We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean quiet and comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean quiet and comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Close to rail way station and about ten minutes from airport very clean hotel but a bit bland its rated 4 star but I would think 3 star would be more suitable. Staff where helpful but not overly friendly did not have evening meals but breakfast was at best average you won't starve but you won't feel fulfilled either, but it is a good base for exploring Pisa and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Nice Indian restaurant about 5 minutes work from hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie007cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    933
    286
    82
    38
See reviews for
424
998
175
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Reasonably priced hotel, just over the river from the main sights in Pisa which are a pleasant 15-20 mins stroll away. Taxi from the airport was around 12 euros. Local bus stops outside hotel if that is your preferred method of travel and the Train Station was only 10-15 mins walk away as well.

Hotel itself was reasonable, what you would expect from an Italian City hotel in an older part of town. For us the important elements where Air Conditioning, Wi-Fi, close to walk to sights and restaurants – and the Hotel Bologna had all of these.

We had a room for three – couple plus daughter - and this worked out fine with a double bed and a single bed in the same room. Our room was at the back of the hotel, but the street at the front seemed quite enough.

Breakfast was OK. Staff friendly enough and those that we dealt with spoke English. All in all a good solid choice of Hotel, especially for a short 1-2 nights visit to Pisa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balleeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, collected from airport by hotel's transport, 10mins to hotel booked in quickly. Note left offering prosecco in the bar to celebrate our anniversary. Lovely chilled beverage coupled with the hotel's aperitivo offering, good start. Clean and quiet room, only downside was bathroom size coupled with folding door, we had to open the shower doors to leave room for elbows to sit down. Great idea was to offer water foc in minibar, big thumbs up for that. Breakfast was decent with good choice. All in all a good stay, although watch out for the mozzys and wasps on terrace.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMcKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed only one night on our arrival into Italy. Pleasant reception staff members who spoke English both at check-in and then departure. We caught a taxi from the airport for about E11. The hotel is in a reasonable location and is within easy walking distances both to the Tower (15-20 minutes) and to the Train Station (10 minutes). Breakfast was of a good standard with plenty of choice.
The standard room was clean, fairly modern and the overall ambiance of the hotel is definitely 4 stars. We had a back room and the noise level overnight was not an issue.
Pisa city is well worth more than a half day stop.

Room Tip: A back room off the street facing the courtyard should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely clean hotel in a good position. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast good. Rooms clean and what you would expect for this star rating. I would stay again! A bonus is being near the train station as well as shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caz8588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. I had been there 2 years ago and really loved the helpful, friendly staff and they were still wonderful. It's easy to walk to the tower and cathedral area. We loved the double paned windows which afforded peace and quiet in a noisy city. The breakfast was large and varied and we took a wicker tray outside to the terrace and enjoyed our meal in the air. It's very easy to take side trips so we spent a lovely day in beautiful Siena. The price is right for all the amenities and VERY helpful, VERY pleasant staff......something not found everywhere and worth it's weight in gold!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Ginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you are coming to Pisa just to look at the legendary leaning tower think again. Do yourself and your co-travellers a favour and stop a night or two at the Bologna Hotel Pisa. Located down the narrow and inconspicuous Via Mazzini , it is an 8 minute easy walk from the Pisa railway station.
To take a taxi means it has to do a long loop around Pisa to cope with one way only streets.
You can walk in the same time. Even my cab driver was embarrassed by the cost for a simple straight line journey and said so. The Hotel is beautifully and Italian tastefully fitted out. Adequate room sizes includes bathrooms and shower cubicles. Very inexpensive on my advance purchase.
Local restaurants are happily and correctly recommended from Reception. Just do it.
By the way the tower is actually spectacular as is the shopping for Madame.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,327 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.2 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#21 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Property: Bologna Hotel Pisa
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing