We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent City Break Hotel”
Review of Hotel La Pace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Pace
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
South Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent City Break Hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

All the staff were friendly and helpful recommending and booking some excellent restaurants during our stay. We totally agree with previous good reviews. We do not normally book below four star but did so based on tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. When staying in Europe we like authentic local hotels and not the plastic chain hotels that look the same all over the world offering an impersonal experience. We appreciate that this hotel may not be to everyone's taste but we loved it.
We would like to add some useful advice:
1. DO NOT visit Cafe Gambrinus which is the closest Cafe to the hotel situate to the left when you emerge from the arcade having left the hotel on the railway station side. AVOID at all costs. See tripadvisor reviews. All very bad. They over charge by over double on all drinks and food. All other bars and restaurants charge the same all over Pisa even with a view of the tower. We were charged 15 euros for two drinks and had paid 7 euros for the same two drinks during the rest of our stay in Pisa.
2. To book your collection from the airport you will need to e-mail the hotel. We had difficulty locating this but believe it is info@hotellapaca.it.
3. Travelling by train. Make sure you validate your ticket before you get on the train by inserting it into a yellow box located on the platform. Failure to do this could result in a heavy fine.
4. Airport. Italian airports have a passport control after security and before your gate. When the airport is busy this can cause delays and it is advisable to make your way to the gate as soon as you can. We almost missed our flight in Venice due to massive backlog of passengers trying to get to their gate on time. We were pushed through by security but now always make our way to the gate and not spend too much time in duty free thinking there is plenty of time to get to the gate.
5. Mosquitos. Make sure you take insect repellent we had some really bad bites. We did not think we would need repellent on a City Break but were wrong.

Room Tip: We would suggest the Hotel tell all their guests not to visit Cafe Gambrinus when they check in as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angus1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aromanelli75, Proprietario at Hotel La Pace, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Angus1962,
thanks for sharing your experince with other people of TA community; I'm really happy that you appreciated our services and also I found review like yours very helpfull for everybody, because you rated the hotel, the ocation,neighbourd with lots of interesting suggestion for tourist.
Regarding bar Gambrinus, we know very well teh situation and usually upon arrival at the front offcie after giving a city maop teh receptionist always advise the guest to avoid these place due the high not reasonable price, I apologize if my colleague didn't advise you upon arrival.
Also the tipfro the train station and mosquitos are very usefuland a big thanks to share the pictures of our hotel....SOLO (the dog) will become very famous :)
In future,if you will be back in Pisa do not hesitate in contact us and we'll try to do our best services to let you have another memorable and thrue experience
Thanks again fromall the Staff of La Pace Hotel
Andrea - Hotel La Pace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    613
    392
    112
    73
See reviews for
265
673
133
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel is in an perfect position. A 5 minute drive from the airport, 2 minute walk from the train station, and one can have an enjoyable walk to see the city magnificent buildings and art treasures.

Room Tip: we had a room at the back of the hotel and was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fredmild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpace, Proprietario at Hotel La Pace, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Fremild,
what to say ! thanks thanks and thanks agin for your sharing your travel experience with the otherpeople of the TA community.
I'm very happy that you appreciated our services, what I can say is that all the staff is working hard to make all the guest's stay uniqueandmemorable for something,sometimes we cannot do it for the standard of the rooms and then we try to let you feel at home, suggesting good place to eat, nice places to visit, whtt to do and especially what to DON'T DO in Pisa.
It's an hard mission, anyway it's our work, we are here to offer services to our guests, out turists and we are trying to do it in the best way we can.
I do really hope to see you again in Pisa, at Hotel La Pace of course and we can have a drink togheter.
Thanks again for your time.
Ciao
Andrea - Hotel La Pace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The location is superb just a stone throw away form the train station Pisa Centrale.

Unluckily we got one of the mentioned old rooms, it was clean but it looked like we were back in the 60s. The AC worked well and the room was very quiet (top floor I think). The water temp in the shower was not constant.

The morning personal was very friendly (Black long hair receptionist and young girl), the big guy in the afternoons was ok, but the late night-early morning guy was borderline rude(The one with the eastern european looks and accent).

The breakfast was very good, better than on some higher category hotels and the staff there was firendly.

I'd given it 3'5 points but tripadvisor does not let me.
4 points if we got a nicer room and one of the receptionists woul've been friendlier.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PViera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpace, Proprietario at Hotel La Pace, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear PViera,
I've just read your feedback and I'dlike to thank you very much to spent your time to share your experience on the community.
Let me apologize for my colleague who worked during the night shift, but let me tellyou that he's the last person employeed here at La Pace and we are working hard to train him to be like the others, Giorgia and Gavino.
Thanks a lot for your compliments regarding the breakfast quality, due we are spending lots of money in the last months to offer new fresh products and I'm very happy to see that you appreciated it.
Regarding the rooms, as I always answer,we have almost 40/45 rooms completely restyled, anyway the owner,my father, he's 83 years old and he likes old style furniture, so it'snot easyto manage the situation...anyway he agree toletme improve the rooms with new generation wifi connection hihi and I hopethat you tested our new free wifi.
sorry it was just for joke, we are trying everyday tomake something new and something better but trust me is not always very easy; I spoke everyday with my coleagues at the breakfast, at the reception and room divisionand due I do not have any magic solution to renew all the hotel in a while, then I asked all of them to try to offer a superior service, to be kind with everybody and offer the "ospitality" the thing they are paid for....
I hope to have another chance to have you as a guest at La Pace, andmaybe you will tellme if you willfind somethingbetter.
Thanks againg for your time
Best regards
Andrea - Hotel La Pace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed just for 2 nights in July 2011. We were dropping the rental car off at the airport and the hotel sent their shuttle to pick us up which was very convenient. The room was spacious but the decor was overpowering and also there was a smell as if the room had not been aired in months. We settled down and then went and asked the guy at the receprion if he could recommend any restaurents close by. He was quite abrupt and not helpful at all. Mind you this was the evening staff. The day staff were quite the opposite actually. The breakfast was very good. When we went to bed the first thing we had to get used to was the air conditioner switching on and off... ok... we were asleep for a while when we got woken up in the midlle of the night by people who were just moving in to their room one floor up at around 1 AM... lots of pulling of furniture etc..kids chattering... then the waiting for them to settle down went on. so not a geat night's sleep! But it is ok for a night's stay and the walk to the centre is about 20 mintutes walk and it is dead close to the airport and the train staion.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay on the top floor so u won't get woken up in the middle of the night!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shadwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpace, Proprietario at Hotel La Pace, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Shadwala,
first of all thank you very much for sharing your experience with the other people of the community, I found reviews, when real and originals, very helpfull.
Please apologize for teh trouble had during your stay with my colleague at the reception; as you can see from the other reviews ( I know very well that we do not have a luxury hotel for that reason the immediate solution and our strategy was to try to give a better service to our guest)
lots of travellers are appreciating our staff and our service, so I ask you sorry again for this matter.
Regarding other consideration I can just said that we are working a lot anddue we are located near the airport and near the railway station, everydaywe have many people who arrives late at night or departing in the early morning,I just apologize that they disturb your stay.
Other things, we are trying to renew something every year, we have just repainted all the building, we've done all the necessary things regarding the fire law and other works of maintenance, it's difficult to be perfect but all of us are really working hard to make hospitality and to let feel all guests at la Pace like home.
I hope to see you again here in Pisa and maybe showing you something new during your next stay.
Best regards

Andrea - Hotel La Pace
P.s. sorry for my english :(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We booked a family room which was actually two separate rooms with twin beds and a double bed and a good sized balcony. The breakfast was good and the staff were just exceptionally helpful. Good atmosphere and good value. Its close to the station and you can walk to the centre in about minutes. We used their shuttle service to the airport which was very convenient and cost just € 3 pp.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JH_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpace, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Pace, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear DH_Dublin
Thank you for your review, and for spending the time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. The attention to our customers, trying to make everyone feel at home and reading his words I' am happy that you has experienced firsthand.
A big Thank You from all the Staff.
Hope to see you again in Pisa
Best regards
Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampere
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Pretty good hotel. Close to the railway station. We asked for airport pick up since we were arriving late and were happy to see it was all arranged. Overall pretty decent experience

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaustabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpace, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Pace, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear kaustabh,

Thank you for your short but satisfactory comment on TripAdvisor and favour the for taking the time to communicate their experiences of our hotel: all the comments are very important for us and push us every day to do our best.
Thanks from all of us
Hotel La Pace
Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had a great weekend at this hotel and it's very central, just 5 minutes from the airport, using the LAM rossa public bus line and 1 minute walk from the train station; literally across the street. This was great since we were going to Florence afterwards. Room was clean and tidy, good size with all the amenities including A/C. The buffet breakfast was also great with the works ie:bacon, eggs, toast, cereal, coffee, capucciono, etc. The front desk staff was very polite and extremely helpful with maps and suggestions for restaurants and siteseeing. Also the hotel is about 15-20 minutes walking distance from the leaning tower and other sites with lots of shopping on the way ;-). We will definitely stay at this charming hotel again and I highly recommend it. Thanks La Pace!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank techwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpace, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Pace, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear techwill
Thank you for your nice review of your stay and for spending the time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor, You describe exactly what our hotel offers all guests, and this is what is causing us great joy to see that you have enjoyed all our services .
A big Thank You from all the Staff.
Hope to see you again in Pisa
Best regards
Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.3 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pace

Property: Hotel La Pace
Address: Galleria Antonio Gramsci B 14, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pisa
#6 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pace 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La pace is a family run Hotellocated just in front of the railway station of "Pisa Centrale" where you can find also the Bus Station.Pisaairport is reachable by taxi, city bus, HotelShuttle Bus in 5 minutes.You can reach teh leaning Tower in 15/20 minutes walking across the city center.We do offer 63 rooms with bathroom, telephone, Tv sat, SKY, air conditioning, heater and FREE wireless internet connection powered by Cisco routers.Our is not aluxury hotel but we try to make your stay unique and memorable with our welcoming staff and our Buffet breakfast served every day from 7 to 10.L'albergo La pace e un Hotel a conduzione familiare, situato davanti alla Stazione ferroviaria di Pisa centrale, dove si trova anche la stazione dei Bus per il centro.L'aeroporto e raggiungibile in taxi, autobus, Navetta dell'Hotel in soli 5 minuti.Camminando non piu di 15/20 minuti e possibile raggiungere Piazza dei Miracoli dove si trova la famosa Torre pendente.Tutte le camere sono dotate di telefono, Tv sat, SKY, aria condizionata, riscaldamento e connessione internet wireless GRATUITA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pace Pisa
La Pace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing