We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Modest grandeur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duomo Pisa

Duomo Pisa
Book In Advance
$51.42*
and up
Pisa Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Florence
Ranked #3 of 118 things to do in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pisa's Romanesque cathedral (1063-1350) is part of a complex that includes the famous Leaning Tower.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Modest grandeur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you had a chance to see Florence or Milan Duomo you will understand why I udes modest in order to try to explain how I felt visiting this Duomo. It was my second visit, and I had a chance to enjoy in each detail I didint see the first time. Everything with this church is splendid, perfect and spiritual (inside or just watching it from outside). The only difference compered to some other churches is that it was made not to impress you, by the arrogance and wealth, but to enter to your soul by emotion. At least I had this feeling looking at the facade, doors, pulpits, mosaics, tombs. If you have time maybe you could just sit there for a while absorbing and enjoing. The entrance is free of charge but you have to take ticket at the ticket office, or you can get a ticket with any other attraction you plan to visit at Campo dei Miracoli.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank aleksandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,919
    936
    176
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
298 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

you have to get a free ticket to enter but if you go up the tower, or do another monument, your ticket is enough. no point in missing the duomo and it is nice inside.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank serena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Pisa is a different place, where u take 100 of pix and buy souvenirs from various shops there and the weather can helps, it depends on the month that you're going in. Like, I went end of October but the weather was amazing and called as well. Pisa tower is totally breathtaking. Just go and enjoy and remember me.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Noof135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Day Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Pisa is your typical touristy day trip. Not worth spending the hotel costs here, but worth the day trip. Take a picture of your friend or family member holding up the tower, take the tour offered, have pizza in Pisa, and walk the streets. At the end of day move on, there are better places to visit. I stayed in Genova and came here for a day trip. All I can say, "been there done that" .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LADComerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I have been to Pisa several times in the past 12 years and have been to the Duomo every time; it is the only thing that makes going to Pisa worthwhile. The Duomo is located right next to the Leaning Tower on the Piazza dei Miracoli. Most of the time the Duomo is uncrowded, as opposed to the rest of the Piazza dei Miracoli, which has become a zoo. After we fought our way through the madding crowd, my wife and I enjoyed sitting in the solitude of the lovely cathedral and contemplating the genius of Galileo, who led the way for so many scientific discoveries of the Renaissance. His discovery of the physics of the pendulum was made as he sat in the very same Duomo in Pisa pondering why the lamps seemed to sway with their own God-given rhythm.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paolo-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo Pisa also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Duomo Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing