We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean quiet and comfortable.”
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Close to rail way station and about ten minutes from airport very clean hotel but a bit bland its rated 4 star but I would think 3 star would be more suitable. Staff where helpful but not overly friendly did not have evening meals but breakfast was at best average you won't starve but you won't feel fulfilled either, but it is a good base for exploring Pisa and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Nice Indian restaurant about 5 minutes work from hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlie007cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Reasonably priced hotel, just over the river from the main sights in Pisa which are a pleasant 15-20 mins stroll away. Taxi from the airport was around 12 euros. Local bus stops outside hotel if that is your preferred method of travel and the Train Station was only 10-15 mins walk away as well.

Hotel itself was reasonable, what you would expect from an Italian City hotel in an older part of town. For us the important elements where Air Conditioning, Wi-Fi, close to walk to sights and restaurants – and the Hotel Bologna had all of these.

We had a room for three – couple plus daughter - and this worked out fine with a double bed and a single bed in the same room. Our room was at the back of the hotel, but the street at the front seemed quite enough.

Breakfast was OK. Staff friendly enough and those that we dealt with spoke English. All in all a good solid choice of Hotel, especially for a short 1-2 nights visit to Pisa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balleeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, collected from airport by hotel's transport, 10mins to hotel booked in quickly. Note left offering prosecco in the bar to celebrate our anniversary. Lovely chilled beverage coupled with the hotel's aperitivo offering, good start. Clean and quiet room, only downside was bathroom size coupled with folding door, we had to open the shower doors to leave room for elbows to sit down. Great idea was to offer water foc in minibar, big thumbs up for that. Breakfast was decent with good choice. All in all a good stay, although watch out for the mozzys and wasps on terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed only one night on our arrival into Italy. Pleasant reception staff members who spoke English both at check-in and then departure. We caught a taxi from the airport for about E11. The hotel is in a reasonable location and is within easy walking distances both to the Tower (15-20 minutes) and to the Train Station (10 minutes). Breakfast was of a good standard with plenty of choice.
The standard room was clean, fairly modern and the overall ambiance of the hotel is definitely 4 stars. We had a back room and the noise level overnight was not an issue.
Pisa city is well worth more than a half day stop.

Room Tip: A back room off the street facing the courtyard should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely clean hotel in a good position. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast good. Rooms clean and what you would expect for this star rating. I would stay again! A bonus is being near the train station as well as shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caz8588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. I had been there 2 years ago and really loved the helpful, friendly staff and they were still wonderful. It's easy to walk to the tower and cathedral area. We loved the double paned windows which afforded peace and quiet in a noisy city. The breakfast was large and varied and we took a wicker tray outside to the terrace and enjoyed our meal in the air. It's very easy to take side trips so we spent a lovely day in beautiful Siena. The price is right for all the amenities and VERY helpful, VERY pleasant staff......something not found everywhere and worth it's weight in gold!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54Ginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you are coming to Pisa just to look at the legendary leaning tower think again. Do yourself and your co-travellers a favour and stop a night or two at the Bologna Hotel Pisa. Located down the narrow and inconspicuous Via Mazzini , it is an 8 minute easy walk from the Pisa railway station.
To take a taxi means it has to do a long loop around Pisa to cope with one way only streets.
You can walk in the same time. Even my cab driver was embarrassed by the cost for a simple straight line journey and said so. The Hotel is beautifully and Italian tastefully fitted out. Adequate room sizes includes bathrooms and shower cubicles. Very inexpensive on my advance purchase.
Local restaurants are happily and correctly recommended from Reception. Just do it.
By the way the tower is actually spectacular as is the shopping for Madame.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,930 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#5 of 68 in Pisa
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: $75 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing