along, it's only a 10-15 minute walk to the Tower and the old town. Note that you have to cross through a short underpass beneath the railway tracks. Other than the non-photogenic underpass, the hotel location is perfectly good for exploring Pisa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agitater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    471
    254
    67
    30
See reviews for
253
479
25
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel did what it said on the tin. The rooms were clean and fine. It was in walking distance to the attractions and a pleasant enough place to stay.

We only stayed one night and we put the metal shutters down so they kept the noise out. Nice enough but I wouldn't choose to stay there for a long time,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoomerangChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

After reading all the reviews after I booked our trip I was a little nervous about our stay at this hotel as I had booked it on behalf of myself and a friend , some of the reviews were a bit worrying The rooms are basic but there was every thing there we needed , although we were at the front of the hotel and It was noisy during the day but not too bad at night , All the other hotels I saw in Pisa seemed to be in noisy locations , its a city so what can we expect, we did hear the trains which start quite early in the morning , How ever the station was handy for our day trip to Florence so you cant have every thing , Breakfast was very good , Staff in the dining room were very friendly , The underpass did not bother us at all , walking through in the evening was not a problem as there is always people about , my biggest bug to bear was that there were no other bars near where we could have a drink and something to eat , the bar in the hotel is an extension of the reception area and lacks atmosphere , hence there is no one in there having a drink in the evening .
Tips : Bus from and to the air port is 70c don't book a taxi 10-14 euros ,watch out for pick pockets on train I had my purse stolen as I got on to the train .the Africans selling goods are polite and harmless, but a don't make eye contact or speak to them or you will never get rid of them . If you are interested in art a real must is go see the Keith Haring mural , its near the central station . Finally take a train to Lucca , its beautiful , a gem around every corner, hire bikes and cycle around on the the wall ,( you need Id to hire a bike ).

Room Tip: As for a room at the back of the hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norfolksab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Out of the main hub-bub, so you have to walk to the main sights, though this was no problem. Staff were on the whole good, some very friendly and helpful.Most spoke English or quickly found someone who could. The rooms were clean, comfortable, but basic. Air conditioning seemed to be centrally controlled, which was a problem as the room was quite warm! We chose this hotel partly because of the free parking, which was really useful. Very easy to get to from airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We visited with another couple for a 3night break in Pisa. Very warm greeting from reception and have to say all staff were so polite and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable and although near to railway they were quiet. Breakfast was buffet style and very good. We ate in the restaurant one evening but the food was very disappointing. Reliance on frozen veg and potatoes and fillet steak that definitely wasn't fillet! In terms of location it was about 10 mins from the tower etc and just right. Used the minibus service back to airport at just 10euros total for all 4 of us.

Would we stay again? Yes definitely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chivmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Staff nice and helpful. Speak English. Location walking distance to centre and tower. Easy parking.

Not bad overall. 100 m to a railway but we didn't notice the noise. Restaurant was good. Breakfast good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is used to a bit of comfort and luxury on the voyage!
The biggest shock was the fact that the bed linen is changed after 3 days! Even when we asked a receptionist to assist us on this matter nothing happened. For 4 star hotel this is completely unacceptable!
Tho room we stayed in had a carpet which didn't seem so clean.
We had a problem with air-conditioning as well since it switched on automatically and was overheating tho room. The ventilator in the bathroom was to loud. The worst thing is the railroad that passes few meters from the hotel and the noise is quite disturbing.
The staff was not friendly at all.

Good location. Near to main roads and not so far away from historic center of Pisa, although the passage under the rail rad seams very scary (we saw few syringes!) so it should be avoided on fut during the night.
Staff left us a bowl of fruit as a welcome gift which was nice.

Room Tip: There is no tip! We've asked for a nicer room since we came to celebrate our anniversary and my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pisa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.7 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
2.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 67 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,280 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 67 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 67 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bonanno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bonanno

Property: Grand Hotel Bonanno
Address: Via C. F. Gabba, 17, 56122, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bonanno 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Grand Hotel Bonanno is just 800 mt from the Leaning Tower and the old town center, strategically placed near the main road of access to the town. The Hotel has 89 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, Sky TV, minibar, hair dryer and safe.Furthermore the hotel has a free private parking area, perfect for your trip in Tuscany. Monuments, university, railway station, motorway, the Galileo Galilei International Airport, and the Congress Hall are not far away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, ETB and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Bonanno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Hotel Bonanno Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing