We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Hucknall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

A lovely little hotel in close proximity to the station, shops and various eateries. We stayed in a triple room (three single beds) for one night. A very comfortable stay indeed, wish we could have stayed a little longer. Our room was very spacious with a large bathroom and balcony which overlooked a small breakfast courtyard downstairs. Very helpful and friendly staff too...many thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bunnylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    388
    81
    15
    11
See reviews for
119
513
32
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

As usual, we used TA to review where we would stay and plumped for Allesandro della spina. We stayed in Pisa for 7 nights and although after 24 hours we wondered if this was a mistake - it wasn't! Granted, not a whole bunch of stuff in Pisa except lots and lots of lovely Piazzas, cafes and restaurants. We were there early August and it was hot, 38-43 C dropping to maybe 25 at night, well by 0400 next morning. We intended to do a day trip to Florence and Siena but after going to Lucca decided it was too hot and we would do those another time. We went to Lucca twice and obviously the tower. Lucca is 20 mins by train and about €6.50 return per person. The old town is just a 5 minute walk. It is great ill do another review for that. We went out in Pisa in the morning walked about, shopped, ice creams and visited cafes, ending up at Borsa in square up from station. Back to Allesandro for siesta and back out in the evening. The hotel is B&B and breakfast in the courtyard was fine. Angela and Pio are lovely and extremely helpful. Wifi fine and as I don't do Facebook just asked for a pw. No problem and provided at reception. Air con leaked/dripped one night and we told reception. A man came out and fixed in the afternoon. It was a Saturday. We had no problems at all, shower fine, air con fine, food fine, room and bathroom very clean. All in all a great experience, thank you Angela and Pio.

One last think, do NOT go to cafe Gambrinas - it is a real rip off place on their charging. No prices displayed which should be a warning. Look elsewhere on TA for those reviews. There are lots all very bad. Be warned, don't go there. It is near station.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gardaconvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I highly commend this hotel to all; young, old & in between! Angela, her husband (in fact all the hosts we encountered at hotel Alessandro) are warmly, cheerfully friendly, so welcoming - the hotel itself most comfortably hospitable, picturesque, breakfast in the garden a daily delight, great value, perfect location for both exploring Pisa by foot and the region by train (as 2 minutes walk from the central station), quiet, clean - perfect. Thank you to all involved, sincere best wishes, Catherine

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catherinecrudgington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel a few years ago, and thought it was nice, so I booked two rooms for three nights. The hotel is very convenient to the train station.

I'm not a fan of silk flowers, but the common areas are otherwise tastefully decorated. Our room was fine. We had a small patio, and the French doors to the patio and window in the bath let in lots of light. The room that our family friend and daughter shared was not too great. When you first entered the room there was a huge (~3 x 4 foot) stain on the hardwood floor. It definitely affected the attractiveness of the room. The one window was small, and overlooked the parking lot.

When the ladies took their showers, they discovered the reason the floor was ruined. The shower leaked profusely no matter how hard they tried to adjust the shower-head to make things better. This was stressful, and then after their showers, they had to spend quite a lot of time mopping up the floor. Obviously, because of the location of the ruined floor (just outside the bathroom), the shower has been broken for some time. They charged the same for both rooms, which seems quite unfair. When I mentioned that the shower leaks terribly, a staff member said, "Oh, we'll fix it", as if he was unaware.

Breakfast is served in a lovely courtyard. The coffee is great, and the breakfast is very good, with one exception: canned fruit. This is the only hotel in Italy during our 16 nights that didn't serve fresh fruit.

My next complaint is for TripAdvisor. They show various booking places with price comparisons for hotels, which is great. This hotel's web-site says breakfast is included. When we stayed here before, breakfast was included. But when we checked in, they asked if we were going to have breakfast, and told us there was a 7.50 euro fee. Sure enough, in very small print, at the bottom of my Booking.com receipt, it says there is a charge for breakfast.

I think to fairly compare the different booking sites, it should be apples to apples, not apples to oranges. If two of the sites show the price per room with breakfast, then the other site should also show the price with breakfast. Booking.com showed that parking was available, but said for a fee. It didn't say anywhere that I saw that there would be a fee for breakfast. For 4 people, for 3 nights, it is a 90 euro difference.

Room Tip: unless you like very flat pillows, ask for an extra pillow. two would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffcoCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on recent trip to Tuscany. In total 4 nights. This is the best small hotel I have stayed at. Rooms are good size, very clean and both rooms used had air-conditioning. This is a must when you stay in Italy in July. Angela and her husband are so helpful and friendly and the next time I fly to Pisa I will definitely be booking into the Allessandro. The hotel is a short 5-10 minute drive from the airport. Close to the railway station in walking distance approximately 10 minutes stroll. Excellent breakfast. Terms bed and breakfast, no restaurant however Angela was able to recommend restaurants close by where food excellent. which were superb. Galileo and Osteria Bernardo (well worth the visit) Book this one with confidence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSM661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for one night to take in the famous Leaning Tower. You only need a half a day to do this really, so a hotel near the station was ideal. The station is very convenient for Pisa airport also, only a 5 minute trip.

The room was fine, comfortable and relaxing with free wifi and air conditioning. As others have said the wi-fi access procedure was a bit weird, but got there with a little help from reception supplying a password (perhaps this should be given out at check-in?)

But no complaints - staff very friendly, English-speaking and professional. We had a lovely breakfast in the hotel garden - really lovely for our last morning in Italy. Many thanks :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaynorthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Less than 5 mins from the main railway station is this delightful hotel. Very friendly staff. Very nice breakfast of cereals, croissants, cakes, fresh fruit, cheese, salami, yogurts and an assortment of hot and cold beverages. Lovely little patio to enjoy breakfast too. We had a spacious triple bedded room which was very clean and comfortable. Modern, large shower room with plenty of fresh towels. Could have walked back to the station to catch the bus to the airport but the hotel offered a shuttle service @ €4.50 pp which was very convenient if a little pricey for the 5 min journey to drive 1.5 km but I don't know if the hotel set that price or the taxi company did. Either way it got us there in a jiffy right outside the departures entrance. One thing I would say was that the air conditioning unit in the bedroom would not go any lower than 19 degrees which for myself and my family was a little too warm to sleep well. But apart from that I would wholeheartedly recommend this cute hotel to all.

Room Tip: No tips just ask for what you need when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#13 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Property: Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing