We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It is average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“It is average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Three stars as it is a three star hotel and it certainly feels like one. My parter booked it as a romantic getaway as that is what the pictures and reviews suggested. Sadly, it is not the case. Our room was very bare, had lots of dust on various objects and it felt so dusty that I had to keep the window open, despite winter. Lamp shades were stained, the view of the broken wall opposite the room was sad and so were the plastic flowers in the corner of the room. To be fair, tha staff was lovely, breakfast was decent and the location, right next to the train station is good. It is an OK hotel and if you need a quick stopover, it might be handy. Just do not expect a luxurious villa/old romantic mansion and you will be fine. I just need something cleaner and prettier for the price I am paying.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeon_Flux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    366
    74
    15
    11
See reviews for
115
482
31
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel was ideal for us. Staff were really friendly and looked after our bags after checkout (we had a later flight). Decent breakfast selection. Hotel and rooms were fairly modern and clean. We walked from the airport to this hotel in about 10-15 minutes. Train station is under 5 minutes walk away. The leaning tower is about 20-25 minutes walk away. Our only issue was that the double bed was 2 singles pushed together on a slippy floor, so I nearly fell down the gap a couple of times. It's a minor issue however and I'd happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frampton Cotterell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a fantastic find this little hotel was.
When I booked the hotel it was number 4 in Pisa, now number 1 and well deserved.
Rooms spacious, staff very friendly, breakfast excellent.
The hotel and rooms were very clean.
Great experience you won't be disappointed!!!!!
what more can I say.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milfordboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

By far the friendliest hotel staff we've meet on our trip around Italy, clean hotel with a homey feel, room and toilet are spacey, clean, well equipped and everything is functional. Make this hotel your only pick if you are visiting Pisa

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is our first time at this hotel and it was a brilliant experience all the staff were very friendly but a special note has to be made to Angela and Pio they exceeded expectations the room was spacious clean the bed was comfortable the breakfast was just right to get you going for the day the location was good close to airport ,train station its a great hotel for visiting the city by walking and also a good base for going further afield if you go to Pisa this should be the first hotel you look at to book

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoksies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This if the first time we have stayed with Angela and Pio in the winter, our previous visits have been in July - they have a wonderful hotel at any time of year. Our only complaint - we only stayed for 9 nights. Once again our thanks to a lovely couple and their excellent, friendly staff, we look forward to returning. xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IlDucaStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A lovely discovery in Pisa center - near the airport (5 min by car) and the train station (10 min by foot).
For the price (we paid 60 eur for 2 people, including breakfast, Wifi in the room), it's a deal! We stayed at 4* hotels in Florence and Rome that were very poor compared to this luxury 3 *.

Rooms and bathroom are very large, well furnished, well equiped. Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: If possible, don't take the 101, or 102... room. They are on the side of the street, and there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aude g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,334 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#6 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#13 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Property: Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing