We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seamless luxury and”
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you are coming to Pisa just to look at the legendary leaning tower think again. Do yourself and your co-travellers a favour and stop a night or two at the Bologna Hotel Pisa. Located down the narrow and inconspicuous Via Mazzini , it is an 8 minute easy walk from the Pisa railway station.
To take a taxi means it has to do a long loop around Pisa to cope with one way only streets.
You can walk in the same time. Even my cab driver was embarrassed by the cost for a simple straight line journey and said so. The Hotel is beautifully and Italian tastefully fitted out. Adequate room sizes includes bathrooms and shower cubicles. Very inexpensive on my advance purchase.
Local restaurants are happily and correctly recommended from Reception. Just do it.
By the way the tower is actually spectacular as is the shopping for Madame.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was at the hotel for one night and it was absolutely fine. I had booked a single room and it was fairly small and tucked into a building behind the main building, next to car park. Had I been staying for longer this might have been disappointing. It's about 10 minutes walk from the railway station. The staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast was OK but very busy so it wasn't a very relaxed experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clareuk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and it was ok.
The service is very good, the staff speaks perfect English (not so common in Italy).
The room was quite small and simple but clean and cosy. The hotel itself is old and could need some renovation.
Although we booked a double room there was only one device allowed to use the hotel wifi per room and that was quite inconvenient, since we both had smartphones and tablets.
We liked the breakfast, the choice was fresh and tasty. Everything worth seeing is in a walking distance.
I do recommend this hotel for couples for short stays.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinaRusnakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the main train station and 15-20 mins from the Leaning Tower. All things I wanted to see were easily walkable. It is just to the east of the main shopping street in Pisa and has small restaurants dotted around the side streets adjacent. Hotel staff are friendly and the room was simple but clean and tidy. The breakfast was included and was fantastic. All up, a good experience and I would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paduan_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

...and one night is really all you need in Pisa. To be honest, even that's pushing it.

Despite checking in at the normal time, we still managed to have possibly the worst room in place (Italy seems to have a problem with people using discount websites, so it seems you consistently end up with a "courtyard room", inevitably facing a wall, ensuring it is small and dark). Nonetheless, it was clean, pleasant, and functional. It had a stand-in shower, which after days of baths, was appreciated! We actually woke up in the morning being cold, so I can't fault the quality of the air-conditioning either! :) Staff were cordial and prompt, if somewhat indifferent. In the morning, the hotel provided handouts with overviews of news in UK, US, and France: being a Brit living in the US, I really appreciated this! Location was great: about 10 minutes' walk from the train station, and 15 minutes from the Tower of Pisa.

Breakfast was absolutely mediocre at best. Self-serve from the diluted orange juice (cordial) to your tea and coffee. Fruit was fresh; not sure about the baked goods (if they weren't stale, they were overcooked). However, it was edible, if you're okay having your cereal with warm milk (c'mon, you might like it...though probably not, if I'm honest). There wasn't much seating, but we found a place quickly (unlike some others who arrived later than us), so personally can't complain.

Wi-fi was free and functional but limited to two devices. (I increasingly have a problem with hotels not providing free wi-fi to as many devices as I wish. Seriously, hotels: I'm easily impressed, as long as I have a glass of wine and wi-fi: good breakfast is optional...)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed over for one night before heading to a Villa in Southern Italy. We were two families, one with a teenager and two smaller ones and the other with a young daughter and twin babies. The teenager got her own room and we were given a family room which had two single beds in an L shaped extension to the room all at a regular hotel room rate (for this class). We usually end up paying for adjoining rooms. The layout while very cosy gave the feeling that kids were in a separate room (although visible from the bed). The staff were extremely helpful and while it felt informal / family run the room was well equipped. Location was great, a quiet back street - a healthy walk to the tower and the main attractions and surrounded by too many eating options to mention. Wifi worked well and bed and shower. The rooms may have felt a little small for a long stay but for a short weekend break - perfect. I should also add that we had considerable dialogue about room options with such a complex group ahead of arrival and the team were extremely helpful even pointing out that the suite while more expensive gave us no real advantage in terms of space. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate but we did not eat lunch or dinner there.

Room Tip: If you have small kids then opt for a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRBOABB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night at the end of our break in Italy. The tripadvsor reviews were spot on. It is in a very good location, so near to shops and restaurants and a 20 minute walk from the leaning tower. The hotel itself was really nice inside and spotlessly clean. Our three rooms were in an annex at the rear but all really nice and a decent size. We looked over over the raised patio area which was nice for enjoying a cool drink on the evening. Breakfast was really good. Fresh fruit, cereals, toast and a good selection of hot food.
We only stayed in Pisa as that is where we were flying home from, however, we were pleasantly surprised by how nice the city is itself. Lots of lovely old buildings and lots of places to eat (including our favourite restaurant from our few days in Rome, Florence and Pisa).
If others find themselves flying out of Pisa after a few days in Florence, I strongly recommend travelling the day before your flight, spending the night in this lovely hotel, and visiting the leaning tower before your flight home.

Room Tip: Our standard rooms in the annex were really good. Good size and at least had a view of the patio whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,929 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#5 of 68 in Pisa
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: $80 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing