We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with hubby and 2 children. This hotel is really easy to walk to from the station and also offers a shuttle bus to the airport (fee charged for this 5E per person). We had a really friendly welcome and were delighted to find ourselves in a huge room with 2 bathrooms. Lovely comfy beds and a luxurious feel to the whole place. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choices. Location was great - just round the corner from the main strip of shops and about a 10 minute stroll to the leaning tower. We had a fabulous time with this hotel as our base and will return at some point!! Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    966
    304
    87
    40
See reviews for
435
1,037
177
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Bologna Hotel is located just a bit south of the Arno river, and just a bit north of the town square not too far from the train station.

The street and hotel are very quiet, the desk clerks were very friendly and spoke good English.

My room was in the building behind the main lobby. It was small but not a problem, quite comfortable actually and very clean, as was the bathroom. Internet was free; note: you can connect one device at a time. I enjoyed the breakfast selection too. Also, take advantage of the "shuttle service" which is free if you book through them, 5€ if not, but the driver will take you to/from the airport or train station.

If you get a chance, go to a nice restaurant not 5 minutes from the Hotel - from the main entrance, make a right and walk no more than 50 - 100 feet. After passing a small church on the left, make a left into a small alley way which will open into a courtyard. The restaurant is called the "Hostaria le Repubbliche Marinare" and they don't serve Pizza - it is really good local fare with maritime decor. Try the house wine too, it's actually really good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fraychel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
216 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Less than 10 mins walk from station, only about 100m from river. Easy walk to Tower, Cathedral etc. Easy check-in, nice room on ground floor in courtyard. Very quiet. Good size room, comfortable bed, cheap mini bar (water free) and Internet free.
We ate in town ( pizza nothing special but "touching distance" to Leaning Tower.
Good choice for breakfast including scrambled eggs and bacon.
Booked with TravelRepublic- good price for this standard of hotel and facilities.

Room Tip: Courtyard was good. There is no pool but nice raised courtyard sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philosIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This Hotel is very clean, nicely located - very easy to walk to the station and a pleasant walk to the tower. The breakfast was fine, except if what you like to eat is eggs and fruit salad, both of which were not so inspirational. The problem was the size of the room. So very small. Probably the smallest room I've every stayed in. I booked a room with 'single occupancy' on Hotels.com and the photo of this room was a very spacious double. So I really thought I was getting something nice. But instead I got a tiny little capsule style room with a tiny TV and bed, Like a child's room. For the price I paid, not great really.

Room Tip: Beware 'single occupancy' can mean tiny little single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borislondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have just returned form a 3 night stay in Pisa. We chose the Bologna after reading all of the positive reviews. Have got to say we were not disappointed, the staff are very helpful and friendly they also speak excellent English. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a large bathroom. The mini bar is well stocked and reasonable prices, water is free.
The breakfast room/bar is lovely and the breakfast is fantastic, so much choice. In the evening the hotel provides a lovely free snack buffet, nice touch. The location is perfect.
We would stay at the Bologna Hotel again should we return to Pisa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopposhsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent location - 5 minutes walk from central station/15 minute walk from Leaning Tower/3minute walk from main shopping area. Staff on desk very pleasant, knowledgeable &
speak fluent English. Very clean hotel and generous breakfasts, spent a week and never got bored - even in the rain !

Room Tip: We were in the front but the street wasn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 26SophieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice hotel within walking distance to leaning tower, however rooms had very thin walls and we could hear other guests showering in the room next door! Apart from that, it was good, although only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ChristinaS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Property: Bologna Hotel Pisa
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing