We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special except location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Francesco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Francesco
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nothing special except location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The location is really the only big advantage this hotel has (but there are a lot of other hotels in the same area). Thankfully, the room is clean, and the cleaning lady is very friendly, and the area isn't dangerous. But, that's about it.

Negatives: Receptionists were nice but not overly friendly, and when we and other guests complained that the wifi wasn't working only 1 of the 3 receptionists we met actually tried to fix it. The other 2 just simply said to sit in the lobby and use it there since it was only working in the lobby. The screen on our window was broken, so our room constantly had mosquitos in it. The shower was not sealed tight enough to keep the floor dry. The towels were thin and rough. And although there is a tv in the room, it only has a handful of channels (looks like more because each channel is broadcasted on 2 stations- 1 in HD). Although the wifi is free, it was only working on the last day of our trip- the other 3 days we had to sit in the lobby to use it and get eaten by even more mosquitos.

Positives: Our room wasn't noisy but maybe it's because it was located in the back of the hotel on the 3rd floor. Everything was clean. Receptionists spoke English. The hotel is located extremely close to the tower (so you can go visit early in the morning or late at night when it's less crowded), there are numerous restaurants and cafes on the same street as well as some souvenir shops.

Would I stay here again? Only if I couldn't find another hotel in this area for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    87
    71
    41
    27
See reviews for
57
113
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, Dorset
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I can't knock this little hotel at all - it did what we wanted - cheap, clean and near the Leaning Tower and convenient for restaurants before flying home the next day after a trip to Florence and Rome.

Don't expect posh - it's not - but it's a very short flat walk to the very touristy Tower area which is what I wanted for my elderly Mum. Nice staff and not too far for a taxi ride to the airport. No complaints x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Its true, having just spent three nights in the hotel Francesco, my only real comment is that it was cheap and cheerful, not cheap as in grotty, but simply reasonable, based upon two things location and location, otherwise, to give a recital on the merits of the actual accommodation would be unkind, but if you want to know, the entrance is not inviting, other than its on the main street afew minutes walk from the tower, and good restaurants, enter and you will be met with a smile, by a very attentive receptionist, cramped and a little uncomfortable if others are waiting to be checked in. So the room, travel lodge size, basic with a not so comfortable bed, two beds actually joined together to make a double, great for perfecting the sleep on your back straight method, this bed does not allow much flexibility or rolling around restlessly, the view is the street, and that is not so pretty, the shower well it sprayed, the terrace limited and the facilities again limited. All in all for 80 euros a night what could one expect, so my advice, get up early, get out and enjoy the sites, get in late and drink enough to soften the impact of a rather cramped bed, the sleep and he drink anaesthetises the body to a degree of acceptability, would I return no, I will next time make my booking in advance, and choose more selectively, this was to be a starting point to see Andrea Bocelli in Lajatico, and to be honest that is all it is there are much better hotels this town. Sorry, across the road 15 yards away the hotel duomo is a good example. Enjoy

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank saturnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is all about the location.
It is literally a couple of hundred yards from the Leaning Tower!
As a hotel, it is quite basic. There is a lift as well as the stairs, a little roof terrace, a vending machine and free wifi (if you can get a signal).
The rooms are clean, functional, beds are reasonably comfortable and there's a big screen tv showing about 100 Italian channels (no other languages).
But then there's the noise. If your room is at the front of the hotel, don't expect to get any sleep before 1am. Even with the double glazing, the noise of scooters and drunken tourists is very loud.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elphantasmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Hotel was great. You can see the tower from the balcony on the 1st floor. The common room on the first floor is great. You can't bet the price or location. The beds are a little hard and the towels are pretty rough. But you cant bet the location and price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Audrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed one night here and thought it was great. paid just over 50 pounds for a saturday night .it is 100 meters from the tower and about 250 meteres from the small but lively bar and restaurant area. our room was on the street side and with the double glazing windows shut were not disturb at all .small shower but clean and funtioning .nice comfy bed .big tv with loads of channels ,all in italian but hey Pisa is in italy after all.The Ritz it aint but Cheap clean modern and tidy it is. Would stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, as a base for exploring Pisa and Florence. The hotel itself is located less than 3 minutes walk from the leaning tower, and there is a view of the tower from the terrace on the 1st floor. The room was basic, average size with ensuite bathroom. No frills whatsoever so if you're looking for luxury or plan on spending time in the hotel, this probably isn't the place for you! They don't serve breakfast, which didn't bother us as we'd prefer eat in one of the local cafes or restaurants anyway. The room had a flat screen TV with about 50 channels including some English language ones. There was also free wifi, which was useful for checking train times, restaurant reviews etc.
It suited us because it was cheap (we paid €90 each for the four nights) and we literally just slept there, as we were out exploring and sightseeing all day everyday. Train to Florence takes less than an hour from Pisa and costs about €10 rtn. Reception staff were lovely, and all spoke fluent english. We had an early morning flight home and the receptionist organised a car to collect us and bring us to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cakes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Hotel Villa Kinzica
#25 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#11 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#10 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.4 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#22 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francesco

Property: Hotel Francesco
Address: Via Santa Maria 129, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Francesco 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francesco Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing