We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly and Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly and Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We flew into Pisa and stayed one night prior to traveling to Cinque Terre in June. The Hotel Alessandro della Spina was perfect for us. We arrived rather late, but the man at the desk was warm and friendly. He checked us in quickly, and helped direct us to a nearby cafe for a late snack.

The hotel is older (like most everything in Italy!), but perfectly clean and very, very comfortable. One of the reasons we picked this hotel was because it had air conditioning, and we were glad we had the option.

The breakfast buffet had a lot of variety, and was quite lovely and tasty. Also - if the weather is nice, you can sit outside on the very pretty patio. It is a wonderful way to start the day!

The hotel was also extremely convenient to the train station, which was helpful. Although we only stayed one night, I could easily recommend it for more than that. It was also quite a good value.

We didn't visit the leaning tower on this trip, but have been there before and its actually quite worthwhile! Definitely go to the ticket counter when you first arrive so you can get the next available ticket to walk up the tower. On busy days it can be an hour or two before a ticket is available. There are other things to see while you wait like the Baptistery, Il Duomo and a really interesting "cemetary". It is inside of an old partially restored building with some beautiful sarcophogi...our 12 year old daughter absolutely loved touring around and seeing the various images and stories portrayed on them.

All in all, Pisa is worth a short visit and this hotel is a great option while you are there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    358
    70
    15
    11
See reviews for
108
476
30
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here recently, check in lady was very business like but friendly, the room was nothing too exciting but spotlessly clean with mini bar. Remember to put on a.c or otherwise you will be too hot. The one thing that put me off this place is they have so many signs up reminding people to post their reviews to Facebook or other social media networks, just felt this was a bit over the top craving reviews, I saw signs everywhere I turned.this was the only place I have stayed that has done this. They kindly arranged a taxi for life to airport ,we were told this would be about 9 Euro but he charged us 17.45, nothing to do with the hotel but just to be aware when booking taxi.very close to train station

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Foodietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We chose this hotel as it was top of trip advisor's list and also for location and close proximity to airport/railway station.

We agree with all other reviews on trip advisor and can see why it is at the top of the list. We had a lovely room with a large ensuite. Beautifully clean and we had a good night sleep, very quiet with shutters at the windows.

The owners made us very very welcome even though we were only there for one night. We hadt breakfast outside in the sun which again was excellent.

The owners gave us advice and directions for the next part of our journey and looked after our cases whilst we visited the sights of Pisa.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again if we return to Pisa. We are so glad we did not travel straight to Florence from the airport particularly as we had a late evening flight. We arrived within 10 minutes by taxi from the airport and felt very refreshed the next morning ready for the next leg of our short break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimble59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ideally placed very close to the bus and train station from the airport, yet just a short walk from the centre of town. The hotel is smart, well fitted and very well run. We had a lovely room with excellent en-suite, and a first rate breakfast. The staff were charming, helpful and very obliging. We were able to leave our luggage until the afternoon. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArteEtMarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very close to the train station. We chose it for the location. The room was basic with a nice bathroom and the room was very clean.. The room was a good size. The owners were awesome - couldn't do enough for you - helpful, friendly - just really really nice. The breakfast was lovely. The leaning tower of pisa was 30 minute walk and the airport was a 30 minute walk. Amazingly enough we walked to the airport to catch our plane. The breakfast area was great - had a nice outside area to eat as well as inside. Would recommend this hotel. Although the area that it is in is a little old we never felt unsafe. We definitely had no complaints and would stay there again. Enjoyed Pisa. .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during our trip to Pisa. Lovely spacious room, very clean, very friendly staff. Breakfast was fairly basic (pastries, cereal, juices, breads etc) but very nice and we enjoyed sitting outside to enjoy each morning.

Would recommend this hotel.

Given our choice again however we wouldn't stay in Pisa, which as a place we thought was very grubby and run down. We were surprised and disappointed and after a day tip to Florence, wished we were staying there instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannajmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Slightly put off as the quickest walking route from the station has a slightly seedy air (we chose a better route after that) but the hotel itself is nice and the area wasn't as bad as first impressions in the dark.
There isn't a restaurant but the staff were really helpful and able to recommend a nearby local place that was excellent, really busy with locals and cheap (will review it too if I can find the card). They were also good about giving directions etc.
The room was spacious with a decent shower and sofa and the public areas were nice too, with a bit of character.
The coffee was the worst in our whole trip - no flavour at all - a bit like starbucks - but the rest of the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#10 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#13 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Property: Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing