We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IDEAL AS A BASE FOR VISITING PISA AND ENVIRONS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Pace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Pace
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
gozo
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“IDEAL AS A BASE FOR VISITING PISA AND ENVIRONS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights ( we were in Pisa for the Pisa Half Marathon ). In our case we had a double room with ensuite ( no. 320 ) and it was excellent in all respects. Kept clean and serviced daily, the room was sufficiently spacious with all expected creature comforts for this grade of hotel.

The hotel management was very accomodating in several respects - it sent us a shuttle bus to meet us at the airport late on saturday evening when we arrived and take us to the hotel ( for a very minimal charge ) and on Sunday morning allowed us to have an early breakfast since the race started at 9 AM; on our last day it kept our luggage in a secure place after we checked out, to allow us to visit Lucca and collect on return.

The breakfast proved a revelation. No simple Continental fare here but the Full Monty - cereals, yoghurts, cakes and scones, toast, eggs, etc. Pity I had to hold back on Sunday due to the race but I more than made up for it on the subsequent two days!

And the price? 50 euros per night! I know where I shall be staying every time I visit Pisa.

Room Tip: We had a double room in the third floor and everything was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hull12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    594
    380
    109
    71
See reviews for
256
650
131
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We liked this hotel. My husband and I stayed here as part of our anniversary interrailing trip for 2 nights. It was very well located next to the train station.

The hotel is good because the staff are excellent, it is clearly a work of love and it is completely unique. The hotel is filled with art-somebody's lifeswork. Please note that it is retro and the bathrooms and bedrooms are old-fashioned. The old-fashioned bathroom was a bit much for me but I thought the bedroom was charming.

The breakfast buffet was great.

It was a bargain too.

The staff drew us a map of how to get to the tower and you could book tours of it though them (24hours beforehand, which apparenty is the rule for the tower). They sold postcards etc. in the recepton.

The town of Pisa I was not keen on, for us it was too hot and too many very pushy looky men (they weren't cleared out of pavement cafe areas and targeted parents way, way overstaying their welcome) on a night. However, once you were in the hotel you were cool and safe.

Infact, my husbands leg was badly swollen from an overheated bite but our air conditioning was so good we could ease it every couple of hours by going back to our room.

Apart from the Tower we struggled to find stuff to do. We found one park we could relax and siesta in with locals. However, we wanted to see the tower so it was worth the trip.

Thanks to all at the hotel for looking after us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank What-Katy-Did
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Bed was too hard to sleep comfortably. I woke with very sore hips. Free wifi and breakfast were definite pluses. The service was outstanding, staff happy to lock bags away until we had to board our train and suggested other things we should see besides the tower. Unfortunately all this doesn't make up for the horrible bed!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just got back from Pisa last weekend. Travelled with another couple. Both rooms were spacious and airy and very cosy. The hotel is clean and the breakfast is abundant. It has an elevator which is a plus. The driver called for us at the airport which we found very convenient (The cost is minimal but just right as the airport is only 10min away).The staff are extremely nice and helpful and they speak good english. We left some medicine behind and they were nice enough to keep them for us until we returned from Firenze. The hotel is a few minutes away from the main train station and it is in the heart of the city. Will recommend this hotel to anyone. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Our 2 rooms were both located on the third floor. We have nothing to grumple about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed in Hotel La Pace in early October and really enjoyed my stay. I was picked up from the Airport ( a very small additional cost - but well worth it). I think I might have got a bit lost getting there on foot as it is in a kind of Arcade. The hotel has a lot of charm, the rooms are big, clean and airy and it was a great 'Italian' start to my Tuscan holiday, feeling like I was in a location straight from Audery Hepburn's 'Roman Holiday' movie. The staff were very helpful with information maps etc. The breakfast was wonderful with a large array of Italian delicacies to try. Interestinly the dining room is set on a kind of messazine floor and the decor is beautiful and classic. I would recomend this hotel to any traveller who would like to immerse themselves in real Italian culture.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie-Sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Pro's - hotel is close to airport and train station which was what we needed. Receptionist was really helpful, thank you for your help with the trains! Breakfast was good and room was clean. Con's- bed was really hard, shower was tiny you could just fit in it and room needed updating. Hotel entrance located in what was a shopping arcade and there is a betting shop just outside with people hanging around outside which was slightly intimidating. The hotel looks like it was very grand once and with some updating could be again. We would stay again mainly due to the helpful staff, good value for money and location was good for us.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel is situated about 100 metres from the railway station and the entrance approach looks intimidating. It is kind of located in a covered terrace between two streets with several convenience stores within the terrace therefore a lot of people hanging around. That was the only fault with the hotel- everything else was okay. Once you entered the hotel it was like entering a different world from the street with its modern environment and multitude of oil paintings adorning the walls throughout the hotel.
The room was of a good sizeas was the bathroom which contained a bath as well as a shower. The decor in the bathroom was a little dated but was clean.
The staff were exremely friendly from the reception right through to the Barman called Guisseppi.

On departure we had a self service continental breakfast at 0430 and a taxi to the Airport was ordered from reception and arrived at the hotel within one minute. By Taxi the hotel is five minutes from the Airport. Would certainly recommend this hotel especially as it only cost 21 euro pppn.

Room Tip: Don't be put off when you arrive at the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.8 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#10 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pace

Property: Hotel La Pace
Address: Galleria Antonio Gramsci B 14, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pisa
#5 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
#6 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pace 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La pace is a family run Hotellocated just in front of the railway station of "Pisa Centrale" where you can find also the Bus Station.Pisaairport is reachable by taxi, city bus, HotelShuttle Bus in 5 minutes.You can reach teh leaning Tower in 15/20 minutes walking across the city center.We do offer 63 rooms with bathroom, telephone, Tv sat, SKY, air conditioning, heater and FREE wireless internet connection powered by Cisco routers.Our is not aluxury hotel but we try to make your stay unique and memorable with our welcoming staff and our Buffet breakfast served every day from 7 to 10.L'albergo La pace e un Hotel a conduzione familiare, situato davanti alla Stazione ferroviaria di Pisa centrale, dove si trova anche la stazione dei Bus per il centro.L'aeroporto e raggiungibile in taxi, autobus, Navetta dell'Hotel in soli 5 minuti.Camminando non piu di 15/20 minuti e possibile raggiungere Piazza dei Miracoli dove si trova la famosa Torre pendente.Tutte le camere sono dotate di telefono, Tv sat, SKY, aria condizionata, riscaldamento e connessione internet wireless GRATUITA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pace Pisa
La Pace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing