We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Amalfitana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Amalfitana
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Value Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great, reasonably priced hotel in a brilliant location. We had quite a spacious room with high ceilings on the third floor. It was at the front of the hotel but the street is practically pedestrianised so it was quiet. The room was spotless with a good sized bathroom, shower, fresh towels (both small linen and big fluffy ones!). There was fast, free wifi, air con an armchair and a small flat tv. The hotel is in an excellent location in the Centro Storico. A straight, few minutes walk from the tower takes you past the botanic gardens and university faculties to the tower, the cathedral etc. We went for the optional breakfast at 5 euro ahead which we ate under umbrellas in the garden. Bliss! It's a generous continental breakfast with good coffee, warm baguette, fresh croissants, meat, cheese, jams yogurt. The staff were very friendly, patient and helpful and spent lots of time answering everyone's questions. They recommended a great local restaurant Ostario St. Paulo (which is on Via St. Paulo just over the river in the opposite direction of the tower). There was a desk and chair in our room so if you had work / study to do it in pisa it would be a good base from which to do it. They also have coffee and cold drinks for sale downstairs so it would be an excellent place for quiet business meetings!

Room Tip: If you're fussy like me and want a double bed (rather than two single beds pushed together and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    75
    61
    21
    16
See reviews for
38
98
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is well located for the main attraction in Pisa, walk straight up the road and the tower, duomo and tourists are all there. Also just a 10/15 minute bus ride from the airport. Our room was clean and tidy, as was the bathroom. It's a basic hotel, but comfortable enough. The staff were friendly and helpful, decent enough breakfast for 5EUR. All in all great for a cheap one night stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dblm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We're a mid 20's couple from the UK, and stayed at the hotel for one night around the beginning of July.

The hotel is in a good location; not too far from the train station / main bus stop, and very close to the Leaning Tower of Pisa. The staff were very friendly on arrival and were more than helpful with everything we asked, advising us on the best ways to travel etc. Our room was quite basic, and not as modern as the 'professional photos' may suggest, but was in no way bad. It was air conditioned, the bed was comfy enough, and was very clean apart from some slight dirt/dust down the outside of the shower in a small gap where it joined to the wall. However, that's if I'm being picky and is nothing to worry about. We did not eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the restaurant.

It is a fairly basic hotel but for the price I have no complaints, and wouldn't have any issues about staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Good location not far from the leaning tower.Friendly and helpful staff.
The accommodation is basic and the photos exaggerate the decoration. The garden where you can have breakfast needs tidying. Breakfast was an extra cost.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, nice staff, but I was bitted by bed-bugs in night!
I travel alot, visited more than 30 countries in Europe, Asia, America, but I never had such problems! This is the first time I was bited by bed-bugs in hotels!
Nevertheless, the staff helped me to change the room at 3.00 am, offered a cup of coffee (free of charge...:)).
I spent a terrible night, the staff did their best to asssist me and atone for their offence.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabakhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pisa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
DJ_TryxX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Currently in the middle of my stay from 05/06 to 09/06 and I have to say that I'm extremely impressed by this little family-run hotel. Situated on Via Roma, it is literally less than a 5 minute walk away from the Tower Of Pisa and the surrounding plaza. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The double room that I am staying in with my girlfriend is quite large and has a bathroom with all the essentials. A lovely terrace lines the side of the building where we can eat or just relax.
I honestly haven't found anything to fault this place, and I'm usually quite a critical person. I will definitely be coming back to Hotel Amalfitana in the future.

Room Tip: The area is relatively quiet, so any room would be suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ_TryxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vangede, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Me and my husband spent a great week in Italy staying in Amalfitana (as a "base" place for our trip) in the last week of April.I can`t describe it better,than GREAT!
It`s a small cute hotel,just 5min of walking from the Leaning Tower,comfortable,clean,with the friendliest staff.Ini and Sabina were so helpful to us!They adviced us how we could reach different places,what we should see there,even the weather forecast.
The breakfast is not included in the price of the hotel stay,but it costs only 5 euros and it`s very tasty and totally enough even for a viking :-)
If you are not searching for a 5-star hotel but need a friendly clean place to stay in Pisa,please chose Amalfitana!
One more time- thank you Ini for everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily_Vatsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel
Leonardo Hotel
#53 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Novecento
Hotel Novecento
#19 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cecile Hotel
Cecile Hotel
#55 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Hotel Villa Kinzica
#22 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Francesco
Hotel Francesco
#29 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amalfitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amalfitana

Property: Hotel Amalfitana
Address: Via Roma 44, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amalfitana 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Amalfitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalfitana Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing