We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel near train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2009

i was only passing through pisa so i only stayed one night i wanted something easy to get to from the rail station, this had god reviews and is only five minutes walk so i booked it, its a small hotel in a side street not a pretty street but safe and convenient and there were two little italian restaurants just around the corner as you leave the hotel go right then first left and about 100 metres along the road on the right you will find them, ideal if like me you arrive late it was 10pm i entered and was fed good fare.The hotel is very clean its much nicer inside than what it looks from outside, the rooms are dark wooden furniture and dark colours typically italian, lovely furnishings a bit old fashioned but lovely and nice bathroom towels etc , if you need a snack between rail stn and hotel you will pass a little italian corner shop it sells fab bread cheese cold meats etc great for on the train.Breakfast in the hotel in my opinion was not very good ,no cooked food, just cereal and limited choice of rolls cooked meat and cheese and fruit juices from cartons.I would only recomend this hotel for a very short stay perhaps one night at most because of poor breakfast choice available.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alessandro della Spina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 975 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2009

Again booked this because of great comments from previous guests and we were not disappointed. The walk from Pisa train station is not the most picturesque - but the Hotel is an oasis. Very large rooms - very clean and decorated in a grand way. Staff extremely helpful. Hotel around 20min walk to the leaning tower but this was not a problem as you walk through the main streets of the old town to it. Only five minutes walk from train station. A good base!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suze057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Only stayed here one night, but it provided everything we needed. The rooms were a little small, but perfectly adequate. The location is a little way from the main tourist sites, but easily walkable.

Staff were helpful.

A good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We arrived well before the usual check-in time, because of flight schedules. We were warmly welcomed and allowed to leave our luggage. Later we were shown to a spotless and wonderfully comfortable room. It had everything we needed including a comfortable bed.
We were given a map of the city and helpful advise on where the sights, station etc. were located. We talked through possible days out and received accurate and helpful guidance.
Every member of the reception staff spoke good English and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. They helped to make our holiday in Tuscany a thoroughly enjoyable experience and we would warmly recommend them.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trogblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Tucked away not far from the Central Railway Station and very convenient for the Airport, this is an old house which has been cleverly converted into a quiet hotel with spacious marble lined corridors and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We really liked this hotel. If you are looking for a convenient location for a stop-over, a nice clean attractive room, nice breakfast and charming hosts then this is an excellent place to go. It is close to the station and yet you can walk into the city centre. There is also a lovely little restaurant nearby which was open late - Lo Schiaccianoce.
The public areas of the hotel and very tastefully decorated and clean. The room was freshly decorated with a very nice bed, attractive simple furniture and a nice big bathroom. There were a lot of rooms on the ground floor, not sure if there was another floor, but these rooms were quiet and spacious.
The breakfast was very good for this level of hotel in Italy with fresh coffee and a choice of cereal, simple breakfast cheese, brioches, jams etc. The service was very polite.
We are very experienced travellers in Italy for work and also lived in Italy for a long time and we thought this was a little gem for the price. Please don't be put off by people saying the area is a bit run down. It is in a set of typical Italian side streets and does not have the feel of a a run down station area. It is quite safe to walk around at night. It also has the advantage of not being in the touristy area of the city centre.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank StarrOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night before leaving Italy. Really convenient location to the train station. Short ride to Pisa airport and also a nice walk across the river towards the sights.
The rooms were roomy, nice but the air conditioner didn't seem to work that well. This is a perfect hotel for a stopover as recommended by other Tripadvisor travelers. Breakfast wasn't the greatest though. Not too many options as experienced in Rome, Florence and Cinque Terre. The staff was friendly, helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostonfoodie-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,885 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#6 of 68 in Pisa
417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: $67 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing