We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Molto bene! Superb location and very comfortable stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bologna Hotel Pisa to your Saves list
Bologna Hotel Pisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Molto bene! Superb location and very comfortable stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

4 star hotel in a narrow street that leads to the Arno and is only 5 minutes walk from Pisa's Central train station. In the other direction it takes you no more than 15 minutes to walk to the Campo dei Miracoli. where the world famous Leaning Tower is located alongside the cathedral (Duomo) and Baptistry. On my first night's stay I was given a double room in a building behind the main hotel. It was generally a quiet room though in the early morning I could hear water along pipes and suspected a water tank may have been near. However, the room was clean, warm and a good size. Again, nice sized bathroom in the double but on my second visit I had a single room and found the bathroom/shower space to be adequate. Free access to wi-fi and computers in the lobby and reading room means you can research surroundings and make plans/bookings. The staff on reception were friendly and efficient and when asked about travelling to other destinations by train they had printed travel timetables readily available. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but does recommend other places to eat for an evening meal. The Bagus restaurant was a good recommendation, but not cheap. However, don't despair the hotel does provide a very good breakfast of cereals, breads, fruits, meats, cheeses pastries and drinks. The only hot food provided was bacon and scambled eggs so if you a person who wants a full English breakfast then you'd be disappointed. For me personally there was plenty of choice. Tip: if you book your room with the hotel direct then you can request free hotel transfer from the airport - otherwise it is 5 euros.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amunguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your kind feedback. There is nothing I could add, very detailed review. If we can do anything in future, we would be happy to serve you. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My room was very small and dark. It smelt stale and i could smell smoke from the neighbouring room. But worst of all it was dirty. The bed cover felt unwashed and shabby. The leaflets in the room were also filthy. Shower room was too small and the hard wooden floors made sure you could hear everyone in the neighbouring rooms aswell. I stayed in February but the radiator did nt work. I chose this hotel because it was well situated and the communal areas were very nicely decorated, however i would seriously advise another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmzLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbil, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The breakfasts were amazing - a great variety of cereals, pastries, eggs and bacon and so on. The poached prunes were to die for. The staff made caffe latte on request. Nothing was too much trouble. Water in the mini bar was free. The lounge had a computer which seemed to be always free to use. We had a triple room which was huge and overlooked the street. Shuttle was provided to the airport at very reasonable rate.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your review here in this forum. We are happy to see you enjoyed your time with us. Please note that Shuttle Service could have been free of charge if the reservation would have been done directly with us. Please use the chance to save money. If there is anything we can do for you in future, please don´t hesitate to contact us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

we stayed for seven days, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was great, the free shuttle very conveniant, the room good, but two things let it down, it appeared almost every morning they had to find a place for you usually sitting alongside strangers. but the thing that let it down the most was, the room we were in was very noisy, being woke by slamming doors or ladies wearing heels and wheeled suitcases echoed across the seemingly hollow floor, the walls appeared to be made of stud partitioning and even though next door spoke in hushed tones, you could still hear them. such a shame but i suppose you cant do a lot with the design now. but maybe some carpet runners as all the floors were timber would help.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room, maybe out the back we were told it may have been quieter, also the shuttle is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying with and for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately buildings in Italy, especially historical buildings in medieval towns like ours, don´t have the same construction substance than modern buildings in northern-europe. But we will take into account your suggestion about the carpet runners. For the following readers: Please note that shuttle service is only free if you booked your room directly with us. Hope to see you soon again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We with a family were in this hotel two nights. The hotel corresponds to the 4 stars. Very much breakfasts in this hotel were pleasant. Number was small, but pure. Pisa the small city, we everywhere went on foot. The taxi to the airport costs 5 euro from the person. From the station reached hotel on foot in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for your nice feedback. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Very important: Please note that airport-shuttle is free of charge if you book directly with us. It costs 5,00 Euros per person if you book through third-party channels. If there is anything we can do for you in future, please don´t hesitate to contact us. Best regards. Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in early October for 2 nights. We really liked the hotel. Very good surroundings, very helpful staff and excellent breakfast. The hotel also provided free pickup and drop off to the airpot
very nice garden.and close to the tower too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. For the following readers I would like to specify that shuttle service is only free of charge if you made your (room)-booking directly with us. For third-party-channel bookings, the shuttle service is available for 5,00 Euros per person. Hope to welcome you soon again. Best regards. Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago. We couldn't get hold of reception on the phone to make use of the free shuttle service but a taxi to the hotel was cheap from airport (7 euros) . It's a great location, walking distance to train station and a 15 min walk to the tower.
Room was very clean, nice size and the breakfast the next day was good. Lots of variety and filled us up for the long day ahead.
Our room was out the back of the hotel, separate to the main building. Nice and quiet.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was out the back of the hotel, separate to the main building so was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucygooseyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Valued Guest,
thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Hope to see you soon again. Best regards Luca Gherardi - Hotel Bologna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#7 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
1.8 mi away
AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Low Cost Holidays, Otel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing