We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty shabby smelly and noisy”
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty shabby smelly and noisy”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My room was very small and dark. It smelt stale and i could smell smoke from the neighbouring room. But worst of all it was dirty. The bed cover felt unwashed and shabby. The leaflets in the room were also filthy. Shower room was too small and the hard wooden floors made sure you could hear everyone in the neighbouring rooms aswell. I stayed in February but the radiator did nt work. I chose this hotel because it was well situated and the communal areas were very nicely decorated, however i would seriously advise another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmzLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    1,038
    329
    95
    46
See reviews for
480
1,122
195
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbil, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The breakfasts were amazing - a great variety of cereals, pastries, eggs and bacon and so on. The poached prunes were to die for. The staff made caffe latte on request. Nothing was too much trouble. Water in the mini bar was free. The lounge had a computer which seemed to be always free to use. We had a triple room which was huge and overlooked the street. Shuttle was provided to the airport at very reasonable rate.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your review here in this forum. We are happy to see you enjoyed your time with us. Please note that Shuttle Service could have been free of charge if the reservation would have been done directly with us. Please use the chance to save money. If there is anything we can do for you in future, please don´t hesitate to contact us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

we stayed for seven days, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was great, the free shuttle very conveniant, the room good, but two things let it down, it appeared almost every morning they had to find a place for you usually sitting alongside strangers. but the thing that let it down the most was, the room we were in was very noisy, being woke by slamming doors or ladies wearing heels and wheeled suitcases echoed across the seemingly hollow floor, the walls appeared to be made of stud partitioning and even though next door spoke in hushed tones, you could still hear them. such a shame but i suppose you cant do a lot with the design now. but maybe some carpet runners as all the floors were timber would help.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room, maybe out the back we were told it may have been quieter, also the shuttle is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying with and for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately buildings in Italy, especially historical buildings in medieval towns like ours, don´t have the same construction substance than modern buildings in northern-europe. But we will take into account your suggestion about the carpet runners. For the following readers: Please note that shuttle service is only free if you booked your room directly with us. Hope to see you soon again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We with a family were in this hotel two nights. The hotel corresponds to the 4 stars. Very much breakfasts in this hotel were pleasant. Number was small, but pure. Pisa the small city, we everywhere went on foot. The taxi to the airport costs 5 euro from the person. From the station reached hotel on foot in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for your nice feedback. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Very important: Please note that airport-shuttle is free of charge if you book directly with us. It costs 5,00 Euros per person if you book through third-party channels. If there is anything we can do for you in future, please don´t hesitate to contact us. Best regards. Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in early October for 2 nights. We really liked the hotel. Very good surroundings, very helpful staff and excellent breakfast. The hotel also provided free pickup and drop off to the airpot
very nice garden.and close to the tower too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. For the following readers I would like to specify that shuttle service is only free of charge if you made your (room)-booking directly with us. For third-party-channel bookings, the shuttle service is available for 5,00 Euros per person. Hope to welcome you soon again. Best regards. Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago. We couldn't get hold of reception on the phone to make use of the free shuttle service but a taxi to the hotel was cheap from airport (7 euros) . It's a great location, walking distance to train station and a 15 min walk to the tower.
Room was very clean, nice size and the breakfast the next day was good. Lots of variety and filled us up for the long day ahead.
Our room was out the back of the hotel, separate to the main building. Nice and quiet.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was out the back of the hotel, separate to the main building so was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucygooseyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Valued Guest,
thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Hope to see you soon again. Best regards Luca Gherardi - Hotel Bologna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at Hotel Bologna for the last night of our 5 night trip to Italy. the hotel is in a good location, about an 8min walk from the train station, 10 min drive from the airport and a 15-20 min walk to the leaning tower.

The hotel do operate a shuttle which is 5 € if you haven't booked directly through the hotel, I wouldn't recommend booking through the hotel just to get the shuttle as it can be found much cheaper on a 3rd party website.

Check in was quick but that was mainly due to a lack of any interested interaction from the girl behind the desk who was fairly grumpy and if im honest couldnt really be bothered. Staff of check out were a little better but still fairly uninterested. We never got any offer to help with our luggage on either occassion, which we would have turned down but the offer would have been nice and something we did get at other hotels on our trip.

The room was adequate, nicely decorarted and very very clean, small bathroom but it did its job for the night we were there, any longer and it would of been a bit too small. One problem is that the walls and floors are thin, we heard every noise all through the night. The room was very hot and the temperature was hard to control leading us to open the window which let all the noise from the street.

Breakfast was great, a good choice of cereals, fruit, pasteries and cold meats.

For the cleanliness and the location I would stay here again.



  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Too much money available? Our conditions indicate very clearly that we meet and beat every rate available about our hotel and if you prove contrary will will top it with a free drink in our hotel bar. Taking into account the free shuttle-service, the drink and the better rate conditions you could have an advantage of around 10% confronting to third-party channels. The only thing required is to read our website and to speak to us if something seams to be different as expected. We are available for you 24 hours a day. Please use this opportunity. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,679 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#8 of 68 in Pisa
1,816 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#7 of 68 in Pisa
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Property: Bologna Hotel Pisa
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing