We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“small, quite basic place, with excellent service, well worth more than its 2 stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Astor
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Milano
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“small, quite basic place, with excellent service, well worth more than its 2 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The place is conveniently situated very close to the old city center, 15 minutes walking from the Tower. Coming by car, you can enter the closed center without being fined by giving the reception your car plate after the check in.
We stood in a 4 beds room with 2 small children. It was simple but well equipped, with a perfect shower, air conditioning and TV. The stay was quiet, nice and completely hassle free.
They have a small bar, where I got (for free) some warm milk in the evening for my 2 years old child. Breakfast is nothing special (croissant, coffee, milk) but very cheap (you pay only what you actually take, we spent 5 € for 3 croissant and 2 coffees. We had a problem with our car in the morning, and the man at reception was helpful and very, very kind (and also very patient and sweet with the tired and getting-nervous children...). Surely this will be my place next time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serez1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    50
    71
    30
    33
See reviews for
43
92
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked a quadruple room for a family of four through Easy To Book for a one night stay before we flew home the next morning. It seems either the hotel never got the confirmation or just double booked. Either way our room was not available. To be fair they did their best to accommodate us in two doubles (not connecting or even next to each other) and reduced the rate to something approaching our original deal...not ideal having to have a child each in bed with us in seperate rooms on our last night in Tuscany though.
As for the hotel....looks modern enough and the reception area is ok. The rooms are a little tired to say the least though. One of our rooms (109) had very unreliable air conditioning (took an age to get it to work and then woken up in the middle of the night by loud clanking sound, so turned off)...2 of the 3 electrical sockets were hanging off the wall in a dangerous manner and the private bathroom down the corridor had a leaky toilet and a shower door that fell off with ease. The other bedroom (107) gave off a bad smell....think it was coming from the bathroom but cant be sure.
On the plus side, decent location for airport, station and Duomo/Leaning Tower within resonable walking distance. Staff were friendly enough and the complimentary beer for the mix up was most welcome on a 40 degree day!
In short...I'd book elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pisa hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I had an excellent week away in Italy in July & would recommend the Hotel Astor as an ideal place to stay. We spent seven nights there & we were very well looked after. Its location is very close to the town centre & only a couple of minutes walk to all the restaurants and shops. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful in giving advice on where to eat and places to visit & the wifi in the hotel was most helpful too. We would definitely recommend the Hotel Astor to anyone looking to stay in Pisa. Many thanks

Matt & Sarah, Belfast

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The hotel was ok. The cleanness should been better both in the sleeping room and at the bath/ shower. Service was ok. We had just little contakt, and that was ok. Just 10 minutes to walk to railway station. It was also easy to walk over the brigde and follow the streat to the tower, ca 10-15 min to walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anne210455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
713 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Comfortable central hotel easy walk from station and pleasant walk to the tower. Staff friendly and english speaking. Restaurants nearby, parking is ok in street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed only one night in this hotel and we found it very clean, with a nice bathroom. The room was equipped with mini LCD TV, hair drier, soaps, shower gels, telephone. They accepted out late arrival.
As drawbacks: bad view on the window, no free Wifi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george2210_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We booked directly through the hotel back in August for a one night stay in October, the booking was confirmed via email.

Upon arrival, the front desk staff told us that there was no room for us as they have got the date wrong (expecting us a day before we were due to arrive). However, the front desk staff was not sounding apologetic at all and was very rude to us, asking us to 'go stay somewhere else', he even had the door open asking us to leave!

I suspect they double booked themselves and was refusing to take any responsibilities. Definitely worst then terrible. BEWARE travellers, book somewhere else as this is a scam!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank globe_trotter_20112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal76s, Direttore at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Even if the book was made in the wrong day,we have placed clients in a hotel (3 stars, same property) at the same price!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#40 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#11 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#53 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#18 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel
Leonardo Hotel
#51 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amalfitana
Hotel Amalfitana
#28 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Property: Hotel Astor
Address: Via Alessandro Manzoni 22, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astor 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing