We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming Hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Stanford Le Hope
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Welcoming Hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great base from which to explore Pisa and surrounding area. 5 minute walk from the Pisa Centrale train station and a 10 minute (€12) taxi ride from the airport. The hotel was small, spotless and welcoming. The staff were very helpful and speak English! Breakfast was continental. Great restaurant 5 minutes walk away (Lo Schiaccianoci - see my review there). Room adequate size, decent shower. Perfect for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    407
    83
    17
    12
See reviews for
124
541
33
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nearby
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel is in the city, a good half hour walk from the famous tower. The area is really ugly (like most of the city) but the hotel is ok, our room was rather big and sufficiently clean, certainly not elegant. All staff were very friendly and available. Poor breakfast, mainly convenience food. If you have a car sleep in Lucca, which is relatively close and much nicer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waggadouggou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We picked this hotel as it was an easy walk from the train station and the main attractions are still reachable by a comfortable 15-20min stroll. The people at the front desk were so lovely. They provided a map and comprehensive walking directions and other advice. I was a bit worried about the neighbourhood but the restaurants around the place were brilliant little Italian places with charm. The breakfast the next morning was superb. The lovely lady (I can't remember her name!) was so amazing and made us hot chocolate which was delightful. We only stayed for 1 night but I wish we stayed longer. The rooms were large and spacious and the beds comfortable. Such a great hotel!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireMcNeilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located near the train station and the airport. The historic section of the city and the Tower are only 20 minutes away by foot. The owners of the hotel couldn't have been more helpful. They made dinner reservations for us, looked up train schedules, etc. Anything we asked for, they helped us with. The breakfasts were substantial and tasty. A big plus for us was the absence of tourists in the neighborhood. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusty1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
430 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We chose this hotel mainly for its proximity to the railway station but the superb staff made the stay exceptional. The owners can’t do enough for you and are very caring and professional in what they do. They have time for a friendly chat over breakfast and are happy to assist you with your plans.
We had a safe in the room with no charge for its use and a mini-bar which you will certainly be charged for! Wi-Fi is freely available but you are prompted to log in through your preferred social networking site, not fancying that I got a username and password from reception to use in the conventional manner with no problems. Rooms 106 & 107 are at the end of the passage away from the stairs and lift so are quiet. Dogs barking from adjacent residential housing can be a problem though. We arrived early, hours before our room was ready but were able to check-in and leave our bag behind the reception desk.
The location isn’t in the smartest area of the city but is within five minutes walk of the train station down a tatty looking but safe street and about 20 minutes walk from the leaning tower etc. Groups of young people drinking in the street appears to fairly widespread in Italy and experiences at home may make you a little apprehensive but don’t be too put off if you encounter them here; we had no problems at all. Crossing roads is quite something, it appears to be a battle of wits between pedestrians and road users regardless of who might have the right of way at the time. I'm sure that there are rules but we didn't work them out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WirralTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night and it was brilliant. Although the location of this hotel seemed a bit seedy it was in fact in an area with a few good restaurants near by, close to the station (less than 10 min walk with cases) and convenient for shopping and the tower. The staff were superb helping us with walking maps and restaurant recommendation. The room itself was clean and spacious. We had a really nice breakfast on the terrace outside. The only traffic noise we heard was during the morning rush hour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony1Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location of this hotel seemed a bit seedy to us.(but convenient to shopping, tower, and airport.) However, the staff was superb - helping us with walking maps and transportation to the airport. The room itself was clean and spacious, and the bathroom was fabulous by Italian standards!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunedin34698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Property: Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing