We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A lovely discovery in Pisa center - near the airport (5 min by car) and the train station (10 min by foot).
For the price (we paid 60 eur for 2 people, including breakfast, Wifi in the room), it's a deal! We stayed at 4* hotels in Florence and Rome that were very poor compared to this luxury 3 *.

Rooms and bathroom are very large, well furnished, well equiped. Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: If possible, don't take the 101, or 102... room. They are on the side of the street, and there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aude g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 993 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable and is a very short taxi ride from the airport. We stayed in one of the junior suites, which was lovely and very spacious. As it was January Pisa was very quiet but the windows in the room seamed as if they would let in quite a bit of street noise in more busier periods but this was probably the only down side. The staff were friendly and helpful in pointing out directions to the tower and recommending places to eat. Overall very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel ticks many boxes - clean, stylish interior, lovely breakfast with excellent espresso, good locale etc etc but it is the staff who make a place.
Yes they all spoke good English and no they didn't cringe at my hideous attempts at Italian but it is rare to find people in city establishments who truly care about your experience.
I stayed a second time on my return trip and was not disappointed.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: mine was the only single room (I think) but ample size, large bathroom and was well furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

A clean hotel, very handy for Pisa station, and only 5 mins to heart of town, 20 mins to tower. Decent room. Very helpful staff/proprietor who cheerfully spoke excellent English. Frustrating intermittent wi-fi. Free but needed repeated logins.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GriffOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I decided to book this hotel after reading many positive feedback on TripAdvisor, however my experience was quite disappointing. The guy at the check in desk was quite rude during the entire check-in process. We arrived late at night (we informed the hotel before) and I have got the feeling he was not happy to wait for that (I guess he wanted to sleep ?). I do not mention his face (and comments ... and I speak Italian) when we asked to have some tea in our room (which never arrived despite he said "Yes"). We have been given the room 113 (ground floor)
which unfortunately had a disturbing musty smell so I asked to change it and the guy at the reception threateningly said he would charge double if we have used anything from room 113. I explained him that we had just opened the door and checked the room and we did not touched anything. Eventually he gave us a new room (number 115) but again there it was the musty smell ! At this point I did not wanted to argue anymore and I went to bed. The room was not in a good shape and it was not very clean either : stained walls, damaged parquet, dust on the TV screen and lamps, etc. Moreover it was cold and humid and the aircon was not heating the room properly The bed was made by 2 single beds joint together with a gap in the middle that was widening as we slept. So the overall sleep experience was not something I would like to repeat.

CAUTION --> My girlfriend forgot her diamond ear rings on the bed side table when we left ... and guess what ? When we called the next day there was no trace of them ...

I will not come back here again and I do not suggest this hotel !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ZippoRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Wonderful hotel in close walking distance of the train station and the sites of Pisa. A short easy 15 minute walk to the tower and super close to shopping, restaurants, and other attractions. Room was clean, large, and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. There's also a decent breakfast buffet included with the room. An excellent value and also makes a good base to explore this area of Tuscany during day trips (for instance we took the train for the day to go to the Truffle Festival in San Miniato).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have read some of the 'average' reviews written here, and it seems that people forget how little they are paying to stay at a clean, comfortable, convenient location in one of the mst popular cities in Europe. We were delighted to find this hotel on Tripadvisor. If, however, you are expecting total silence, sumptuosly comfortable beds and a stunning view, you should check in to a 4 star or 5 star hotel and pay more than double the money. You simply will not find better value for money (probably anywhere in italy) than Hotel Alessandro della Spina. Our bed was not especially comfortable, and we could hear people moving around in the room above us, but I am still giving this hotel 5 stars. The lady at the desk is a gem!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#8 of 68 in Pisa
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#5 of 68 in Pisa
450 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,812 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: $57 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing