We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for transport links”
Review of Hotel La Pace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Pace
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good location for transport links”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from a weekend during the new year celebrations (Pisa celebrates New Year on March 25th so it is now 2014, visit around this date to see the new years celebration with parades and fireworks on the river). So to the hotel , situated near the train station this is it's main attraction.
Reception are helpful and friendly and are a credit to the hotel, breakfast is very good with a good selection available. The main let down is the room which looked old and tired and has a bathroom which looks and feels like from yester year. as we only used the hotel as a base to sleep it didn't matter too much but to be honest we came away feeling not sure about the experience we had just had as the good points were cancelled out by the bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    636
    401
    114
    73
See reviews for
272
691
141
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, MIchigan
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel - right across from the train station in Pisa. It took about 10 minutes for us to walk to the piazza where the Tower of Pisa is located, and it was a pleasant experience too. You cross the scenic river and go by the University. Our triple room was actually two rooms with a HUGE bathtub in the bathroom. We all enjoyed that after days of sightseeing. The staff were welcoming and helpful, and the wireless internet connection was great. (In some other hotels, it was slow, but this one was perfect for FaceTime and other applications.) This hotel is also close to the shopping area, which was a pedestrian-only street - quite pleasant if you ignore the many, many people trying to sell you an umbrella. Breakfast was plentiful and diverse. We enjoyed trying different types of coffee from the machine - and they were actually tasty. The only negative was that one of the beds was rock hard! Other than that, it was a perfectly pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristiB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We only stayed one night in Pisa. The hotel is right next to the train station. It is a 15 min walk to the Leaning Tower of Pisa. The room was really hot and there is no way to adjust the temperature. We slept with the window open and that was good. You can't hear the trains, even though you are so close to the train station. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Large selection and everything tasted good. The room and bathroom was large. The bed was two twin beds put together, which we found was very common in Italy. The bed was hard, but that is also very common in Italy. The room was clean. The bathroom has seen better days. The tub/shower looked dirty, but I am thinking it was just old and stained. The shower was either hot or cold, no in between. My only real complaint is the tank for the toilet was hanging on the wall above the toilet and when you flushed it took like 10 minutes to fill up, which would not be a problem except it dripped and was very loud. We only paid 58 US dollars, so I really can't complain. It was an excellent hotel for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schellenberg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Last time we stayed near the Tower but we chose La Pace because of proximity to railway station. Wonderful friendly staff, could nt do enough for us. Had their shuttle service to meet us from airport which was great. Made our own way back, by bus, as shuttle bus broken down. No problem though as bus next to train station
Room quite old-fashioned but clean.Bathroom was modern. Breakfast pretty good. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubylito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel La Pace has helpful and friendly staff. We were given a warm greeting and were even walked outside the hotel and directed to where we could park our vehicle (the hotel provides a nice covered parking garage for those who reserve it + a small daily fee). Our room was plenty big for our family of four and the bathroom was newly remodeled--including a large rain shower and double sinks. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast (which is included in your stay) is exceptional--there are few hotels that offer such a large breakfast in Europe. Hot eggs and meat, several variety of fruits and breads, a coffee machine which makes several different types of brews (inc. hot chocolate for the kids) juices, teas, homemade jellies . . . we were delighted. The hotel was easy for us to find (we drove from Rome), although the entrance is in a side alley--but it is well-lit and easy to maneuver and we didn't find it off-putting in the least, and we travel with children. The hotel is just 40 meters from the train station, which we used to get to Florence, and the Leaning Tower of Pisa is an easy 25 minute stroll from the hotel. We were provided a free map when we checked in, and much of the staff speak fluent English. The room decor is older--but we weren't there to stare at our hotel room! It was very clean, and as stated, the bathroom was super--and I don't think I've mentioned the huge balcony we had off the master bedroom (we had a two room suite). I would highly recommend staying at Hotel La Pace if you plan to overnight in Pisa.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 540--two rooms, sleeps four, large balcony, excellent bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blessedfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This quaint hotel has a very warm and friendly staff ready to answer your questions. The rooms are clean, nothing elaborate, but the plumbing worked. The room I was in was very cold, though, so check the radiators before selecting a room.
The breakfast buffet is pretty good....the dinner food is pretty marginal, the worst offender is the "Tuscan Soup" they have on the menu. I think it was made with dish water.
Service is minimal, but that's the way it is in most places these days.
There was one luggage guy there that was sooo nice- he carried my luggage to the station in the cold rain. He got a nice tip.

Room Tip: Elevators are slow, try to get a lower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Just what you need from a three star hotel great location next to the train station
Staff where very helpfull in giving advice on places to visit.
I woud recommened to everyone as pisa is small and every where is in walking distance just a couple of street hawkers if i have to be picky but you will get use to them quickly













  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eli228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#8 of 68 in Pisa
1,811 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#10 of 68 in Pisa
411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pace

Property: Hotel La Pace
Address: Galleria Antonio Gramsci B 14, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
#3 Family Hotel in Pisa
#6 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pace 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La pace is a family run Hotellocated just in front of the railway station of "Pisa Centrale" where you can find also the Bus Station.Pisaairport is reachable by taxi, city bus, HotelShuttle Bus in 5 minutes.You can reach teh leaning Tower in 15/20 minutes walking across the city center.We do offer 63 rooms with bathroom, telephone, Tv sat, SKY, air conditioning, heater and FREE wireless internet connection powered by Cisco routers.Our is not aluxury hotel but we try to make your stay unique and memorable with our welcoming staff and our Buffet breakfast served every day from 7 to 10.L'albergo La pace e un Hotel a conduzione familiare, situato davanti alla Stazione ferroviaria di Pisa centrale, dove si trova anche la stazione dei Bus per il centro.L'aeroporto e raggiungibile in taxi, autobus, Navetta dell'Hotel in soli 5 minuti.Camminando non piu di 15/20 minuti e possibile raggiungere Piazza dei Miracoli dove si trova la famosa Torre pendente.Tutte le camere sono dotate di telefono, Tv sat, SKY, aria condizionata, riscaldamento e connessione internet wireless GRATUITA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pace Pisa
La Pace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing