We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hidden treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is off the beaten track, but close to the train station and airport. The staff was excellent.
The room was average in size and the bathroom was large and clean. From the location of the hotel you can take a liesurely walk to the leaning tower in less than 30 minutes. The walk take you through the shopping district including the central market. I would recommend this hotel if you plan to spend one or two nights in Pisa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    371
    76
    15
    11
See reviews for
117
490
31
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Exceptionally friendly staff, we were there for three nights and they gave us recommendations for three excellent restaurants. Located off the main road the hotel was relaxing place to stay. The centre of Pisa is easy walking distance away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is charming. It it spotlessly clean and the owners couldn't do enough for us. Our room was quite small with a large bathroom. Shower was good and everything kept clean and shining. Our only poor mark is for the hand towels - they were more like table napkins and not at all absorbent! Hair drying was a challenge, especially with long hair! Suggest the hotel considers changing these for proper towels! Location was not bad - near to the station but a 15 min walk from the historic area. The area around the hotel was a bit run down but we did find one nice restaurant about 3-4 minutes walk away. Would certainly recommend the hotel to others for a short break in Pisa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Pisabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

For several years we have flown out of Pisa on Ryanair and since the flights always seemed to leave before 7AM,we have tried several hotels to stay the night before. This time we stayed at Alessandr della Spina and found it to be just what we had been looking for. It is within walking distance of the train station,with 24hr shuttle available to the airport and 24hr desk service. It is a short walk to the Corso Italia,the main shopping street in Pisa and from there an easy walk to the Campo and the Torre. The rooms are clean and the service excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkck1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

A lovely hotel easy to find from the station - you can walk in 5 - 10 minutes - go out of the station straight across and up to the first roundabout - turn right along the Viale Fransesco Bonaini and then its the 4th turning on the right - Via Della Spina and the hotel is right in front of you.You can walk back and get a train to the airport - one stop - or take a shuttle from the hotel 13E for 2 people with luggage - or a taxi about 10E. The staff are friendly and speak good English and the public areas very well furnished and comfortable. We had a twin room at the back of the hotel which was spacious and comfortable and included air conditioning, hairdryer, toiletries and mini bar at a reasonable price.Very clean and spacious bathroom with good shower. Plentiful and tasty breakfast selection in the bright dining room. Only two things stopped it from getting five stars; the wifi in the public areas did not work unless you used facebook/twitter/linkedin/or yahoo personal accounts to login and the coffee was very weak and disappointingly for Italy not freshly ground or made with a machine but tasted like instant or filter in a pot.Overall though I would return as the positives definitely outweight the negatives. You can walk easily to the leaning tower and the cathedral and it takes about 20 - 25 minutes but is a lovely stroll through the town and over the river.

Room Tip: at the back - the front faces the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLilian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carvoeiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

After a lot of trawling around trip advisor etc we elected to stay at this Hotel for 5 nights and to make our base for our first trip to Tuscany in Pisa. The Hotel is more a B&B - very clean and comfortable rooms and very quiet. Breakfast is limited but enough to get you started for the day. No real Bar area in the evening which would have been welcome after a day of being the tourist. TV is only Italian - which even for the Italians is not good! Close to the rail and Bus stations to explore further afield and we found the train very easy to visit Lucca, Livorno and Florence. WiFi as reported in many reviews is a bit fiddly as you log in via facebook! Note for first time users that I could not get logged on at the start - then switched my mobile phone to roaming to find that I had an email from facebook telling me that my account was being accessed from a "strange" location and I would need to confirm all is ok via a link in the email! Once over this glitch, it worked fine for the rest of our stay allowing Skype, facetime etc. Getting back to the hotel, beds very comfortable and linen very crisp and clean. Windows shut out all noise from outside and also have electric shutters which you can close for blocking out all light and ensuring privacy. You can hear your neighbours in the next room but that was not too loud nor a problem. Bathroom works well - good shower.

The front desk staff were courteous and very friendly. They can recommend good restaurants, provide tourist maps etc and advice about travel by bus or rail. On the map the Hotel looks a long way from the hot spots for tourists but in reality it is no more than an easy 15 minute walk from the Leaning Tower and there are many things to look at on the way. They also have a shuttle (you have to pay) between Hotel and Airport and on check out they kindly let us leave our bags at the hotel as we had a late evening flight.

If you expect the facilities of a multi national hotel chain then this hotel is not for you - however, if you want a clean conformable hotel where the staff treat you like a welcome guest then you should consider this Hotel. Would we stay again? Simple answer is Yes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirsjr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a really pleasant surprise as we arrived at night and thought the area was a little unpleasant but once in the hotel we realised we had made a good choice. The staff were really friendly and we had a large room on the ground floor. One problem we had was with the WiFi which you had to access through Facebook which seemed a bit risky so we didn't use it which was a shame. The room was clean and tidy with everything you need. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice cereals, fruits, breads, juice and of course coffee. We walked from the hotel to all the main attractions and the train and bus stations. A good place to stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#6 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#10 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#20 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Property: Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing