We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very useful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Only had one night here but would recommend it. We had large room just behind reception with large bathroom too. Good breakfast and plenty choice. Lady owner at Reception was so helpful with walking routes, dinner suggestions and travel to the airport. Pisa is lovely, busy at the tower, but laid back and relaxed away from the tower. It's very much a university city.
Hotel handy for station and within easy walking distance. Airport could be reached by bus but we got a taxi from the hotel.
Would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ValCart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alessandro della Spina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 974 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

As others have said, this is walking distance from the station - turn right out of the station, take the second road on the left and it's at the end of the road on the right. It's very clean and the rooms are fairly large with nice bathrooms. Decor is slightly old-fashioned and a bit quaint. The woman who usually serves breakfast and is sometimes on the desk is wonderful - very friendly and accommodating. We walked to the Tower quite slowly and it took about half an hour. Apart from round the tower Pisa is just like a normal Italian town and not too touristy. Breakfast here was very good and you can choose to eat inside or in the garden in nice weather.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ready4offagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We chose this hotel in Pisa to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and were very glad we did. It was within walking distance of everything so made getting around very easy. The room was very clean and spacious, our only problem being a small shower but not too much of a problem. The breakfast was good and there is a choice of eating inside or out in the garden which was nice as it was hot for the few days we were there. The staff and owners are very pleasant and helpful giving us a map of Pisa plus looking up train times for us on the internet and also recommending restaurants. If we went back to Pisa we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Austin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

4th time of staying at this Hotel and not disappointed again.
Warm friendly welcome and as always the room and Hotel was spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is buffet style but plenty of choices plus endless coffee or tea.
Hotels is ideally situated and only about 400 meters( walking distance) from the train station where the airport bus now stops . This takes 10 mins and only costs 1.30 euros if you buy the ticket at the information desk in the airport.
Lots of advice on offer at the Hotel for eating out and places to visit. Suggest Luca is a must and cost 14 euros return for 2. Journey takes about 25 mins.
We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevewarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Even dragging heavy cases, this hotel is easily reached on foot from the station. The bus to the airport goes from the end of the road.

There is something inner city, but unthreatening, about the approach to the hotel but as soon as you step inside you enter a different world. We were welcomed, given good advice about dining that evening and told where to go to catch a flight next day.

The room was large, quiet and immaculately clean. The bathroom was well equipped although the obese might find the shower a bit confining. The bed was comfortable. My only reservation was that the air-conditioning seemed inefficient and spasmodic.

Breakfast was served in a pleasant dining room, or you could sit outside. We were greeted cheerfully. There was a buffet with a very pleasant range of comestibles.

We were only staying one night, in transit, but we liked the hotel, its clean comfortable accommodation, its friendliness and the outstanding convenience of its position.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viaggiatoreinglese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The good points: an excellent welcome from a very friendly and helpful receptionist, the rooms were spacious and clean, breakfast very nice and the location excellent for the railway and bus stations (and hence the airport), good value. The disappointments: we arrived late afternoon and wanted a short rest before going out to explore Pisa, but it was very noisy with drilling (I guess a temporary problem) and dogs barking outside (more permanent?) though when we returned from our walk and meal it was quiet and we had no problem sleeping. Also the bar had a limited choice of drinks. Overall I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skyraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The smell of the room was musty and moldy. It was very clean, but old outdated everything. I wouldn't mind any of that but the mattress was horrendous. Soft with springs feeling as if they would poke through at any minute. The mattress must've been 10 years old along with the bed covering. Ugh. I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunsun2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,884 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#6 of 68 in Pisa
417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: $65 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing