We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first impression”
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Minerva
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed June 11, 2014

As soon as we entered the hotel my husband and I were greeted by a young male who was very friendly and spoke excellent English. There is no elevator but the receptionist helped carry our bags. He also gave us a map explaining the local attractions and good places to eat. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank May9514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 209 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

Many hotels in Pisa close early and our original choice was one of those. We found this one at 12 AM. Clean but small rooms and uncomfortable beds. They did offer a continental breakfast however for the overall price that was still a stretch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REMYdaYUCCAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

What this hotel lacks in terms of class, it makes up in the friendliness of its extremely helpful staff.
I stayed for five nights here at a recent conference. I think it is probably a family-run business. Mother and son could not have been more helpful. It is fairly central and within easy walking distance to the centre of the old town, the station and the conference centre.
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is probably the worst budget hotel I have ever stayed in. Check-in was an indifferent affair. The desk clerk was more interested in his computer emails than checking us in. There is a mouldy smell as soon as one enters the upstairs area. The room was shabby and unappealing. We asked for a taxi to be ordered for Pisa airport on Saturday night when we arrived, for the next day, Sunday, and were assured this would be done. It was a hair-raising half hour prior to our checkout the next day when we learned that Rita had not done this. More exasperating was that her excuse involved it being a Sunday, and cab drivers were hard to find. There was much rolling of the eyes and melodramatic sighs as we asked her to keep phoning different cab companies to fulfill this undertaking that she had promised to do the night before. All in all, I would never contemplate another stay here. The 100 dollars I paid could have been better spent elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you like mouldy smells and shabbiness, they are probably all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrissy486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just outside the historic centre but a pleasant five minute walk there. Room not huge but sufficient. Spotlessly clean. Bed comfortable. Staff friendly and very accommodating. Very good price. Nothing outstanding but I recommend it highly

Room Tip: Ask for one with view on the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank niul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I spent a week here (attending a conference), and was very satisfied. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the staff were outstandingly friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was quite good (although I would have preferred fresh fruit, rather than the canned fruit they served). The location is great--it's an easy walk to the train station, to the river, and to most parts of the city. The bed was firm and comfortable, and the air conditioning was fine (it was very hot humid, during most of the week I was there).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelminervapisa, Proprietario at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014
Google Translation

Siamo lieti che sia stato bene nel nostro albergo e la ringraziamo per il giudizio così positivo.
Promesso,la prossima estate solo frutta fresca.Torni a trovarci!
Rita Paciello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Minerva for three nights. Double room of good size, very clean and comfortable. We asked for a room with balcony, with windows facing the garden and not the street. Although it was unavailable for the first night, we were able to transfer for the rest of the stay. The staff at the reception very friendly and helpful with absolutely every question we had.


The only thing that could be improved was breakfast. There was almost only sweet food, but I guess that's the Italian way, so it was not really an issue. The coffee was nice and freshly made for us every morning, which was great!

Would definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelminervapisa, Proprietario at Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

We are pleased that you have enjoyed time in our hotel.The warm welcome is spontaneus for kind guests!!!Thank you very much and we hope tosee you again.
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#41 of 68 in Pisa
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terminus & Plaza
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Hotel Villa Kinzica
#24 of 68 in Pisa
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Francesco
Hotel Francesco
#26 of 68 in Pisa
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel
Leonardo Hotel
#54 of 68 in Pisa
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Toniolo 20, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range: $48 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing