We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost A Very Enjoyable Stay - A Pity”
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This could be a very good hotel, but unfortunately there are a number of significant issues. We had a long day travelling by train to this hotel from Parma arriving at 5.30 pm we were informed that our room was not ready and there would be at least a 30 min wait. When I queried this with reception When asked about our stay; the reason given was not satisfactory they were too busy.!!! You can imagine my abject horror. Even more so when they offered a complimentary drink but only coffee or water, we could have got those from our room had it been ready!!

The hotel is conveniently placed close to heart of most sights and well within walking distance of many, the hotel is nice and cool during the very hot weather which is pleasing. Breakfast is good part from the coffee which is at best only warm and we note this has been an ongoing situation at the hotel and subject to many similar comments in the past. The. Breakfast room is very cramped but, otherwise a good varied selection of food

Yes, we would consider staying at this hotel in the future, despite the arrogance of certain staff members who really should not be at front of desk if they are unwilling to help. Once again we note similar comments have been made a number of times before.

Could be a great hotel, a pity.

O

Room Tip: Great during hot weather - cool
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueandty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for sharing your opinion here in this forum. Please accept our deep apologises for the inconvenience and waiting for check-in upon arrival. We discussed this with our staff, analysed the situation and improved our operation processes. I guess staff did not react with arrogance, but they did not have enough capabilities to provide alternative solutions. Please be sure that this will not happen again in future. If there is anything we can do for you in future, don´t hesitate to contact us. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,490)
There are newer reviews for Bologna Hotel Pisa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

The moment you walk in the door you can tell that this hotel deserves its four stars, the decor of the lobby and lounge area is classic and effective. The rooms are large, with a minibar and good bathrooms. The location is perfect, everything is in walking distance, the train station as well as the Duomo and the tower of Pisa itself! Tucked away in a nice lane away from all the tourist noises makes it perfect for a family holiday. All the staff were very helpful, Valentyne St. and Luco Giacomelli are two names to ask for! They made our trip to Florence/Lucca on the train flawlessly easy. Would definitely stay again next time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SriGo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I wouldn't stay here again. The room was tiny, dark and claustrophobic. I agree about disengaged staff, but that didn't bother me too much. Breakfast was an absolute farce, overcrowded and disorganised.... and not great food. This is a 2/3 star hotel

Room Tip: Dont get an internal room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TerryNutkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My first trip to Pisa and I decided to stay at the Bologna. Its a 4 star hotel in the Italian tradition. In other countries it would be a borderline 3/4 star but at the same time the hotel has a lot of local character. Rooms are large with aricon, minibar and good bathrooms. Location is just a 10 minute walk from the Tower of Pisa and a 1 minute walk from the main shopping street. We had a room at the back which was a little noisy due to some sort of generator in the back yard but in all fairness we left the window open as it was a lice balmy night. Staff are very nice, welcoming and helpful especially at the reception. Breakfast was good but the scrambled egg was a strange yellowy/orange colour so I stayed away. At least they had fresh hard boiled eggs. Otherwise the selection was good and fresh. the orange juice had a strange taste so that definitely needs upgrading. Price was fair and parking available at a fair price. I would definitely go again.

Room Tip: In summer make sure you get an aircon room as back rooms tned to be noisy with the window left open.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The location is excellent. A two minute walk to the river and the train station is 10 minutes on foot. The bus ride is 10 minutes from the airport and it cost only 1 euro. The room is large with air conditioning that was in good working order. The front desk was super helpful in sorting out my train/bus trip to Volterra. Using internet was very easy. The buffet breakfast was good. I would stay here again since the location is great for walking anywhere. The tower and Dumo is about a 15 minute walk which is a nice walk past shops, cafes and churches and it's not a rigorous walk.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank O2knit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nice hotel easy to find , 5-10 minuts walk from the centralstation and located in nice surroundings, very peace full and still within walking distance to the leaning tower. Warm welcome in reception and lots of infos. Room a bit old and the bathroom very small, but every thing clean and nice. No restaurants in the hotel, but pleanty of suggestions from the staff and simply listen, they now what they talk about. Hotel do have a small parking area and also a small terrase were a pint of beer. Or a glas wine can be enjoyed in the evening, but nothing served there, must bring it from the bar. Very good nigths sleep and very litle noise. Very good breakfast in the morning, every think one could ask for. Will for sure stay here again and can recommend it very highly for both holiday and business.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

To be fair the only reason we planned to stay here was that we were enough route to Florence. But glad we did. Our flight didn't get into Pisa until 9.40pm but we were in the hotel within half an hour. The hotel is situated just off the main river road in a quiet street. Hotel staff are really helpful and speak excellent English. You can book a shuttle for 3 euros to the airport and railway station which are both 5 mins away. It's a people carrier so don't leave it too late to book if you have a flight or train especially in the morning.you can walk to the leaning tower in 15 mins or a bus is 4 euro. Rooms are clean but don't expect one with a view. But in terms of location and price you can't go wrong

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#6 of 68 in Pisa
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: $87 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing