We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel, quiet but well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
248 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Super hotel, quiet but well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Less than 10 mins walk from station, only about 100m from river. Easy walk to Tower, Cathedral etc. Easy check-in, nice room on ground floor in courtyard. Very quiet. Good size room, comfortable bed, cheap mini bar (water free) and Internet free.
We ate in town ( pizza nothing special but "touching distance" to Leaning Tower.
Good choice for breakfast including scrambled eggs and bacon.
Booked with TravelRepublic- good price for this standard of hotel and facilities.

Room Tip: Courtyard was good. There is no pool but nice raised courtyard sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philosIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    1,010
    319
    91
    42
See reviews for
470
1,095
184
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This Hotel is very clean, nicely located - very easy to walk to the station and a pleasant walk to the tower. The breakfast was fine, except if what you like to eat is eggs and fruit salad, both of which were not so inspirational. The problem was the size of the room. So very small. Probably the smallest room I've every stayed in. I booked a room with 'single occupancy' on Hotels.com and the photo of this room was a very spacious double. So I really thought I was getting something nice. But instead I got a tiny little capsule style room with a tiny TV and bed, Like a child's room. For the price I paid, not great really.

Room Tip: Beware 'single occupancy' can mean tiny little single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borislondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have just returned form a 3 night stay in Pisa. We chose the Bologna after reading all of the positive reviews. Have got to say we were not disappointed, the staff are very helpful and friendly they also speak excellent English. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a large bathroom. The mini bar is well stocked and reasonable prices, water is free.
The breakfast room/bar is lovely and the breakfast is fantastic, so much choice. In the evening the hotel provides a lovely free snack buffet, nice touch. The location is perfect.
We would stay at the Bologna Hotel again should we return to Pisa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopposhsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent location - 5 minutes walk from central station/15 minute walk from Leaning Tower/3minute walk from main shopping area. Staff on desk very pleasant, knowledgeable &
speak fluent English. Very clean hotel and generous breakfasts, spent a week and never got bored - even in the rain !

Room Tip: We were in the front but the street wasn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26SophieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice hotel within walking distance to leaning tower, however rooms had very thin walls and we could hear other guests showering in the room next door! Apart from that, it was good, although only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ChristinaS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Having spent a few days in Florence we had booked a couple of night in Pisa at the Bologna Hotel . It is located about 10-15 minutes’ walk from the train station, we were warmly greeted and very quickly sorted through check in. Our room was in the section at the rear and was quite generous size-wise. There is free WIFI available as well as a couple of computers in reception for customers’ which is useful. There is free water supplied in mini bar and being my wife's birthday the day before we arrived we were invited to have a glass of Prosecco complements of the management which was a lovely touch. They also offer some complementary "snacks" or hors d’oeuvers early evening in the bar which is well worth popping in for.

We asked them to book us in to a restaurant close by as we left for a day out which was sorted out for exactly the time we requested in what turned out to be a full restaurant, ( see other reviews ). Another service offered that we took advantage of was the free shuttle service to the airport. This is available free to anyone who books direct with the hotel and can be to the train station or the Airport, plus if you have not booked direct is still available for a very reasonable charge.

If I have any criticism, I would say the breakfast area is a little small and can be crowded at the busiest of times but having said that at no point did we have to wait for a table or for any of the food offered which was an extensive range. Part of this area is also the bar but it could do with being a little more separate to differentiate the areas and to give a better atmosphere to the bar.

I would certainly return to the Bologna Hotel if I was to return to Pisa as the whole experience was excellent and helped make our city break a relaxing affair.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mepdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here overnight enroute to Siena and am so glad I did. I arrived just before 2100 at the airport and although the driver for their €5 shuttle service had left for the day, the hotel advised me to take my own taxi from the airport, retain the receipt and they would pay the € diffrence - which they did upon checking in. Excellent service! Check-in was swift and staff were friendly. I had a single room on the first floor which was small but perfectly adequate for a single traveller on a short break. Room facilities were excellent - the slippers and free water so welcome after a long journey! The bathroom was well stocked with toiletries, hairdryer and fluffy towels. Wifi is free and passwords are supplied in your room so connection is quick and painless. Breakfast was lovely with a good variety continental offered, plus bacon and eggs if wanted. The hotel is centrally located and within 5 minutes of the main shops, 10 minutes easy walk to the station and 15 minutes over the bridge to the tower. My only complaint ..and it is a small one is that the plug and the mirror in the room were not located close enough to each other, which could be essential for a lady traveller bringing her own hairdryer/straightners! Pisa is a beautiful vibrant city and I would certainly visit again and stay at The Bologna.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alouayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Property: Bologna Hotel Pisa
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing